We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Simply stunning experience”
Review of Faraway Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kununurra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Faraway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Upon the moment you land in a small plane on the Faraway bush strip, the experience is truly unique. When you arrive at the camp you are presented with magnificent views across the azure blue Faraway Bay, made all the more amazing by the cluster of sharks cruising the shallows of the bay.
The host Kevin is incredable and it seems there is nothing he cannot do. There seems nothing too hard for Kevin and he went out of his way to make our experience perfect.
In addition to this and to our delight, the food was absolutely delicious and we left the place several kilos heavier, but it was certainly worth it.
The cabins are really comfortable and the views from the bed and shower are to die for.
The boat cruise to King George falls was simply stunning with some of the best gorge county's in the Kimberleys, and if this isn't enough, the whole experience is capped off with a bottle of champagne as the boat is nuzzled up against the falls. Oh and what a boat it is.
Overall we had a absolsutely fabulous time and couldn't recommend the place more highly. We will be back!!
PS Don't be put of the price tag, the experience is truely worth every cent!

Room Tip: All rooms have great views. Suggest rooms with ensuite for the views from the showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kensington61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

Had the most amazing time - it is like your in a time warp. You have no sense of time, dates, days, there are not TV's , radio, telephone, internet - just you , other guests, staff and nature!!!!
Made some new friends, King George Falls where magnificent - so much water
caught a fish and got to eat it that night. The food was great - Mirra, the chef, cooked the most amazing chocolate cake,, We didn't stop, touring, walking and then in the evening sitting back with a wine looking out over the bay - pure heaven.
Thoroughly recommend - worth every cent - the experience the most amazing ever had.
If you get a change go!!!

Room Tip: All Cabins have view, we loved no. 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank twobytwosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Faraway Bay is a unique experience. it is rustic and natural, simplicity at its best. The camp is nestled into landscape with out compromising the natural beauty of the place. The cabins are simple, with a 180 degree view overlooking the sea. The out door showers are amazing, i must admit i was a bit hesitant on arrival. The vehicles are old angle-grinded troupe carriers- pretty rough, but they do add to the character of the place, and the 4WD track down to the camp is an adventure in itself.
The rock art was nothing like i have ever seen before, incredible artefacts of amazing clarity and conditions. The bradshaw art is some of the oldest rock art in the world- the guides were great and happy share their knowledge.
One of the best bits of my stay was the fresh fish! i was lucky enough to stay over the barramundi season, but was also able to try mangrove jack, spanish mackeral, fingermark and giant trevali...mmmmmmmm all prepared by the resident chef. Camp oven and bush food cooking was also a treat. i really enjoyed the paperbark smoked mangrove jack and some of the local foods, boabs and wild passionfruit.
The day cruise to the King George was breathtaking- who could ask for more than champayne under the falls followed by a great lunch spread and a swim in spring water swimming holes.
all in all my only regret is that i wish that i had longer to stay, 3 days just wasn't enough

it is a unique place in one of the most pristine environments in the world, the Kimberleys is amazing a definite must do.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crosbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

It's hard to know how to judge Faraway Bay - it costs more than Southern Ocean Lodge for very mediocre accommodation and meals, but it still provided most of the top highlights of a trip around the Kimberleys. The cabins are very very basic - if you get an ensuite the toilet has no door, but the outside showers are great. The chef did a good job but with second rate ingredients, apart from when some fresh fish was caught. So not worth the nearly $2000 per night by a long long long way.

But the boat trip to King George Falls is a wonderful experience and to learn about the rock art known as Bradshaw art, painted somewhere between 7000BC and 25000BC by who knows who, is mentally stimulating and exciting.

So do go, accept its not worth the money, but you'll never get an experience like it anywhere else. I rationalise that it saved us $20000 as we don't need to do a Kimberley cruise now.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank grangeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
262.1 km away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
254.5 km away
The Berkeley River
The Berkeley River
#1 of 17 in Kununurra
139 reviews
238.1 km away
El Questro Homestead
El Questro Homestead
#5 of 17 in Kununurra
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
261.5 km away
El Questro The Station
El Questro The Station
#7 of 17 in Kununurra
249 reviews
261.8 km away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#3 of 10 in Kununurra
115 reviews
261.8 km away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faraway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faraway Bay

Address: Diamond Coast, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kununurra
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Faraway Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote wilderness property on the Timor Sea. Fly in / fly out only, no road access. Unique open air lodge and cabins - an outback experience with comfort. Daily Tours - King George Falls, Billabongs, Fishing, Rock Art, Nature Tours - all included in Day Rate. Unique Australian Outback experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Faraway Bay Kununurra, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing