We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Amber S

Millionaires playground

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 June 2023
El questro feels like an overpacked RAC holiday park in a millionaires playground. It hurts me to see this incredible land privatised and monopolised. Even the cheapest unpowered campsites are $60/night, with broken washing machines and helicopters taking of at 5:45am over the campground and Visitor passes not even included in the camping fee. Surely people have had a great time here, but probably also spent a small fortune each. It really is a monopoly in the area with no alternatives for camping and half of the gorges still closed by late June.  The gorges are absolutely breathtaking, and a must visit. But why cant it just be a national park?
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: Get a 2nd mortgage to affort all the tours here.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$388
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$382
  • Hotels.com
    AU$385
  • Priceline
    AU$388
88.6 km from El Questro - The Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
AU$348
  • Expedia.com
    AU$348
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$348
  • Priceline
    AU$348
86.9 km from El Questro - The Homestead
Free parking
Pool
Kununurra Country Club Resort Entran
AU$255
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Agoda.com
    AU$255
  • Vio.com
    AU$249
  • Expedia.com
89.1 km from El Questro - The Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$312
  • Agoda.com
    AU$312
79.3 km from El Questro - The Homestead
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$241
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$241
  • Priceline
    AU$241
  • Hotels.com
    AU$241
89.3 km from El Questro - The Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
Stunning Aerial View of the Kimberley Grande
AU$330
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$330
  • Hotels.com
    AU$298
  • Priceline
    AU$330
88.8 km from El Questro - The Homestead
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$185
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$165
  • Priceline
    AU$185
89.1 km from El Questro - The Homestead
Free parking
Pool
great pool to relax in
AU$265
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$265
  • Priceline
    AU$265
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$265
89.4 km from El Questro - The Homestead
Free parking
Pool
Pool
AU$190
  • Priceline
    AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Hotels.com
    AU$190
88.5 km from El Questro - The Homestead
Free parking
Pool
AU$3,450
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$3,450
  • Priceline
    AU$3,450
  • Expedia.com
    AU$3,450
183.1 km from El Questro - The Homestead
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Kununurra
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
174
16
3
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
174
16
3
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff miri miri other guests chamberlain river el questro bucket list zebedee springs private dining lost city cold towels french champagne lunches and dinners once in a lifetime included tours an amazing place to stay helicopter ride bird watching
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2023

We arrived at Kununurra early morning and were advised to ring the center by our travel agent for a pickup. The center would not answer any of their phone numbers or email despite repeated attempts during the morning.
We made alternative accommodation for two nights at Kununurra and never made it to EL Questro . That evening the manager rang on his mobile offering to pick us up the follow day but given one day was lost and we were only staying two days it was not worth it.
Don't count on a timely pickup.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2023 via mobile

High expectations (from prior stay at Sal Salis and reading reviews) were surpassed. 5 star luxury in a very remote location with great food / outstanding and very personalized service / and excellent activity options - Miri Miri heli trip a highlight and well worth the cost. Zebedee springs awesome too. We chose a gorge room and think it’s worth the upgrade for the great views. Communal dining for lunch/dinner can be a bit hit or miss depending on other guests but there is also the option for private dining if you prefer. Would recommend 3 nights over 2 to allow time to settle in and do more of the tours if time/budget permits

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank spiritof66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2023 via mobile

This is a fantastic experience set in luxury, surrounded by one of Australia’s best destinations. We loved every included activity and our highlight was the helicopter ride to a natural waterfall with swimming hole all to ourselves. Absolutely worth the extra cost. Staff were exceptional and I appreciated the room service a few times a day. We had three nights which was perfect for us doing two activities a day. We were told they were about to refurbish however I hope they hold on to some of the authentic feel to the property particularly the big old dusty open jeeps which gave it a Safari feel which was really fun. No fancy vans in the future please!
Thank you for an incredible experience.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelbugalug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2023

We stayed at a beautiful campsite, down near the river, just beautiful! So much to do from the caravan park - gorges to visit, views to explore etc. Live music at the pub was great! Staff friendly/ clean amnities.
Lovely shop with delicious muffins - definately recommend!

Date of stay: June 2022
Thank Raychelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2023

Absolutely unforgettable. The Homestead at El Questro came highly recommended by friends but it exceeded expectations.

We stayed in one of the three Cliffside Retreats (Pandanus) and if I ever have the opportunity to return I would choose the same room. Overlooking the escarpment, the Cliffside Retreats are private and beautifully appointed. Waking to that view out over the river was very special and the sunsets at the end of the day were spectacular.

Staff were great, attentive and friendly. Lunches and dinners are communal and we met some nice people as a result. Breakfast is eaten at seperate tables and you can book a dinner for two on the terrace. We did this for our last night. The food is excellent and the chefs seem to cater to all dietary needs.

The included tours are great (although the ride out along the rocky roads can get a little uncomfortable in places). Excursions to gorges and waterfalls help you to better appreciate the landscape and colours of the Kimberley as well as the sheer size of the property. The outing to Zebedee Thermal Springs was a favourite and was the cruise along the river. Other tours we did included a helicopter trip to the Lost City and a picnic at Miri Miri Falls. These came at an extra cost but were well worth it.

And if you like birds, I recommend getting up early for the bird watching session. The lovely Ange took me to a great spot where hundreds of colourful finches, doves, honeyeaters and others gather to take a morning drink.

Room tip: Pandanus - Best of the three Cliffside retreats I’d say given the view (although I didn’t see the other two).
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Kityayma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews