We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perry and Colleen”

Lake Argyle Cruises
Ranked #2 of 19 Tours in Kununurra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: LAKE ARGYLE CRUISES is the original tour company on Lake Argyle. We offer a range of scenic cruises catering for individual travellers as well as tour groups. Our fleet of purpose built vessels offer comfortable seating and unobstructed views that leave many customers exclaiming words such as “amazing”, “breathtaking”, and “unbelievable”. Lake Argyle is Australia’s largest expanse of fresh water. It boasts over 26 species of native fish and supports a commercial fishery as well as the newly established Aquaculture industry. Latest research estimates up to 25,000 Johnstone River Fresh Water crocodiles inhabit Lake Argyle, Rock Wallabies thrive in rocky crevices close to the water’s edge, Eros (Wallaroos) on the islands have adapted to feed on the lakes aquatic plants. We specialise in observing wildlife, but due to the nature of wild animals it cannot be guaranteed you will see all that is described in this brochure. At Lake Argyle village above the Main Dam you will find motel style cabins, shop, bar, restaurant and a caravan park. Drop in and try the local catch, “Silver Cobbler” delivered fresh daily. Nearby is the Historical Durack Family Homestead Museum. The inland sea was created in 1971, by damming the mighty Ord River, forming a storage reservoir to supply one of the country’s largest and most ambitious irrigation schemes. What was once “Argyle Downs”, a million acre cattle station, is now an immense body of water amid a largely untamed and rugged wilderness in the remote East Kimberley region of Western Australia. Aptly named “Lake Argyle”, this majestic waterway can at times encompass and area of more than 2000 km2, a volume of water equivalent to 54 Sydney harbours. With its ever changing moods and landscapes it has developed into a unique eco-system, home to an amazing array of wildlife. There is no better was to capture all of this outstanding beauty than to take a cruise with Lake Argyle Cruises. We offer a selection of tours catering for the individual traveller as well as large tour groups. Specialised charters such as bird watching, bush walking and exploration can be arranged with prior notice.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Great fishing trip with Steve. Fish cleaned and filleted and delivered to caravan.Four hours relaxing on the Lake fishing on and watching the beautiful sunset. Great bloke Steve good sense of humour with all the gear that is required.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank pezzacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you for your review pezzacol.

We loved the photo you posted. The smile on your face says it all!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rock wallabies"
in 44 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 165 reviews
"lake argyle"
in 176 reviews
"crackers"
in 9 reviews
"glass of champagne"
in 9 reviews
"biscuits"
in 20 reviews
"fantastic cruise"
in 16 reviews
"archer fish"
in 17 reviews
"freshwater crocodiles"
in 17 reviews
"caravan park"
in 21 reviews
"noodles"
in 21 reviews
"full moon"
in 5 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 14 reviews
"great sunset"
in 7 reviews
"fresh water crocodiles"
in 11 reviews
"the sun set"
in 5 reviews
"highly recommend this cruise"
in 6 reviews
Filter

132 - 136 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

We did this cruise with Kimberley Outback Tours on the Kimberley Cat catamaran.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Very professional but easy going and this made for an enjoyable day topped off with bubbles (byo) and nibbles at sunset. A big lunch was provided. I couldn't imagine doing this tour on any other craft!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank MelbourneCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

The crew were Fantastic including the bus driver. The lunch was delicious, plenty of food. Had a swim in the lake, quite warm. It would have been nice to stay a bit longer for lunch as it was a bit of a rush. Lovely boat too

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank JaffaoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We were collected from our accommodation in Kununurra and taken by bus to the shores of Lake Argyle. On the way we stopped for a visit at the Durack Homestead museum. For our cruise we had a great captain, Matt, who had extensive knowledge of the history of the formation of Lake Argyle and the marine life (fresh water crocs - about 25,000 of them) and bird life. An enjoyable lunch was served, and there was no problem being provided with gluten free food. Our day was spent cruising passed various islands, actually stopping and stretching our legs on one, taking countless photos, and exclaiming again and again at the sheer size of the Lake. Matt served an afternoon tea of fresh fruit which was great as it was a fairly warm day. As the sun started to get lower, we had the fun of a swim, with a plentiful supply of 'bubbly', and watched the glorious sunset redden the sky. Then it was back to base, cruising through the darkness as the stars came out. We would highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Clemim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your cruise with us.
Sounds like you had a great day on the lake with plenty to see and do.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We took the sunset cruise for a look see and it was beautiful.
Matt the captain was very nolagable as to sites.
It was well worth the price (cheap) as far as I was concerned.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at Lake Argyle Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you for your review Ross W.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us on Lake Argyle and enjoyed Matt's commentary.
He is a wealth of knowledge and loves doing what he does best.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Argyle Cruises also viewed

Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
Kununurra, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Lake Argyle Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing