We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an amazing place”
Review of Faraway Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kununurra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Faraway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

I am so glad I went here. It's such an amazing place with so much to see and explore, everything from beautiful aboriginal rock art to awesome waterfalls.
The food is delicious and the place has a great atmosphere. This is mostly down to the owner, Kevin, who is a great cook and the manager of the place, and of course the friendly staff too Stay at Faraway Bay, you won't regret it!

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank skoglundrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Glad you had a great time Rebecca and enjoyed all the tours out and about exploring. Hope the rest of your trip went well and look forward to seeing you possibly again at FAB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2016

Our time at Faraway Bay was most enjoyable. Although still hot in March, each day was spent out in the boat exploring the beautiful Kimberley coastline: waterfalls, bird life, turtles and fish. The accommodation is amazing considering the remoteness of the resort and the hospitality and meals superb.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank judrwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

It was a pleasure have you Judy and Ian and agree although still hot in March it is a great time to visit to see all the falls. The Air Conditioning defineately helps at that time of year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We stayed for three nights for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We wanted to do something special within the Kimberley, and chose Faraway Bay as it is close to the spectacular King George Falls, with an abundance of easily accessible rock art, as well as a great location on a remote part of the Kimberley Coast. Our visit exceeded our expectations, and the minute we arrived we knew that we had chosen well. Faraway Bay is a very special place that blends in with the environment but not at the expense of any comforts. We stayed in the 'honeymoon suite' and woke each morning to a view over the bay with the sky changing colour and listening to the birds sing. At night we would watch the geckoes catching bugs, the Brahminy Kite and Blue Winged Kookaburras come looking for a feed, and the sun go down after another amazing Kimberley Day. Activities are all included and we spent the 3 days, fishing, visiting rock art, waterfalls and waterholes, sunset drinks in the spa and up on Champagne Rock, and a day trip to King George Falls. We even managed a climb to the top of the Falls for the breathtakingly spectacular view back along the Gorge. Gemma and Kevin look after every detail and this includes delicious meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the opportunity to enjoy their company. Thank you Kevin, Gemma, Amy and Lauren for looking after us so well, we loved it all and wouldn't have changed a thing

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bronhu59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

We are so glad you and David enjoyed our little piece of paradise. A 30th Wedding Anniversary is so special, and we felt privileged to help you celebrate the occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We have travelled to many nations and exotic places around the world, but our four days at Faraway Bay stand out among the very best. Faraway Bay is true Australian wilderness: isolated, with beautiful scenery, waterways, ruggered coastline, waterfalls, swimming holes, fishing and wonderful aboriginal rock art, but it is also a place where one is totally pampered. A one hour flight in a light 'plane from Kununurra is the only way there. You are met by Kevin, the owner, your driver, guide, skipper, rock art specialist, chef, handyman and everything else. Activities are for you to choose; the rock art, fishing, waterhole swimming and waterfall 'showers' from within the boat were all magnificent. We were a group of five guests with three lovely staff - all seemed part of a family. The food was of highest restaurant quality; even the lunches while out on the boat. The facilities are ruggered, but beautiful. The central bar, lounge, library and dining table are open with a view the whole length of Faraway Bay. There is a swimming pool, spar and driving 'green' adjacent to the lounge. Frequent visitors included monitor lizards, spotted quolls, blue winged kookaburras, brahminy kites and many other birds. The cabins are comfortable with open mesh, a small en-suite and outside shower in a three-quarter water tank with wonderful views, but secluded from all other cabins. It is not 'five-star' accommodation, but extremely comfortable in an amazing setting. We are soon returning for at least a week!!

Room Tip: All cabins are good, select on with the best view for you.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank S5108NLjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Always fun to share such a great experience with a group of friends, you got to experience the falls at the beginning of the season which is extra special. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again - a week is fine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

After seeing pictures of FAB and videos and thinking this would be a great place to visit, the reality was beyond our expectations. Kevin who is a master of a number of trades makes sure that every guest has the best trip ever with the multitude of activities, fantastic food and service. Amy and Hayley also spoilt us whilst we were there. It was a great way to experience all the Kimberley Coast has to offer, the wildlife and scenery was awesome. The fishing was great. We would highly recommend this as a truly unique experience.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank j0whelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Hi Jo, so glad you and Philip enjoyed your stay at our little piece of paradise. You did well with the fishing. Hope you had a good trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
262.1 km away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
254.5 km away
The Berkeley River
The Berkeley River
#1 of 17 in Kununurra
139 reviews
238.1 km away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
261.5 km away
El Questro The Station
El Questro The Station
#7 of 17 in Kununurra
249 reviews
261.8 km away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#3 of 10 in Kununurra
115 reviews
261.8 km away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faraway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faraway Bay

Address: Diamond Coast, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kununurra
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Faraway Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote wilderness property on the Timor Sea. Fly in / fly out only, no road access. Unique open air lodge and cabins - an outback experience with comfort. Daily Tours - King George Falls, Billabongs, Fishing, Rock Art, Nature Tours - all included in Day Rate. Unique Australian Outback experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Faraway Bay Kununurra, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing