We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Lake Argyle Cruises
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LAKE ARGYLE CRUISES is the original tour company on Lake Argyle. We offer a range of scenic cruises catering for individual travellers as well as tour groups. Our fleet of purpose built vessels offer comfortable seating and unobstructed views that leave many customers exclaiming words such as “amazing”, “breathtaking”, and “unbelievable”. Lake Argyle is Australia’s largest expanse of fresh water. It boasts over 26 species of native fish and supports a commercial fishery as well as the newly established Aquaculture industry. Latest research estimates up to 25,000 Johnstone River Fresh Water crocodiles inhabit Lake Argyle, Rock Wallabies thrive in rocky crevices close to the water’s edge, Eros (Wallaroos) on the islands have adapted to feed on the lakes aquatic plants. We specialise in observing wildlife, but due to the nature of wild animals it cannot be guaranteed you will see all that is described in this brochure. At Lake Argyle village above the Main Dam you will find motel style cabins, shop, bar, restaurant and a caravan park. Drop in and try the local catch, “Silver Cobbler” delivered fresh daily. Nearby is the Historical Durack Family Homestead Museum. The inland sea was created in 1971, by damming the mighty Ord River, forming a storage reservoir to supply one of the country’s largest and most ambitious irrigation schemes. What was once “Argyle Downs”, a million acre cattle station, is now an immense body of water amid a largely untamed and rugged wilderness in the remote East Kimberley region of Western Australia. Aptly named “Lake Argyle”, this majestic waterway can at times encompass and area of more than 2000 km2, a volume of water equivalent to 54 Sydney harbours. With its ever changing moods and landscapes it has developed into a unique eco-system, home to an amazing array of wildlife. There is no better was to capture all of this outstanding beauty than to take a cruise with Lake Argyle Cruises. We offer a selection of tours catering for the individual traveller as well as large tour groups. Specialised charters such as bird watching, bush walking and exploration can be arranged with prior notice.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed 23 August 2018

This cruise was very laid back and at times a little boring . The highlight is the swim at the end of the day and not much else can be said except the boat was comfortable and the crew pleasant .
There are 2 others cruises I would recommend before doing this one .
one shortcoming was that there where no diet drinks in the esky only full sugar drinks provided

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Gryn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write your review Gryn48.

Would love for you to get in contact with us directly at info@lakeargylecruises.com to discuss this further.
I am a little unsure if this review was meant for us and would like to follow up further.

If it was our cruise I would like to investigate why our diet drinks were not put in the esky as we have a list of drinks that must go in daily and I want to find out why it wasn't.

If you are ever back this way, I would suggest trying our half day Best of Lake Argyle cruise. This particular cruise has many different elements to it and I believe you would find this one more entertaining.

All the best on your travels.

The Lake Argyle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rock wallabies"
in 44 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 165 reviews
"lake argyle"
in 176 reviews
"crackers"
in 9 reviews
"glass of champagne"
in 9 reviews
"biscuits"
in 20 reviews
"fantastic cruise"
in 16 reviews
"archer fish"
in 17 reviews
"freshwater crocodiles"
in 17 reviews
"caravan park"
in 21 reviews
"noodles"
in 21 reviews
"full moon"
in 5 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 14 reviews
"great sunset"
in 7 reviews
"fresh water crocodiles"
in 11 reviews
"the sun set"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend this cruise"
in 6 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018

Recommend doing the sunset cruise rather than the lunch time cruise as sunsets in Western Australia are THE BEST in Australia (NT might be second in that list) - you got to see the colors to believe it.

The crew were friendly and very knowledgeable about Lake Argyle and the region. There was lot of information, but conveyed in an interesting manner so it was not overwhelming or boring. Pick up service is offered from the Lake Argyle Resort, so you dont have to take your own transport to get to the cruise boat.

They stop for a swim in the lake (yes, safe to swim and nothing to worry as only the harmless freshwater crocodiles are there, not the dangerous no saltwater crocodiles), but the water is too cold to swim even though this place is in the hot and humid Kimberleys. There were few people including myself who preferred not to get in the cold water, so feel free not to swim if you dont like freezing cold water.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank paddy999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thanks for your review Paddy M.

Sounds like you had a very enjoyable afternoon out on Lake Argyle.
Our Sunset Cruises are quite spectacular.

Water temperature will start to heat up now that the days are warming up so do remember your swimmers.

All the best for the rest of your travels.

The Lake Argyle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely cruise around the lake! Try to go with Mitch - he’s a great guide and always up for a chat and a beer after the tour in his secret spot with view over the lake if you ask nicely :)

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 754alexandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thanks for your review Alexander N.

Mitch is our newest member to the team but you wouldn't know it!!
He is full of enthusiasm and loves being out on the water.

Will pass on your review to him.

All the best, The Lake Argyle Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed this cruise. It is just so beautiful and photographic in dvery direction. As we had a sunset cruise, it was fabulous!!!! Fully recommended for people of all ages.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Cheryl R.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your time out with us on Lake Argyle, it is definitely a beautiful place and the best way to see it is by getting out on it.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again in the future.

The Lake Argyle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Your opportunity to get up close to Fresh Water Crocodiles, see the Amazing Archer Fish and watch a fabulous Sunset all on One afternoon.
Incredibly informative about the history of the area, the reasons that the Ord River was Dammed and the posotive impact in has had.
see the Dam , The massive area of water which is Lake Argyle with a team that obviousley love what they do and are incredibly proud of their company.
Matt was amazing, informed and fun.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thanks Joanne for taking the time to write a review.

Your kind words mean a lot to us and we are definitely passionate about what we do and enjoy working out here.
Glad you enjoyed your day and we really do hope to see you again in the future.

The Lake Argyle Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Argyle Cruises also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Lake Argyle Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing