We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaraonda restaurantwater coolerswim up barstudio roomturkish bathsmall roadfull kitchenbuffet breakfaston site restaurantyoga classessteam roomapartments are spaciousocean viewnice poolpool area isevery morningbars and restaurants
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We went to Hotel Alisei for a wedding, it was a great location, with a beach across the street, restaurant on site and accommodating staff. Delicious Breakfast (complete with omelet station) is included - they have many options. All of the rooms are apartments, studio,1 and 2 bedroom with a kitchen. We didn't use the kitchen but others did. There is a supermarket close by (5 minute ride) or 15 minute walk. Big pool with a swim up bar is a plus!

Room Tip: You can get away with a studio if you are not going to use the kitchen.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Ili8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Loved this place and will be back!!! Loved location across from beach and loved the breakfast!! Pool with swim up bar though we didn’t have time to use. Loved the kitchen. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms were great! Huge patio/deck that would easily seat 8! Only downside is no grocery in walking to stock kitchen but can Uber one trip. Can’t wait to go back with my extended family!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank bugphobic_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

The best thing about Alisei is that it's right across from the beach, and within walking distance of a number of adequate beach restaurants. And they have a refrigerated water cooler in the rooms, which you will need I assure you.

The worst thing about Alisei is that there is air conditioning ONLY in the bedroom.

As a result the living room/kitchen is like a steam room. There is a ceiling fan but it does little more than blow hot air; it's like being under a blow dryer. It makes that room all but useless during your stay.

The restaurant, Baraonda, is mediocre and over-priced. There are many better alternatives nearby, including the sublime Plaza Delfin (must go).

I wouldn't return to Hotel Alisei. But then again, it's doubtful I'd return to Las Terrenas at all.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank albertaramblinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Alisei, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

We're sorry you did not like being with us.
Not everyone thinks like you, fortunately.
These are the Caribbean and the heat is a must, in all our descriptions it is specified that the air conditioning is only in the bedroom.
Give us the blame for this is contestable.
Now you have to think a bit about the environment and the choice to have only air conditioning in the room was made according to criteria of decrease in electricity consumption.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We had a wonderful weekend stay at the Hotel Alisei with family and friends. The staff was extremely polite and professional, and we personally saw the hotel owner several times during our stay. The hotel has a very good restaurant (Baraonda) that has great food and very reasonable prices. Breakfast at this open air restaurant was also included with our stay. Our room was a one bedroom "apartment" which included a kitchen and a large covered terrace. There is an AC in the bedroom which is capable of cooling the entire apartment, but they are really designed to be open air with the sea breezes and ceiling fans providing comfort. Our room also included a five gallon water cooler, which was very handy for refilling bottles, etc.. The swimming pool was beautiful and the pool and restaurant both had a bar. The hotel also offered yoga in the mornings.
To me the little things often are indicative of the bigger picture. Once small thing was the exchange rate for changing $US into DR pesos. The hotel offered the exact rate (0.49), whereas all of the other hotels we visited used 0.47 (or worse). The other small thing is security. The hotel had excellent security, but you really didn't notice it. Bottom line, it was a great trip and we look forward to our return.

Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank Steve61Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

This is a quiet hotel located on a quiet stretch of beautiful sand and water. Large warm pool with lots of lounge chairs and bi shade trees. Walk across the small road to a quiet beach. About 100 meter walk to restaurants.

Room Tip: second floor rooms have ocean view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank isenhopk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews