We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Argyle Awsoneness”

Lake Argyle Cruises
Ranked #1 of 16 Tours in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LAKE ARGYLE CRUISES is the original tour company on Lake Argyle. We offer a range of scenic cruises catering for individual travellers as well as tour groups. Our fleet of purpose built vessels offer comfortable seating and unobstructed views that leave many customers exclaiming words such as “amazing”, “breathtaking”, and “unbelievable”. Lake Argyle is Australia’s largest expanse of fresh water. It boasts over 26 species of native fish and supports a commercial fishery as well as the newly established Aquaculture industry. Latest research estimates up to 25,000 Johnstone River Fresh Water crocodiles inhabit Lake Argyle, Rock Wallabies thrive in rocky crevices close to the water’s edge, Eros (Wallaroos) on the islands have adapted to feed on the lakes aquatic plants. We specialise in observing wildlife, but due to the nature of wild animals it cannot be guaranteed you will see all that is described in this brochure. At Lake Argyle village above the Main Dam you will find motel style cabins, shop, bar, restaurant and a caravan park. Drop in and try the local catch, “Silver Cobbler” delivered fresh daily. Nearby is the Historical Durack Family Homestead Museum. The inland sea was created in 1971, by damming the mighty Ord River, forming a storage reservoir to supply one of the country’s largest and most ambitious irrigation schemes. What was once “Argyle Downs”, a million acre cattle station, is now an immense body of water amid a largely untamed and rugged wilderness in the remote East Kimberley region of Western Australia. Aptly named “Lake Argyle”, this majestic waterway can at times encompass and area of more than 2000 km2, a volume of water equivalent to 54 Sydney harbours. With its ever changing moods and landscapes it has developed into a unique eco-system, home to an amazing array of wildlife. There is no better was to capture all of this outstanding beauty than to take a cruise with Lake Argyle Cruises. We offer a selection of tours catering for the individual traveller as well as large tour groups. Specialised charters such as bird watching, bush walking and exploration can be arranged with prior notice.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Lake Argyle Caravan Park which is efficiently and professionally managed with an overlying touch of friendliness. Internet is drop fed which is a bit unbelievable - 2 hours a day!
The cruise was amazing and had a bit of everything in it to suit most tastes. Animals activities, swimming, snacks, and croc spying. Very informative and friendly .

Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks for your review Stephen B.

We are glad you enjoyed your time out at Lake Argyle and on our cruise.

Hopefully we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely afternoon on beautiful Lake Argyle. We thoroughly enjoyed learning about the lake's history and seeing the wildlife however I was not impressed with the lack information about the local indigenous people. Not once were the local people acknowledged on the tour or their history on the land mentioned. I would have liked to have heard what the local indigenous people actually thought of the building of the lake at the time and how they feel now. I think this information is necessary to the history of the lake and not once was it mentioned which I found very sad. Other than this we thoroughly enjoyed the cruise.

Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your review Tanya S.

Lake Argyle is an extremely beautiful place to visit and our cruises really show case this beauty.

In regards to information on the local indigenous people, we have asked for permission by the traditional land owners to speak about their culture and history and their wish was for us to not do so. Obviously we need to respect their wishes.

There are a great number of cultural tours on offer in the Kimberley's and the Kununurra Visitor Centre will be able to assist you with these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We can heartily recommend the Lake Argyle bird watching cruise. We set off at dawn with just another couple and the guide and had a wonderful day. Breakfast was eaten in an inlet where we were surrounded by jacanas close to a pair of sea eagles feeding young. We also travelled to an island to see yellow chats. The scenery was spectacular and we truly loved every minute of the day. So peaceful and much more to offer than the usual crowded tourist trips.

Thank lorna2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review lorna2016.

Our bird watching cruises are very unique and offer a fantastic opportunity for bird enthusiasts.
We are lucky enough to have bird lovers from around the world come and join us at Lake Argyle.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Very pleasant & informative cruise around the lake. Highlight of the cruise was swimming in the lake at sunset. Glass of wine in hand & cheese & crackers floated out to us on a custom made floating bar! Highly recommend this trip.

Thank Sue0130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your review Sue0130.

Sounds like you had a lovely cruise out on Lake Argyle.
Glad we were able to offer a lovely afternoon for you.

Safe travels and hope to see you again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

The Fun Fit Adventure gang loved this tour ..... The guides are brilliant and so knowledgeable! We saw small eared rock wallabies and had a beautiful sunset swim with drinks!
Thank you for an awesome trip!!!!

Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Sarah B.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us out on Lake Argyle and got to enjoy one of our beautiful sunsets.

Enjoy the rest of your travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Argyle Cruises also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Lake Argyle Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing