We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Our week at the Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo was nice. We decided to pay for the short route using the toll highway from the airport because it was a half hour ride, everyone on the bus pitched in a dollar. The drive and scenery was very beautiful.

The food at the buffet is way better than the ala cartes and they have a lot of variety and theme nights. We had three a la carte reservations and only made it to one and cancelled the other two.

We had a nice room and it wasn't very far from the beach, restaurants or lobby area. The housekeeping was okay. The staff was very friendly and did a great job keeping the grounds clean.

The beach was great and we were always able to find a chair in the shade because there are a lot of palm trees in the area. One rainy day my husband and I decided to go swimming and we had the beach to ourselves. During our trip it rained only one day and the rest of the time only late in the evenings. The only thing about the beach is it isn't that deep.

We did the Whale watching tour booked through the hotel and we had a great time, it was a half day tour. We also went to Las Terrenas to do some shopping and it was very interesting.

We were told by our rep not to drink the tap water but it was okay to brush your teeth with it, this is not the case.

Be aware of the sales people in the Lobby they will not take no for an answer until you are somewhat impolite to them which is not something either of us liked doing.

I have stayed at three Gran Bahias including this one and I would rate this one third on the list. The other two resorts were way better.

Overall we had a nice trip it was great not having to go to work, lying on the beach etc., but we have to say we will not be returning to this Gran Bahia in the future.

Room Tip: I liked the location of our room which was in Building 18 because it was not too far from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelzgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,108
    1,846
    468
    136
    89
See reviews for
1,737
2,669
82
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Hi! This is the type of hotel that you expect when you go out and enjoy your vacations. Hotel personnel always smiling and willing to accomodate your needs. Moderate size hotel with very good service! Was surprised with the amount of tourists from Argentina which by the way told me that they liked it. Food is good, bedrooms good, hospitality excellent! Only downer is that they have only one tennis court, and I'm crazy with the sport. One last thing: on the beach the corals are 5 yards away or even less and snorkeling is a must! Enjoy.
PD: Stayed with my wife and cousin March 15 - 17 - 2012.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumsden, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My spouse and I spent a week here March 12-20. The service was excellent! We enjoyed all of the food, always a variety for everyone.
The beach was amazing, great snorkeling and great walks with hardly anyone in sight. I would have to say there are a lot of beach vendors but being polite and saying no thanks does the trick.
If I had to think of something that was disappointing it was the nightlife. Not many people out past 11 pm. All in all beautifully well maintained and clean property!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meloney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The grounds of the hotel are well maintained. The only complaint her is that the resort is really spread out and it is quite a walk to get from place to place.

The disco bar is terrible. The first night we were there the staff was there and giving lap dances to the DJ. The music was also pretty bad. Some of these dancers that the hotel has hired are quite inappropriate. The wore little to nothing and spent their trip pawing at the married men in the hotel. During shows, the wardrobe had several "malfunctions".

This is not a hotel for a group of young people. Not much nightlife going on.

The beach is wonderful and you can snorkle right there. This was by far my favourite part of the trip.

The food/menu selection at the A la cartes is terrible. I am not a super picky person either. The snack bar and the buffet should be enough to get you through though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

First ever trip south, stayed at El Portillo. Awesome experience!! Food was really good, beach is amazing, snorkling is tremendous and so close to shore that even younger children can experience it just by sitting in the water close to shore! My husband and brother in law went diving many times with the dive shop on the beach attached to the resort and were blown away by their professionalism and safety standards! I would not hesitate to return to this resort!!
Don't miss out on a chance to purchase some awesome family photos too while on the beach. The girls and guys wearing the "Photo Staff" shirts take awesome random photos (Lucre was totally awesome with her shots) of people all over the beach and resort area and they are worthwhile checking out each day at the photo shop close to the front resort gate! Just bring cash with you for this as they unfortunately do not do Credit card or Debit! We did a family photo shoot and it was one of the most fun things on our whole trip and I hate having pix taken!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ShelleyP842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Terrenas
5.5 km away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
#6 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,770 reviews
31.6 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
31.3 km away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#3 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo

Property: Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
Address: Crta. las Terrenas - El Limon, km 4, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic (Formerly El Portillo Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Spa Hotel in Las Terrenas
#3 Family Hotel in Las Terrenas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price range (per night): $177 - $552
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 606
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 pools Jacuzzi Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, basketball court, volleyball net on the beach Water activity and scuba diving centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Main buffet restaurant and 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars Snack-bar Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, bars and disco. Rooms 582 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Club Golden Junior Suite, Junior Suite and Family Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Air conditioning Ceiling fan Terrace or balcony Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (with additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Ironing set (available on request) Superior Junior Suite: balcony or terrace, sitting area with sofa-bed, ironing set, coffee-making facilities, private guest service phone line, umbrella, VIP amenities. Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scout Water park Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Personalised diets on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe El Portillo Hotel Las Terrenas
El Portillo Beach Resort
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic - Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing