We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing week on Sao Miguel”
other travellers have booked this property
'Once a year, go someplace you´ve never been before' - Dalai Lama
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Once a year, go someplace you´ve never been before' - Dalai Lama
View of the property Hillside location with views of both ocean and mountains.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
'Once a year, go someplace you´ve never been before' - Dalai Lama
View of the property
Hillside location with views of both ocean and mountains.
Amazing  sunrises
Friendly  neighbors
Entrance
Front gate
Private entry road
Hostess Paloma
Paloma showing  off
Amazing Blue and Green contrasts
Pasture
Front of house
Front of house
View from side
Back of house facing ocean
Terrace
Terrace
Terrace
Night sky
Sunrise
View from terrace
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room
Living room
View from dining room
View from living room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom bathroom
Twin bed bedroom
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
Laundry
Barbecue
Barbecue
Garden. Pick your own vegetables
Chickens
Organic eggs
Hen with chicks
View from the house
Greeting Basket of Local Products
Welcome basket and cake
Hosts
Beach of Vila da Povoação (15min)
Beach of Lombo Gordo (15min)
Fajã do Calhau (10 min)
Parque Terra Nostra (30 min)
Hot Springs (30 min)
Salto do Prego Trail (10 min)
Sanguinho Trail (10 min)
Sanguinho Trail (10 min)
Sunrise Point (10min)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Agua Retorta, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
sazrahrn
Peoria IL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing week on Sao Miguel”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My spouse and I traveled with a couple we are good friends with. We stayed for 6 days at Quinto do Sanguinhal and enjoyed every minute of it! The house is spacious, clean, and well equipped. The location is breathtaking! Gorgeous views with no one else around. We bought groceries and used the enormous kitchen to make our own breakfast and dinner. Spent most days out touring the beautiful island. Luis and Rita were amazing hosts! Many thanks to Luis for all of the wonderful information about local agricultural customs. We all agreed we would certainly stay here again. This house felt like our home while we were there and we wouldn't have had such a lovely time had we stayed anywhere else.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyinghig...
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a magnificent place!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Wow, what a great few days we have had in Quinta do Sanguinhal! The house is very complete and has one of the best views of the whole island I dare to say. We received a warm welcome upon arrival which made us feel at home right away. Definitely a place to recommend to others, the house is on our 'we-might-return-here-once'-list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Completeness of the house
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Tieners
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas J
1 review
“Simply the Best!”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

All of the great accolades written in previous reviews are true and well warranted!!!

Thank you Helena for the effortless booking process and great communication, to Luis and Rita for your generosity and warm hospitality as hosts, and to your aunt and other citizens of Fagundas and Agua Retorta for inviting us to join you in your Holy Ghost Festival celebrations. Truly one of our most memorable vacations ever! My wife and son are all the more proud to be of Azorean descent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Azorean people, views and landscape
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehairla...
Caribou, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise is the word!!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The house is everything everyone has said. Large, immaculate, spectacular views, comfortable beds, very well equipped, with chickens to boot for fresh eggs everyday! You can't believe the views overlooking the ocean and hillsides, breathtaking. What we also enjoyed was the privacy this house has, it's at the end of the village road set off by itself. A 4wheel drive vehicle is highly recommended as the short gravel road into the house it a bit steep, although we did manage without, mostly parking in a lot nearby. Louis transported our luggage for us without hesitation. Speaking of Louis and Rita, they're terrific hosts who are willing to accommodate. And, take advantage of Rita's cooking - we did and had delicious fresh vegetables from her garden, a wonderful soup (I'm a vegetarian and she didn't hesitate to add it to our meal), along with roast, chicken, and fresh bread. For a very reasonable price you'll have more than enough for 2 meals. The local village nearby is quaint and the people are so friendly. We would visit the local store often and order fresh bread, the locals as well as all people we met in the Azores are just so nice and willing to accommodate. We hope to return someday! Don't hesitate on this house, it's worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stlouisbl...
st. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views of the Ocean”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Helena's father Luis and mother Rita met us at the house and gave us an introductory tour, very helpful. Rita greeted us with an orange cake with chocolate glaze. It was amazing and a wonderful treat. Thank you Rita! Luis was so gracious and he helped us get our luggage up to our car and helped us navigate our way out around the Easter procession.

My daughter, husband and my daughter's friend, stayed here for three days. The house is very spacious and open. The kitchen is wonderful. We are a family of cooks so the house was perfect for us to all cook together. We stopped outside of Agua Retorta to grocery shop before arriving at the house, as there are two small markets in town.

The views are amazing from sunrise to sunset. The walk to the orchard was so beautiful and the orchard was an interesting stop. You can continue on the path to the beach or into the city.

The set up of the dinning area and family room is so smart. It gives everyone space, yet they are together. Very pleasant stay at a beautiful home.

Thank you Helena, Luis and Rita for making our trip so memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The kitchen and the views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing