We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
50
2
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
2
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking george fallsbush campworth every centwet seasonboat drivereagle lodgesea tripsaboriginal rock artan adventurehis knowledgefishing spotscomfortable accommodationspectacular scenerystayed here for two nightsgemmaairstripcoastline
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Our time at Faraway Bay was most enjoyable. Although still hot in March, each day was spent out in the boat exploring the beautiful Kimberley coastline: waterfalls, bird life, turtles and fish. The accommodation is amazing considering the remoteness of the resort and the hospitality and meals superb.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank judrwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

It was a pleasure have you Judy and Ian and agree although still hot in March it is a great time to visit to see all the falls. The Air Conditioning defineately helps at that time of year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We stayed for three nights for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We wanted to do something special within the Kimberley, and chose Faraway Bay as it is close to the spectacular King George Falls, with an abundance of easily accessible rock art, as well as a great location on a remote part of the Kimberley Coast. Our visit exceeded our expectations, and the minute we arrived we knew that we had chosen well. Faraway Bay is a very special place that blends in with the environment but not at the expense of any comforts. We stayed in the 'honeymoon suite' and woke each morning to a view over the bay with the sky changing colour and listening to the birds sing. At night we would watch the geckoes catching bugs, the Brahminy Kite and Blue Winged Kookaburras come looking for a feed, and the sun go down after another amazing Kimberley Day. Activities are all included and we spent the 3 days, fishing, visiting rock art, waterfalls and waterholes, sunset drinks in the spa and up on Champagne Rock, and a day trip to King George Falls. We even managed a climb to the top of the Falls for the breathtakingly spectacular view back along the Gorge. Gemma and Kevin look after every detail and this includes delicious meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the opportunity to enjoy their company. Thank you Kevin, Gemma, Amy and Lauren for looking after us so well, we loved it all and wouldn't have changed a thing

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bronhu59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

We are so glad you and David enjoyed our little piece of paradise. A 30th Wedding Anniversary is so special, and we felt privileged to help you celebrate the occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We have travelled to many nations and exotic places around the world, but our four days at Faraway Bay stand out among the very best. Faraway Bay is true Australian wilderness: isolated, with beautiful scenery, waterways, ruggered coastline, waterfalls, swimming holes, fishing and wonderful aboriginal rock art, but it is also a place where one is totally pampered. A one hour flight in a light 'plane from Kununurra is the only way there. You are met by Kevin, the owner, your driver, guide, skipper, rock art specialist, chef, handyman and everything else. Activities are for you to choose; the rock art, fishing, waterhole swimming and waterfall 'showers' from within the boat were all magnificent. We were a group of five guests with three lovely staff - all seemed part of a family. The food was of highest restaurant quality; even the lunches while out on the boat. The facilities are ruggered, but beautiful. The central bar, lounge, library and dining table are open with a view the whole length of Faraway Bay. There is a swimming pool, spar and driving 'green' adjacent to the lounge. Frequent visitors included monitor lizards, spotted quolls, blue winged kookaburras, brahminy kites and many other birds. The cabins are comfortable with open mesh, a small en-suite and outside shower in a three-quarter water tank with wonderful views, but secluded from all other cabins. It is not 'five-star' accommodation, but extremely comfortable in an amazing setting. We are soon returning for at least a week!!

Room Tip: All cabins are good, select on with the best view for you.
Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank S5108NLjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Always fun to share such a great experience with a group of friends, you got to experience the falls at the beginning of the season which is extra special. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again - a week is fine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

After seeing pictures of FAB and videos and thinking this would be a great place to visit, the reality was beyond our expectations. Kevin who is a master of a number of trades makes sure that every guest has the best trip ever with the multitude of activities, fantastic food and service. Amy and Hayley also spoilt us whilst we were there. It was a great way to experience all the Kimberley Coast has to offer, the wildlife and scenery was awesome. The fishing was great. We would highly recommend this as a truly unique experience.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank j0whelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Hi Jo, so glad you and Philip enjoyed your stay at our little piece of paradise. You did well with the fishing. Hope you had a good trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I first went to Faraway Bay last year & returned feeling completely rejuvenated having switched off from ‘real’ life & rediscovered the things that really matter. This year I returned to Faraway Bay for my mum’s 70th Birthday. I’ve travelled all over the world but I’ve never been anywhere like FAB . When other holiday memories fade and blur, life at FAB remains vivid in my memory.
A unique location - no roads, no resorts, just you & the most spectacular natural environment.

The food is really excellent, Kevin, Gemma & Amber went out of their way to bake beautiful fresh muffins, 3 course dinners, wood fire pizzas & some awesome WA wines. The cabins were comfortable & I loved the outdoor shower.
Highlights were trekking to the Lost City, catching my first fish in the creek & then cooking it up for dinner, the plane ride to and from the camp offers spectacular views. I noticed a few improvements since my visit last year - there's new beer on tap & a shade sail over the outdoor pool.
You’re made to feel at home even though you’re far, far way. This is true wilderness - but I felt relaxed and in expert hands. It doesn't have the feel of a resort - its more down to earth and friendly.
Every day was different and I was surprised that on this trip I went on some completely new day trips. Some people just relaxed in the pool ( not at the beach because of Molly the croc! ) It was a precious three days to reconnect with the art of conversation around the dinner table & with nature at its most spectacular.

If you want a holiday with a difference, if you have an adventurous spirit, go. No, its not cheap, but it will be worth it.

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank Louisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway Bay R, Owner at Faraway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

We were so happy Louisa to help you create a special experience and memory for your Mum's 70th. I was such a fun 3 days. We hope to see you back again when you need a break from the 'real' world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews