We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cruise into the sunset”

Lake Argyle Cruises
Ranked #1 of 16 Tours in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LAKE ARGYLE CRUISES is the original tour company on Lake Argyle. We offer a range of scenic cruises catering for individual travellers as well as tour groups. Our fleet of purpose built vessels offer comfortable seating and unobstructed views that leave many customers exclaiming words such as “amazing”, “breathtaking”, and “unbelievable”. Lake Argyle is Australia’s largest expanse of fresh water. It boasts over 26 species of native fish and supports a commercial fishery as well as the newly established Aquaculture industry. Latest research estimates up to 25,000 Johnstone River Fresh Water crocodiles inhabit Lake Argyle, Rock Wallabies thrive in rocky crevices close to the water’s edge, Eros (Wallaroos) on the islands have adapted to feed on the lakes aquatic plants. We specialise in observing wildlife, but due to the nature of wild animals it cannot be guaranteed you will see all that is described in this brochure. At Lake Argyle village above the Main Dam you will find motel style cabins, shop, bar, restaurant and a caravan park. Drop in and try the local catch, “Silver Cobbler” delivered fresh daily. Nearby is the Historical Durack Family Homestead Museum. The inland sea was created in 1971, by damming the mighty Ord River, forming a storage reservoir to supply one of the country’s largest and most ambitious irrigation schemes. What was once “Argyle Downs”, a million acre cattle station, is now an immense body of water amid a largely untamed and rugged wilderness in the remote East Kimberley region of Western Australia. Aptly named “Lake Argyle”, this majestic waterway can at times encompass and area of more than 2000 km2, a volume of water equivalent to 54 Sydney harbours. With its ever changing moods and landscapes it has developed into a unique eco-system, home to an amazing array of wildlife. There is no better was to capture all of this outstanding beauty than to take a cruise with Lake Argyle Cruises. We offer a selection of tours catering for the individual traveller as well as large tour groups. Specialised charters such as bird watching, bush walking and exploration can be arranged with prior notice.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 25 September 2017

A must visit arond Kununurra. Lake Argyle is full of history, aminal life, a hugh amount of fresh water to swin in, relax and in some points you'll think this lake has no end.
The guided tours will tell and show you everything until the sun hits the mountain range.
Enjoy!

Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks for your review Mandy M.

Lake Argyle is a hidden gem and a must do when visiting Kununurra and the East Kimberley's.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rock wallabies"
in 40 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 139 reviews
"crackers"
in 9 reviews
"lake argyle"
in 145 reviews
"biscuits"
in 16 reviews
"fantastic cruise"
in 16 reviews
"freshwater crocodiles"
in 23 reviews
"champagne and nibbles"
in 5 reviews
"archer fish"
in 14 reviews
"years experience"
in 4 reviews
"caravan park"
in 19 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 13 reviews
"informative cruise"
in 5 reviews
"sheer size"
in 4 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 7 reviews
"great sunset"
in 6 reviews
"fresh water"
in 8 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

Great way to spend the day firstly with the drive to Lake Argyle via Durack Homestead. Informative cruise on the lake and fantastic lunch with a rest stop for those that wanted a swim. We changed boats and them navigated the Ord River/Lake Kununurra and saw extensive birdlife and a stopover for delicious afternoon tea

Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We did the sunset cruise. Firstly, the tour captain and his "mate" were great. They welcomed everyone with good old Aussie hospitality, nothing was a problem and their knowledge was unending. In the four hours you can only see a small portion of the actual lake, it is humongous ! We were lucky that the afternoons weather was just beautiful and the water smooth. We got some beautiful photographs. They provided beer, wine and nibbles and plenty of them. The boat stops in a couple of places so you can get into the lake for a swim if you like. They provided swim "noodles" so you don't have to worry about that. This tour is a definite must for your journeys.

Thank MingymooBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review MingymooBrisbane.

Sounds like you had a lovely afternoon out on Lake Argyle and thoroughly enjoyed it.

We hope to see you again in the future and safe travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Lake Argyle Caravan Park which is efficiently and professionally managed with an overlying touch of friendliness. Internet is drop fed which is a bit unbelievable - 2 hours a day!
The cruise was amazing and had a bit of everything in it to suit most tastes. Animals activities, swimming, snacks, and croc spying. Very informative and friendly .

Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks for your review Stephen B.

We are glad you enjoyed your time out at Lake Argyle and on our cruise.

Hopefully we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely afternoon on beautiful Lake Argyle. We thoroughly enjoyed learning about the lake's history and seeing the wildlife however I was not impressed with the lack information about the local indigenous people. Not once were the local people acknowledged on the tour or their history on the land mentioned. I would have liked to have heard what the local indigenous people actually thought of the building of the lake at the time and how they feel now. I think this information is necessary to the history of the lake and not once was it mentioned which I found very sad. Other than this we thoroughly enjoyed the cruise.

Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your review Tanya S.

Lake Argyle is an extremely beautiful place to visit and our cruises really show case this beauty.

In regards to information on the local indigenous people, we have asked for permission by the traditional land owners to speak about their culture and history and their wish was for us to not do so. Obviously we need to respect their wishes.

There are a great number of cultural tours on offer in the Kimberley's and the Kununurra Visitor Centre will be able to assist you with these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Argyle Cruises also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Lake Argyle Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing