We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss a sunset swim ”

Lake Argyle Cruises
Ranked #1 of 16 Tours in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LAKE ARGYLE CRUISES is the original tour company on Lake Argyle. We offer a range of scenic cruises catering for individual travellers as well as tour groups. Our fleet of purpose built vessels offer comfortable seating and unobstructed views that leave many customers exclaiming words such as “amazing”, “breathtaking”, and “unbelievable”. Lake Argyle is Australia’s largest expanse of fresh water. It boasts over 26 species of native fish and supports a commercial fishery as well as the newly established Aquaculture industry. Latest research estimates up to 25,000 Johnstone River Fresh Water crocodiles inhabit Lake Argyle, Rock Wallabies thrive in rocky crevices close to the water’s edge, Eros (Wallaroos) on the islands have adapted to feed on the lakes aquatic plants. We specialise in observing wildlife, but due to the nature of wild animals it cannot be guaranteed you will see all that is described in this brochure. At Lake Argyle village above the Main Dam you will find motel style cabins, shop, bar, restaurant and a caravan park. Drop in and try the local catch, “Silver Cobbler” delivered fresh daily. Nearby is the Historical Durack Family Homestead Museum. The inland sea was created in 1971, by damming the mighty Ord River, forming a storage reservoir to supply one of the country’s largest and most ambitious irrigation schemes. What was once “Argyle Downs”, a million acre cattle station, is now an immense body of water amid a largely untamed and rugged wilderness in the remote East Kimberley region of Western Australia. Aptly named “Lake Argyle”, this majestic waterway can at times encompass and area of more than 2000 km2, a volume of water equivalent to 54 Sydney harbours. With its ever changing moods and landscapes it has developed into a unique eco-system, home to an amazing array of wildlife. There is no better was to capture all of this outstanding beauty than to take a cruise with Lake Argyle Cruises. We offer a selection of tours catering for the individual traveller as well as large tour groups. Specialised charters such as bird watching, bush walking and exploration can be arranged with prior notice.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

The Fun Fit Adventure gang loved this tour ..... The guides are brilliant and so knowledgeable! We saw small eared rock wallabies and had a beautiful sunset swim with drinks!
Thank you for an awesome trip!!!!

Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Sarah B.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us out on Lake Argyle and got to enjoy one of our beautiful sunsets.

Enjoy the rest of your travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

At first I thought $95 was pretty steep for a lake cruise. But now that I have been on it- I would have to say it was worth it.
Greg out captain was very knowledgeable telling us heaps about the lake it's history and surrounds. The wildlife and birdlife were abundant and very visible including the fresh water crocs. Take heaps of photos as we did the sunset cruise and the photo opportunities are amazing. Swimming off the back of the boat in this huge lake was breathtaking and being served champagne while padding in the water - well what can I say Devine. Truly worth the dollars to gain such an experience.

Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

I am pleased you enjoyed your experience on Lake Argyle Cruises Melissa and thank you for writing a glowing review.

The lake is pretty special and we are glad we could show you how its rich history and wildlife is.

Glad you enjoyed the swim in the lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We hired a double Kayak for a morning on the lake. This was a stunning and amazing experience! Staff really friendly and helpful, perfect day!

Thank Delphine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for your review Delphine G.

Our canoes/kayaks and SUPs are a really inexpensive way to see Lake Argyle and have some fun along the way.

Glad you found our staff helpful and friendly!!

Safe travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

The best way to see a bit more of the Outback and to appreciate the amazing feat of the damming of the Ord to create Lake Argyle.
Leisurely cruise with great snacks and drinks and an informative local guide.
Highlight was definitely swimming in the lake- they assured us the 25000 freshies would not harm us- and floating with a beer in hand before a great barbecue lunch.

Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review Sheila L.

Glad you enjoyed your time with us out at Lake Argyle.

Safe travels and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

The cruise on the man-made lake was brilliant and the landscape amazing. The guide was very informative and we saw rock-wallabies, wallabies, freshwater crocodiles and other wildlife. Feeding spitting fish was one of the highlights which were only topped by swimming in the middle of the lake, drinking champagne and enjoying some snacks when watching the stunning sunset. We were with a guided tour at the Lake Argyle Resort and had some free time and the option to join the sunset boat cruise on the lake. We were picked up d at the resort by bus. Highly recommend the cruise.

Thank EdithTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review EdithTa.

Sounds like a great day out in the Kimberleys!! lake Argyle is a beautiful place in the world and we are glad we were able to share it with you.

Safe travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Argyle Cruises also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Lake Argyle Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing