We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kununurra Country Club Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
West Leederville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's OK”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed at the Country Club for a week.
Forced to take a down graded room after paying for a luxury room six months in advanced.
Offered a complimentary breakfast each morning as conciliation.
Reception staff were abrasive, did not go through the facilities of the resort - in fact anything.
Rooms were clean except for the shower where we purchased some domestos to kill the large areas of mould in the grout.
The large green frogs coming up through the wc was kind of exciting - a highlight!
Breakfast is disgusting and should be complimentary - one should not pay for it. It did not improve over the week. Generally, the food was over cooked or stale and the rude waitress made the experience all the more displeasing. Coffee was close to dishwater in colour - very weak and not hot.
In house movies did not work for the week we were there. The reception staff were dismissive and rolled off repetitive excuses.
Pool area was cleaned three times in seven days. Glass, beer cans, ash tray would stay around the pool area for two days before generally a guest moved the mess to the breakfast area. Tables around the pool area were not cleaned and as a consequence were sticky and dirty.
The cleaning and grounds staff were a delight. They were helpful, polite and always ready to greet you with a smile, unlike the breakfast and reception staff.
This is not a resort. It is motel style accommodation that looks more impressive on the web site than in real life. Kununurra has some great cafes and eating houses these days - go out for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenResorts, Resort Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for your comments, all feedback is addressed and appropriately actioned by management. We are sorry to hear your stay with us did not live up to your expectations, we have conducted an investigation and feel it is important to address the issues you raise in your review.

We apologise that the initial room you booked was unavailable upon your arrival. We would like to express that the room you were assigned to was not a ‘downgrade’ but the same room type which also has disabled facilities provided. As mentioned we did offer complimentary breakfast each morning of your stay as compensation for any inconvenience.

At the Kununurra Country Club Resort we take pride in providing great customer service to our guests across all areas. We closely monitor and audit our house keeping team to ensure high standards are kept all year round.

All of our buffet staff are continually trained in order to provide best quality service to our customers. Our new management team will be introducing changes in the food and beverage product in the coming months to ensure our food and service are at the highest level.

Unfortunately we experienced a power outage during your stay which we worked on fixing each day however were unable to correct the problem. As this power outage was out of our control we ensured that our guests were offered DVD hire from the local shop as compensation.

Again we apologise for any inconveniences experienced throughout your stay.

Alistair Cooray, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    86
    34
    10
    2
See reviews for
20
75
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

stayed 2 nights as part of organised tour. rooms are spacious and well appointed but not overly clean. Room service consists of making the bed. Floors not cleaned, bathroom surfaces not wiped over, no clean glasses supplied.
Restaurant and bar staff pathetically slow. Very long wait between course and not of good quality. Usual response from manager "We're busy!'

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AspenResorts, Manager at Kununurra Country Club Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
We are disappointed that you felt your stay with us at Kununurra Country Club Resort did not live up to your expectations. We value your feedback and use it to improve in all aspects of our resort. I would like to take this opportunity to clarify a few issues which were experienced during your stay...

Kelly’s Bar & Grill do offer a fairly extensive seasonal menu, and are regularly changing the menu according to fresh food availability. Organised tour groups are catered to on an individual basis, negotiated with the company you are travelling with. Each menu is designed to accommodate the budget and requests of the company. We do always strive to maintain the most efficient service and highest standard of hospitality. I apologise if you do not feel the food was up to quality and I would invite you to please contact me with further information as to exactly when you stayed, and with which group, and which manager you spoke so that I can look into this further, to ensure that no one else experiences the same issues.

While we do experience many staff shortages at this very busy time of year, we strive to meet and exceed all our guests’ needs, to try and make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I am very surprised to hear you had a long wait between courses, as we always have a chef dedicated to catering for our tour groups, so I apologise for this delay.

Our customer service is of the highest importance at the Kununurra Country Club Resort and an area where we expect excellence. Our standard room service includes a wipe down of all surfaces, cleaning of bathroom where necessary, and replacement of linens, coffee and milk, and any cutlery or glasses. All rooms are also swept, beds are made and rooms are tidied. However, when guests are still in the room at the time of servicing, we also make it a policy to be in and out as quickly as possible to minimise any interruptions to your stay, so I do extend my sincere apologies if you do not feel you received this standard of service.

We do hope you were able to enjoy the amazing scenery and attractions on offer whilst staying in the Kimberley Region.

Again, thank you kindly for your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact me with any further information so that we can fully investigate your complaint.

Rachel Banyard
Assistant Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The Kununurra Country Club Resort was originally one of the Public Works residentials for the workers building the Ord River Scheme in 1960s. It was clean, comfortable and well-appointed, though a little noisy with a gravel car park at our door. The grounds were spacious, well tended and lush - an oasis in summer, no doubt.

The room, a Club Room, comprised a queen-sized bed and separate single (3/4 size), two easy chairs and a small round table, a built-in desk with chair, phone, clock radio, refrigerator, air conditioner and fan, and en-suite. All that you could want.

All the hotel staff were friendly, helpful and well-informed, picking us up from the airport, organising tours and giving advice.

On the first night the restaurant – Kelly’s Bar and Grill – was very busy and thus slow at first. The second night, Wednesday, was not so busy and service better. The menu has a smallish number of entrees, mains and desserts. The wine list has a limited choice with prices ranging from high $20’s to $100. Main meal prices were high $30s+, fairly typical it seems for this part of the world. Food was quite good – the steak was nicely cooked and generous, but had travelled several thousand kms from Queensland; the barramundi was nicely cooked and well presented with a good range of fresh vegetables, but somewhat over-powered by a sweet mango curry sauce; and the seafood risotto, tasty but a little salty and dry.

Like many tourist places in this area, surcharges were applied to the use of credit cards

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorZeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Excellent value for money, exceptionally clean, grounds were beautiful, food was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixie1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This hotel is quite ordinary but comfortable. It is in a remote part of Australia but it is not the best place to stay in Kununurra anymore. However it is reasonably priced and clean. While they had updated the bed linen our room, the room was very small and the layout was squashy. The room was far smaller than how it was represented in the photo on the website.
The restaurant was very crowded and they needed more staff for the number of patrons. The staff were run off their feet. There are not a lot of choices for restaurants in Kununurra within walking distance of the Country Club, so they have a captive clientele.
It would have been nice if we had been told that breakfast was in another area to the restaurant. We had to go back outside from Reception and walk around the side to find it. The breakfast area was like an old fashioned dated bar from the 60s with minor improvements. There’s lots of potential for a big design makeover here! Why not get one of the many talented up to date Aussie designers to help out here?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
1.0 km away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.9 km away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
223 reviews
0.6 km away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
64 reviews
0.3 km away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
91 reviews
1.1 km away
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
Lakeside Resort Kununurra
#4 of 10 in Kununurra
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kununurra Country Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kununurra Country Club Resort

Property: Kununurra Country Club Resort
Address: 47 Coolibah Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kununurra
Price range (per night): $160 - $280
Hotel Class:4 star — Kununurra Country Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kununurra Country Club Resort is the ideal sanctuary from which to explore the extraordinary East Kimberley region. The 4-Star Resort features modern rooms set in lush tropical gardens - a great retreat after a long day exploring. A range of onsite facilities includes swimming pool, bar and restaurant. Conference and meeting facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kununurra Country Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kununurra Country Club Resort Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing