We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome place to stay and have fun.”
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning two bedroom bungalow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning two bedroom bungalow
Terrace of two bedroom bungalow just steps to the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Stunning two bedroom bungalow
Terrace of two bedroom bungalow just steps to the pool
Walkway leading to pool and two bedroom bungalow
King Bedroom (optional air conditioning)
Fully Stocked Kitchen
Queen Bedroom
Two bedroom bungalow with studio just steps away - rented together can accommodate up to 6 people
One bedroom bungalow garden setting
Two bedroom bungalow
One bedroom bungalow
More...
Playa Ballenas
More Playa Ballenas
And More….
Lots of Beach to Explore
Catamaran Excursions
Countryside
More of the Country
Daily Fishing Excursions
Fish Market (Fresh Catch of the Day)
Kite Excursions/Schools
Los Haitises
Sailing School
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Cheryl J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to stay and have fun.”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Gary and I went to El Nido de Las Ballenas Bungalows with 3 other couples for two weeks. 21 Jan to 4 Feb 2017. We were met by arranged transportation to take us to the resort. stopping at the grocery store on the way. When we arrived we were met by a very friendly Bethoven the resident watchdog. Carolyn and Manuel were very friendly and accommodating during our stay. We had the first bungalow with the one bedroom, bathroom and kitchen. It was lovely. Very clean and the kitchen had most of the things you would need and if not Carolyn had the things we didn't. The pool was a well used area as well as the two bedroom bungalow where we usually gathered with the rest of our friends. The walk to town was about a twenty minute walk with lots of restaurants where the food was fabulous. Carolyn is very knowledgeable about things to do and places to go. We rented quads and went on excursions to take in the lovely sites. One thing that is a real need if you go to the beaches is bug spray and sunscreen. We are looking forward to another trip to this beautiful setting. It definitely is a home away from home. Thanks to Carolyn and Manuel for the wonderful experience. Can't wait to come back. luv you guys.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! We thoroughly enjoyed your group and would welcome you back anytime. It is great to see everyone enjoying the pool and each others company - having fun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy A
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We had the pleasure of staying with Carolyn at El Nido de Also Ballenas as part of a group of 9 people. The place and the area was absolutely beautiful and a great safe location. Carolyn was the most gracious friendly and accommodating host in her beautiful villas. She took care of all of our needs with a smile and promptress whether it be preparing delicious food, transportation or organizing our outings. She couldn't have been more accommodating. The villas were all quite lovely clean and well equipped. Enoyed our stay so much and looking forward to our next vacation there. It truly was a little piece of paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review of the property! It was such a pleasure to have your group here, it was most enjoyable and I would welcome all of you back in a heartbeat!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frantstc
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent alternative to an all inclusive”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had the pleasure of staying with Carolyn for one week this past April. From our arrival at El Catey airport, Carolyn had arranged for a driver to take us directly to her property. Taking us through the small town along the coast, the driver was very knowledgeable and friendly. Our Casita was a perfect two bedroom cabin with a full kitchen; both beds were very comfortable and the imported linens and amenities are one of the things that help to set this property apart from many others in the area. Carolyn and Manuel were extremely helpful offering tips, points of interest and directions catered to what we wanted to get out of our vacation. The beach is a short 5 minute walk down the road and aside from the beautiful water and sand, we almost had the beach to ourselves! If exploring the quaint yet bustling town or relaxing on the beach aren't your thing, Carolyn's property has a lovely pool and ample places to sit and relax. You are never lonely with their friendly dog Beethoven around! Carolyn and Manuel directed us to a local grocery store as well as pointed out which fruit stands are the best for quality and price and we did a lot of our own cooking in our Casita. When we wanted a bit of a break they were able to recommend numerous restaurants in the area. They even prepared breakfast for us one morning (prior notice required I believe) which was delicious. We also took a bus to Santo Domingo for a few nights and it was very accessible from the town.

Overall, this was a wonderful way to explore Las Terrenas in a non-traditional all inclusive manner. The property is very safe with a night watchman and gate. If you are looking to see a bit of Dominican life and culture out side of a resort setting but still favour the safety and comfort of a hotel, El nido de las Ballenas would be a great choice to stay for a week or maybe more! We look forward to coming back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
What a great review of the property and town - thank you! It was truly a pleasure to have you both here and we definitely look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevedian...
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“El Nido de Las Ballenas Bungalows - Best Kept Secret!”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and I stayed at the El Nido de Las Ballenas Bungalows in March, 2016. This property far exceeded our expectations. Wonderful host Carolyn, friendly hard working staff and extremely clean accommodations with daily maid service! Carolyn and her staff go above and beyond to ensure their guests have the best vacation in Las Terrenas! The beautiful beach and town are within walking distance. The town has wonderful restaurants and shopping. Carolyn helped arrange our transportation to and from the airport. If you have any questions about excursions, restaurants or other amenities, Carolyn is most helpful. We would highly recommend El Nido de Las Ballenas Bungalows to our family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Cleanliness of the Property
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
It was such a pleasure to have you both here, we certainly look forward to your return one day! Thank you for your wonderful review and acknowledging the hard work of the staff here, we agree they are hard working and help to keep things running smoothly, enjoyable and cleanly for everyone visiting! We agree that we have a well kept secret here at El Nido!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra641...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely bungalow in peaceful setting”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The bungalow exceeded our expectations, it was very clean and everything that we needed was provided, including regular changing of sheets and towels. Carolyn was very helpful and friendly and the staff were delightful and very efficient.
We met clients staying in the other bungalows and felt very much at home.
It was a little further to the town than we had anticipated but as we had a car it was not a problem. We would advise others to have a car as there are other beaches and small towns in the area that are interesting to visit. And a must is the whale watching in Samana Bay.

Overall a very enjoyable holiday. Thank you Carolyn and all your staff.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool and the surroundings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
It is a pleasure to receive your review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay here with us as much as we enjoyed having you.

A car is certainly a personal option dependent upon individuals. Other great options are quads, pasolas and golf carts available for anyone wanting to explore further as we do have some of the most beautiful beaches and interesting towns, it was fantastic that you were able to explore and enjoy.

Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing