We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience not to be missed”

Lake Argyle Cruises
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LAKE ARGYLE CRUISES is the original tour company on Lake Argyle. We offer a range of scenic cruises catering for individual travellers as well as tour groups. Our fleet of purpose built vessels offer comfortable seating and unobstructed views that leave many customers exclaiming words such as “amazing”, “breathtaking”, and “unbelievable”. Lake Argyle is Australia’s largest expanse of fresh water. It boasts over 26 species of native fish and supports a commercial fishery as well as the newly established Aquaculture industry. Latest research estimates up to 25,000 Johnstone River Fresh Water crocodiles inhabit Lake Argyle, Rock Wallabies thrive in rocky crevices close to the water’s edge, Eros (Wallaroos) on the islands have adapted to feed on the lakes aquatic plants. We specialise in observing wildlife, but due to the nature of wild animals it cannot be guaranteed you will see all that is described in this brochure. At Lake Argyle village above the Main Dam you will find motel style cabins, shop, bar, restaurant and a caravan park. Drop in and try the local catch, “Silver Cobbler” delivered fresh daily. Nearby is the Historical Durack Family Homestead Museum. The inland sea was created in 1971, by damming the mighty Ord River, forming a storage reservoir to supply one of the country’s largest and most ambitious irrigation schemes. What was once “Argyle Downs”, a million acre cattle station, is now an immense body of water amid a largely untamed and rugged wilderness in the remote East Kimberley region of Western Australia. Aptly named “Lake Argyle”, this majestic waterway can at times encompass and area of more than 2000 km2, a volume of water equivalent to 54 Sydney harbours. With its ever changing moods and landscapes it has developed into a unique eco-system, home to an amazing array of wildlife. There is no better was to capture all of this outstanding beauty than to take a cruise with Lake Argyle Cruises. We offer a selection of tours catering for the individual traveller as well as large tour groups. Specialised charters such as bird watching, bush walking and exploration can be arranged with prior notice.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Your opportunity to get up close to Fresh Water Crocodiles, see the Amazing Archer Fish and watch a fabulous Sunset all on One afternoon.
Incredibly informative about the history of the area, the reasons that the Ord River was Dammed and the posotive impact in has had.
see the Dam , The massive area of water which is Lake Argyle with a team that obviousley love what they do and are incredibly proud of their company.
Matt was amazing, informed and fun.

Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Joanne for taking the time to write a review.

Your kind words mean a lot to us and we are definitely passionate about what we do and enjoy working out here.
Glad you enjoyed your day and we really do hope to see you again in the future.

The Lake Argyle Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rock wallabies"
in 42 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 155 reviews
"biscuits"
in 20 reviews
"lake argyle"
in 161 reviews
"crackers"
in 9 reviews
"glass of champagne"
in 9 reviews
"fantastic cruise"
in 16 reviews
"freshwater crocodiles"
in 17 reviews
"archer fish"
in 15 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 14 reviews
"watched the sunset"
in 5 reviews
"caravan park"
in 20 reviews
"noodles"
in 20 reviews
"full moon"
in 5 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 7 reviews
"fresh water crocodiles"
in 11 reviews
"sheer size"
in 4 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2018

Starting from the bus trip to the lake until the bus trip home the whole afternoon was spent exploring and learning about the lake, wildlife and environment. The guide was knowledgeable, informative, explained the lake and the history of the lake and it's surrounds very well.
It was a bright and sunny afternoon spent on an impressive body of water. 25,000 freshwater crocodiles, 21 Sydney Harbours, 17 varieties of fish etc.
A truly fine afternoon

Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Ted.

There is so much to learn and experience when visiting Lake Argyle.
We ensure all our cruises and transfers from Kununurra give our customers a full experience.

Its fantastic you remembered what you learnt and hopefully you can wow your friends and family with our facts and figures.

All the best and safe travels.

The Lake Argyle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We did the two hour morning cruise on Lake Argyle with tour guide, Mitch.

We spotted Rock Wallabies, various birds and about 20 freshwater crocodiles on our travels.

Mitch was very knowledgeable about the Lake and surrounds and built a great rapport with all visitors young and old.

I preferred the swimming spot of Lake Argyle Kimberley Durack cruise as it was on an island where you could get off and walk around but those who swam in this cruise seemed to enjoy themselves. The boat for this cruise was moored to a buoy and people jumped off the front or back of the boat into the water, climbing back on up a ladder.

Tea, coffee and biscuits were available.

There was a toilet on board.

I would recommend this cruise as a lower cost option without a meal. You will see the same as you would on a cruise with food and be far less out of pocket.

Thank kniclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to write a review kniclair.

I will pass on this review to Mitch, he is our youngest crew member this year but is definitely delivering fantastic experiences for our customers.


All the best and we hope to see you again in the future.
The Lake Argyle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

What an awesome tour on lake Argyle!! Just stunning. We loved every minute, even was brave enough to jump off the boat roof into the water. Couldn’t recommend this cruise more.

Thank SarahBlake81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thanks for your review SarahBlake81.

So glad you enjoyed your time.

All the best for the rest of your travels :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We visited the Kimberley 15 years ago with our children, so it took some time to get back. Did a similar cruise then and no hesitation doing it again. Truely amazing, wife and I loved it, relaxing, informative, beautiful scenery and The swim in the lake before the sunset was a nice finish to the day. Thanks for another wonderful visit, awesome

Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Manager at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for your review Murray R.

So glad you came back and enjoyed it again. We love to see repeat customers on our cruises!

Safe Travels,
Lake Argyle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Argyle Cruises also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Lake Argyle Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing