We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Backyard....”

Lake Argyle Cruises
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LAKE ARGYLE CRUISES is the original tour company on Lake Argyle. We offer a range of scenic cruises catering for individual travellers as well as tour groups. Our fleet of purpose built vessels offer comfortable seating and unobstructed views that leave many customers exclaiming words such as “amazing”, “breathtaking”, and “unbelievable”. Lake Argyle is Australia’s largest expanse of fresh water. It boasts over 26 species of native fish and supports a commercial fishery as well as the newly established Aquaculture industry. Latest research estimates up to 25,000 Johnstone River Fresh Water crocodiles inhabit Lake Argyle, Rock Wallabies thrive in rocky crevices close to the water’s edge, Eros (Wallaroos) on the islands have adapted to feed on the lakes aquatic plants. We specialise in observing wildlife, but due to the nature of wild animals it cannot be guaranteed you will see all that is described in this brochure. At Lake Argyle village above the Main Dam you will find motel style cabins, shop, bar, restaurant and a caravan park. Drop in and try the local catch, “Silver Cobbler” delivered fresh daily. Nearby is the Historical Durack Family Homestead Museum. The inland sea was created in 1971, by damming the mighty Ord River, forming a storage reservoir to supply one of the country’s largest and most ambitious irrigation schemes. What was once “Argyle Downs”, a million acre cattle station, is now an immense body of water amid a largely untamed and rugged wilderness in the remote East Kimberley region of Western Australia. Aptly named “Lake Argyle”, this majestic waterway can at times encompass and area of more than 2000 km2, a volume of water equivalent to 54 Sydney harbours. With its ever changing moods and landscapes it has developed into a unique eco-system, home to an amazing array of wildlife. There is no better was to capture all of this outstanding beauty than to take a cruise with Lake Argyle Cruises. We offer a selection of tours catering for the individual traveller as well as large tour groups. Specialised charters such as bird watching, bush walking and exploration can be arranged with prior notice.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Thank you Greg,
What an amazing backyard you have.
Your "Best of Argyle Tour" was fantastic, not only did we get to see some amazing scenery, but the wild life was spectacular.
The whole afternoon from start to finish was great, well organised, there was plenty of food, drinks and information.
The sunset beautiful and the full moon coming up over the lake was lovely.
We thoroughly enjoyed our day and would highly recommend to everyone.
Ken & Debbie

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Debbie425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Ken and Debbie.

Glad you enjoyed your time with us on The Best of Lake Argyle - it really is the best cruise to do to see just how big the lake is and all the different wildlife it has to offer.

All the best for the rest of your travels!!

The Lake Argyle Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rock wallabies"
in 44 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 165 reviews
"lake argyle"
in 176 reviews
"crackers"
in 9 reviews
"glass of champagne"
in 9 reviews
"biscuits"
in 20 reviews
"fantastic cruise"
in 16 reviews
"archer fish"
in 17 reviews
"freshwater crocodiles"
in 17 reviews
"caravan park"
in 21 reviews
"noodles"
in 21 reviews
"full moon"
in 5 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 14 reviews
"great sunset"
in 7 reviews
"fresh water crocodiles"
in 11 reviews
"the sun set"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend this cruise"
in 6 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

This was an excellent tour and our guide was extremely knowledgeable, constantly stopping to explain particular points of interest. He was always on the watch for crocodiles and other wildlife of interest. We were also treated to a great afternoon tea on the bank of the river. A wonderful afternoon!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Thanks for your review Robyn D.

Our guides do love to show off the crocodiles and the wildlife that Lake Argyle has to offer.

Safe travels,
The Lake Argyle Cruises Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

this should be 10 stars. Absolutely the best tour ever. Great staff, awesome scenery and wildlife. great swimming with a glass of champagne at sunset. I have seen some awesome scenery in my life (65) including the fjords in Norway but this is even better Well done- keep it up. What a tour. Thankyou

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Jenny M.

Wow - we are extremely proud to hear that you enjoyed our sunset cruise better than the Fjords in Norway. It really is the best cruise to do for sunset as you really take in the breathtaking beauty of Lake Argyle while the sun is going down.

All the best,
The Lake Argyle Cruises Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Do yourself a favour and book a sunset tour. Really informative, great atmosphere and watching the sun go down over Lake Argyle while swimming with a beer in your hand is quite unreal. The staff are so friendly and helpful and informative. The colours at sunset are amazing and the wildlife are everywhere. If there is one thing that you do while you are here, this is a must.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Adam L.

We know exactly what you mean - the sunsets are the best we've seen! Lake Argyle is such a beautiful place to visit and being out on the lake makes for an unforgettable experience.

We wish you all the best,
From the Lake Argyle Cruises Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

You just have to do the sunset cruise. It's really good. Great guide with very good commentary. So many photo opportunities.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank paulg19688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Yes the sunsets are unbeatable! I'm sure you got lots of amazing photos.

I'm glad you enjoyed yourself paulg19688.

Safe Travels
From The Lake Argyle Cruises Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Argyle Cruises also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Lake Argyle Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing