We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to wake up each morning!”
Review of Faraway Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kununurra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Faraway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2016

The trip from the airstrip was a bit bumpy, but then you can't have an airstrip next to a luxury bush camp that has fantastic views out across Faraway Bay. Anyway, Kevin's commentary on the drive was entertaining and informative.
At Faraway Bay, you are far way. No roads to this spot, everything comes in the light aircraft. My wife was sitting next to cartons of food and beer! Plus a new water pump for the camp.
The food was fantastic. The menu varied and there was plenty of it.
The flight into the camp is fantastic, with aerial views of King George Falls and other well known spots, with a commentary from the pilot.
The sightseeing boat trips to neighbouring bays and to secret safe swimming holes, provided opportunities to swim in gin clear pools!
Fishing in mangrove creeks and out along the cliffs provided even first time fishers the thrill of catching dinner.
Aboriginal rock art is prolific, with locations still being found.
My wife and I loved the whole experience. Thanks so much to Kevin, Gemma and Sophie for the thoughtful care you provided.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigkahoonaOssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

You are so welcome, we are so glad you and Jane enjoyed our special little part of the Kimberley. Our aim is to provide each guest with an experience of a lifetime ! and love to hear when we've achieved that. I've passed on your thanks to Kevin, Gemma & Sophie, he said you did well with the fishing and hope your not missing the warmth too much...
Kind Regards - Kathie, Kevin and all FAB staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2016

We were delighted to return to Faraway Bay, being five years since we last enjoyed the many pleasures of this sensational luxury bush camp. This time we came for the 2016 rock art retreat and Kevin and Ju Ju (Aboriginal Elder representing traditional owners) certainly delivered on what this retreat had promised. During four days, we were privileged to spend time with Ju Ju at five different rock art 'hot spots', including the renowned Lost City with its extensive Gwion Gwion (Bradshaw) paintings. Access to some of the coastal sites is dependent on tide and wind conditions and also involves some testing climbs up rocky scrubbed slopes; but the effort is rewarded by Kimberley rock art, which is one of the world's greatest and probably oldest treasures from ancient human civilisation. If you appreciate rock art, Indigenous culture, high adventure and spectacular scenery, combined with comfortable accommodation and premium cuisine, Faraway Bay's rock art retreat is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Darce_Bel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Manager at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

It was pleasure showing you D'Arcy and Belinda all the amazing sites. Ju Ju thoroughly enjoys the retreats as well, sharing all her stories with everyone. Hope you had a great trip back down the south.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

A magical place in an amazing part of the country. Booking experience is a sign of things to come. Very guest oriented and Kathie can't do enough to help you. The Faraway Bay experience is so unique, not just because of the many activities on offer, but the incredible hospitality of Kevin, Gemma and Sarah. Rarely are you made to feel as welcome and comfortable as at Faraway Bay. Once in a lifetime experiences unfold daily and the food is beyond incredible.
We will definitely be back to experience Faraway Bay all over again.
Tip: Suggest a minimum 4 night stay to really take advantage of all this beautiful location has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Manager at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Thank you Melanie, always our number 1 aim for guests to have "experience of a lifetime" so glad we achieved that for you and Philip. Plus you got to have some warmth away from the bitter cold down South. Hope to see you again at Faraway Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Had a fabulous time at Faraway Bay, this place is a must if you want to see the Kimberleys! The food is delicious and beautifully presented, and I can highly recommend the cocktails
We had some fantastic day trips to see the King George Falls and various rock art sites, it was a real privilege to see this ancient art in such natural surroundings, and the owner Kevin is very knowledgable and informative.
The resort itself is beautiful, with a gorgeous pool, spa and a very comfy hammock!
Take the time to visit this gorgeous region and stay at Faraway Bay, you definitely won't regret it.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank ClaireB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Manager at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

We loved having you Clair and showing you our special little piece of paradise. Happy and safe travels for the rest of your stay in our wonderful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

If you ever get a chance, this is one trip to add to your must list for those who are interested in native Australian rock "art". Also add in the beautiful weather late June and the amenities at the "bush" camp. It is much more than a bush camp with pool, spa and sumptuous meals. This is not a place to lose weight unless you have non-human will power. The fly in is an eye opener too and from all accounts there are fish to catch from boats. There are salt water crocodiles so swimming and beach fishing are a good way to feed the animals. A stroll along beaches above the high water line with care should be ok. Use their pool and spa. I would have remained longer if the tour was longer.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jibwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Manager at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2016

It was so good John we were able to get you up to FAB for this years Rock Art Retreat and even better that you enjoyed it so much. Added bonus is the beautiful weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
262.1 km away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
254.5 km away
The Berkeley River
The Berkeley River
#1 of 17 in Kununurra
139 reviews
238.1 km away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
261.5 km away
El Questro The Station
El Questro The Station
#7 of 17 in Kununurra
249 reviews
261.5 km away
Emma Gorge Resort
Emma Gorge Resort
#4 of 10 in Kununurra
183 reviews
261.8 km away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#3 of 10 in Kununurra
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faraway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faraway Bay

Address: Diamond Coast, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kununurra
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Faraway Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote wilderness property on the Timor Sea. Fly in / fly out only, no road access. Unique open air lodge and cabins - an outback experience with comfort. Daily Tours - King George Falls, Billabongs, Fishing, Rock Art, Nature Tours - all included in Day Rate. Unique Australian Outback experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Faraway Bay Kununurra, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing