We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
301tazz
Darwin, Australia

Does not live up to the hype

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 July 2021via mobile
The station does not give you anything extra than the other sites in the area. It is expensive for a powered site, indeed any site, and for what? An unlicensed bar, small sites, aging toilet facilities, and next to no activities. The staff are pleasant enough, but do not use the videos of youtube as a guide, these are misleading, will not return.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$388
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$388
  • Expedia.com
    AU$388
  • Hotels.com
    AU$388
97.1 km from Home Valley Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$296
  • Priceline
    AU$296
  • Expedia.com
    AU$296
  • Hotels.com
    AU$296
95.7 km from Home Valley Station
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$293
  • Agoda.com
    AU$293
88.4 km from Home Valley Station
Free parking
Restaurant
Agoda.com
AU$250
Multiple ways to pay
  • Trip.com
    AU$255
  • Vio.com
    AU$226
  • Expedia.com
97.3 km from Home Valley Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$214
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$214
  • Expedia.com
    AU$214
  • Hotels.com
    AU$214
97.6 km from Home Valley Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
Stunning Aerial View of the Kimberley Grande
Booking.com
AU$275
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$275
  • Hotels.com
    AU$249
  • Expedia.com
    AU$275
97.3 km from Home Valley Station
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool view
Booking.com
AU$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$185
  • Agoda.com
    AU$157
  • Hotels.com
    AU$177
97.4 km from Home Valley Station
Free parking
Pool
Pool
Booking.com
AU$190
  • Priceline
    AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Hotels.com
    AU$190
96.5 km from Home Valley Station
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
AU$3,450
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    AU$3,450
  • Expedia.com
    AU$3,270
  • Booking.com
    AU$3,450
154.3 km from Home Valley Station
Pool
Beachfront
StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
97.9 km from Home Valley Station
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Kununurra
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
166
93
13
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
166
93
13
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews powered site laundry facilities camp walks tours meals barra mechanic guide oasis landscape knowledge kimberly
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2021 via mobile

The staff were lovely and we couldn’t be made more welcome (apart from one staff member who was very anti dogs). There were some things we found to be unacceptable … $20 per dog per night ( we have 2) was a bit much. A difference of opinion between manager who said we could have our dogs by the outside table and one of the food & beverage staff who said the manager was wrong and we couldn’t 🤔 cost of a lowered sight was $36 per adult per night so all up a very expensive stay for us. Throughout WA & NT washing machines ranger between $3 & $5 per load … HV8 charged $7 per with new front load machines delivered during our stay. The positives were the staff (great chef ), Niki , Amy and Laila in particular were terrific. The facilities and the location great 💕

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2019

We stayed 4 nights in the Grass Castle Room Everything was just out of this world The food unbelievable yummy " First Class" The staff so helpful and friendly
We done a few walking trails just amazing and the Helicopter Sun Set Flight was fantastic Overall we loved everything

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a Grass Castle room. It was fabulous. Hadn't expected accommodation of this standard on our trip. We spent the day chilling on the deck and using the pool. A welcome break from the corrugated roads. Only down side was food was rather overpriced for what it was.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MegCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2019

After a day on the Gibb we were ready for a comfortable room and shower - what we found was awesome! The Grass Castle rooms were stunning. So clean and comfortable. Plenty of space with s great view of the river. The Station is well run. Restaurant offers wide range of food and has entertainment on some evenings as well.

Room tip: Grass Castle rooms are private and face the river.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lad0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2019

It was wonderful arriving at our grass castle after driving along the Gibb River Road- A little bit of luxury. The room is very spacious with King sized bed, kitchenette, huge bathroom, complimentary dressing gowns, slippers etc.
We loved our room overlooking the river- very relaxing. WE had dinner at the bistro -it was ok -not a great variety . Breakfast really does need some work- it was very ordinary and it appeared although there were only 2 staff members - not coping with the volume needed.
We did the home valley 3 hour tour with Vince which was excellent and learned some of the history of the station. We would highly recommend a one night stay here when driving the Gibb!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goulburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews