We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
50
2
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
2
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews king george falls bush camp worth every cent wet season boat driver eagle lodge sea trips aboriginal rock art an adventure his knowledge fishing spots comfortable accommodation spectacular scenery stayed here for two nights gemma airstrip coastline
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

FAB bush camp was unique in every way.
Comfortable rooms, great food (too much), friendly staff with local stories and daily excursions and fishing. The coastal scenery, rock art and bird life added to this unique holiday.

Room Tip: Honeymoon unit
Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank guzunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

We like to think we are a bit unique, and so glad you thought so as well. Happy you enjoyed your overall experience getting to sample a little bit of everything we have to offer, food - yes everyone always says too much, but Kevin like to ensure everyone never goes hungry! Hope it wasn't too much of a shock getting back to "cold" Perth - Many thanks - Kathie, Kevin and all FAB staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

The trip from the airstrip was a bit bumpy, but then you can't have an airstrip next to a luxury bush camp that has fantastic views out across Faraway Bay. Anyway, Kevin's commentary on the drive was entertaining and informative.
At Faraway Bay, you are far way. No roads to this spot, everything comes in the light aircraft. My wife was sitting next to cartons of food and beer! Plus a new water pump for the camp.
The food was fantastic. The menu varied and there was plenty of it.
The flight into the camp is fantastic, with aerial views of King George Falls and other well known spots, with a commentary from the pilot.
The sightseeing boat trips to neighbouring bays and to secret safe swimming holes, provided opportunities to swim in gin clear pools!
Fishing in mangrove creeks and out along the cliffs provided even first time fishers the thrill of catching dinner.
Aboriginal rock art is prolific, with locations still being found.
My wife and I loved the whole experience. Thanks so much to Kevin, Gemma and Sophie for the thoughtful care you provided.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigkahoonaOssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

You are so welcome, we are so glad you and Jane enjoyed our special little part of the Kimberley. Our aim is to provide each guest with an experience of a lifetime ! and love to hear when we've achieved that. I've passed on your thanks to Kevin, Gemma & Sophie, he said you did well with the fishing and hope your not missing the warmth too much...
Kind Regards - Kathie, Kevin and all FAB staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We were delighted to return to Faraway Bay, being five years since we last enjoyed the many pleasures of this sensational luxury bush camp. This time we came for the 2016 rock art retreat and Kevin and Ju Ju (Aboriginal Elder representing traditional owners) certainly delivered on what this retreat had promised. During four days, we were privileged to spend time with Ju Ju at five different rock art 'hot spots', including the renowned Lost City with its extensive Gwion Gwion (Bradshaw) paintings. Access to some of the coastal sites is dependent on tide and wind conditions and also involves some testing climbs up rocky scrubbed slopes; but the effort is rewarded by Kimberley rock art, which is one of the world's greatest and probably oldest treasures from ancient human civilisation. If you appreciate rock art, Indigenous culture, high adventure and spectacular scenery, combined with comfortable accommodation and premium cuisine, Faraway Bay's rock art retreat is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Darce_Bel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Manager at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

It was pleasure showing you D'Arcy and Belinda all the amazing sites. Ju Ju thoroughly enjoys the retreats as well, sharing all her stories with everyone. Hope you had a great trip back down the south.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

A magical place in an amazing part of the country. Booking experience is a sign of things to come. Very guest oriented and Kathie can't do enough to help you. The Faraway Bay experience is so unique, not just because of the many activities on offer, but the incredible hospitality of Kevin, Gemma and Sarah. Rarely are you made to feel as welcome and comfortable as at Faraway Bay. Once in a lifetime experiences unfold daily and the food is beyond incredible.
We will definitely be back to experience Faraway Bay all over again.
Tip: Suggest a minimum 4 night stay to really take advantage of all this beautiful location has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Manager at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Thank you Melanie, always our number 1 aim for guests to have "experience of a lifetime" so glad we achieved that for you and Philip. Plus you got to have some warmth away from the bitter cold down South. Hope to see you again at Faraway Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Had a fabulous time at Faraway Bay, this place is a must if you want to see the Kimberleys! The food is delicious and beautifully presented, and I can highly recommend the cocktails
We had some fantastic day trips to see the King George Falls and various rock art sites, it was a real privilege to see this ancient art in such natural surroundings, and the owner Kevin is very knowledgable and informative.
The resort itself is beautiful, with a gorgeous pool, spa and a very comfy hammock!
Take the time to visit this gorgeous region and stay at Faraway Bay, you definitely won't regret it.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank ClaireB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Manager at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

We loved having you Clair and showing you our special little piece of paradise. Happy and safe travels for the rest of your stay in our wonderful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews