We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible morning cruise”

Lake Argyle Cruises
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LAKE ARGYLE CRUISES is the original tour company on Lake Argyle. We offer a range of scenic cruises catering for individual travellers as well as tour groups. Our fleet of purpose built vessels offer comfortable seating and unobstructed views that leave many customers exclaiming words such as “amazing”, “breathtaking”, and “unbelievable”. Lake Argyle is Australia’s largest expanse of fresh water. It boasts over 26 species of native fish and supports a commercial fishery as well as the newly established Aquaculture industry. Latest research estimates up to 25,000 Johnstone River Fresh Water crocodiles inhabit Lake Argyle, Rock Wallabies thrive in rocky crevices close to the water’s edge, Eros (Wallaroos) on the islands have adapted to feed on the lakes aquatic plants. We specialise in observing wildlife, but due to the nature of wild animals it cannot be guaranteed you will see all that is described in this brochure. At Lake Argyle village above the Main Dam you will find motel style cabins, shop, bar, restaurant and a caravan park. Drop in and try the local catch, “Silver Cobbler” delivered fresh daily. Nearby is the Historical Durack Family Homestead Museum. The inland sea was created in 1971, by damming the mighty Ord River, forming a storage reservoir to supply one of the country’s largest and most ambitious irrigation schemes. What was once “Argyle Downs”, a million acre cattle station, is now an immense body of water amid a largely untamed and rugged wilderness in the remote East Kimberley region of Western Australia. Aptly named “Lake Argyle”, this majestic waterway can at times encompass and area of more than 2000 km2, a volume of water equivalent to 54 Sydney harbours. With its ever changing moods and landscapes it has developed into a unique eco-system, home to an amazing array of wildlife. There is no better was to capture all of this outstanding beauty than to take a cruise with Lake Argyle Cruises. We offer a selection of tours catering for the individual traveller as well as large tour groups. Specialised charters such as bird watching, bush walking and exploration can be arranged with prior notice.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We booked the morning cruise rather than the sunset cruise as it was cheaper for our family of 5 and we really just wanted to get out on the lake. We drove out to Lake Argyle from Kununurra and waited at the store for the bus to take us down to the lake. The bus crosses the dam wall then goes down a steep (13%) grade to get to the edge of the lake.

We all popped on the boat and headed out into the lake. The driver provided commentary as we travelled around, seeing the dam wall and listening to the story of it's creation, seeing wallaroos, crocodiles, jabiru, pelicans, feeding archer fish and cat fish, listening to the history of the dam and the area around it. Tea, coffee and biscuits were available to help ourselves to, and we were free to move around the boat a bit to see things more clearly. When we found fresh water crocodiles basking on the shore of one of the islands, we went in close to get a good look and were able to see one slide into the water. The archer fish were fun to feed as we watched them shoot water into the air trying to catch the bread we were feeding them.

The lake was incredible to look at from every angle. We only covered a portion of the lake and were constantly reminded of how big it is. The islands and surrounding ranges are beautiful and fascinating, and the animal life is varied.

On our way back to shore we stopped in one of the deepest parts of the lake (23m) and had a swim, which was incredible. Pool noodles were available to float on and most people jumped in the water for the experience.

We all thoroughly enjoyed the cruise and were so thrilled with everything we saw, heard and did on the lake. The commentary was excellent - informative, friendly and entertaining.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank AnnieR437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you for your review Annie R.

Sounds like your family had a magical morning on the lake.
We are very pleased we were able to give your family this experience.

Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rock wallabies"
in 44 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 165 reviews
"lake argyle"
in 176 reviews
"crackers"
in 9 reviews
"glass of champagne"
in 9 reviews
"biscuits"
in 20 reviews
"fantastic cruise"
in 16 reviews
"archer fish"
in 17 reviews
"freshwater crocodiles"
in 17 reviews
"caravan park"
in 21 reviews
"noodles"
in 21 reviews
"full moon"
in 5 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 14 reviews
"great sunset"
in 7 reviews
"fresh water crocodiles"
in 11 reviews
"the sun set"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend this cruise"
in 6 reviews
Filter

102 - 106 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Brilliant tour on the Lake to see the sunset while swimming and having a beer and wine was something special. Thank you to Matt for being our guide very informative, I would recommend

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank jenkslookalike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for your review jenkslookalike.

Our Sunset Cruise is a perfect way to cap off a beautiful day in the Kimberleys.
Glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Great well organised cruise, very good commentary by young guys who knew their stuff, good snack food, wine and drinks all round, highly recommend.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Valarietom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your review valarie2016.

Glad you enjoyed your time on Lake Argyle with us.
Safe travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

This 2-3 hour cruise takes you past the huge dam wall that controls water levels. Varying in depth between 15-40m, Lake Argyle provides a home to 300 species of water birds and is classified as a Ramsay site. And also boasts 20-30 species of fish and 3 species of turtles. The lake is classified an inland sea and it feels like that when you're out in the middle and go in for a dip! It is exciting and beautiful and all topped off with champagne and nibbles which can be served to you while you are in the water! The cruise is topped off with watching the sunset. A glorious place and certainly well worthwhile.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank heatherwY3611TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review Heather W.
It sounds like you have taken a lot of information away with you from our cruise which is fantastic to hear.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Best sunset cruise. What a great experience of a beautiful place.
The chance to swim was a bonus and we certainly enjoyed beer and bubbles at sunset on the boat as well as plenty of nibbles. The crew were very knowledgeable and friendly.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank KP R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for your review KP R.

It sounds like you had a lovely afternoon out on the lake.
We are glad we got to show you our hidden gem.

Safe travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Argyle Cruises also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Lake Argyle Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing