We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply the Best!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Agua Retorta, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Thomas J
1 review
“Simply the Best!”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

All of the great accolades written in previous reviews are true and well warranted!!!

Thank you Helena for the effortless booking process and great communication, to Luis and Rita for your generosity and warm hospitality as hosts, and to your aunt and other citizens of Fagundas and Agua Retorta for inviting us to join you in your Holy Ghost Festival celebrations. Truly one of our most memorable vacations ever! My wife and son are all the more proud to be of Azorean descent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Azorean people, views and landscape
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehairla...
Caribou, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise is the word!!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The house is everything everyone has said. Large, immaculate, spectacular views, comfortable beds, very well equipped, with chickens to boot for fresh eggs everyday! You can't believe the views overlooking the ocean and hillsides, breathtaking. What we also enjoyed was the privacy this house has, it's at the end of the village road set off by itself. A 4wheel drive vehicle is highly recommended as the short gravel road into the house it a bit steep, although we did manage without, mostly parking in a lot nearby. Louis transported our luggage for us without hesitation. Speaking of Louis and Rita, they're terrific hosts who are willing to accommodate. And, take advantage of Rita's cooking - we did and had delicious fresh vegetables from her garden, a wonderful soup (I'm a vegetarian and she didn't hesitate to add it to our meal), along with roast, chicken, and fresh bread. For a very reasonable price you'll have more than enough for 2 meals. The local village nearby is quaint and the people are so friendly. We would visit the local store often and order fresh bread, the locals as well as all people we met in the Azores are just so nice and willing to accommodate. We hope to return someday! Don't hesitate on this house, it's worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stlouisbl...
st. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views of the Ocean”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Helena's father Luis and mother Rita met us at the house and gave us an introductory tour, very helpful. Rita greeted us with an orange cake with chocolate glaze. It was amazing and a wonderful treat. Thank you Rita! Luis was so gracious and he helped us get our luggage up to our car and helped us navigate our way out around the Easter procession.

My daughter, husband and my daughter's friend, stayed here for three days. The house is very spacious and open. The kitchen is wonderful. We are a family of cooks so the house was perfect for us to all cook together. We stopped outside of Agua Retorta to grocery shop before arriving at the house, as there are two small markets in town.

The views are amazing from sunrise to sunset. The walk to the orchard was so beautiful and the orchard was an interesting stop. You can continue on the path to the beach or into the city.

The set up of the dinning area and family room is so smart. It gives everyone space, yet they are together. Very pleasant stay at a beautiful home.

Thank you Helena, Luis and Rita for making our trip so memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The kitchen and the views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable View!”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Quinta do Sanguinhal is a true paradise. My wife and I wanted to take one last big vacation before our child was born. I was happy we chose this place because it works well for everything. If you want rest pull a chair outside, read and watch the clouds fly by. Furnas and the delightful hot springs are under a half hour away. A larger town to grab dinner with a bigger market is a mere 15 minutes away. There is a challenging trail right off the road. You can do what you want! Agua Retorta is peaceful and everyone we spoke to were friendly and helpful.

The house itself has everything you need. A fireplace to get roaring, a washer and dryer (you will get rained on in the Azores) and full kitchen. All the amenities work well and the house is incredibly clean. It has three great bedrooms and 3 bathrooms with a shower and tub. The farm animals are everywhere but they won't bother you! Its great to walk outside and hear the goats and cows talking to each other in the morning.

Luis and Rita are amazing hosts. Luis knows the island and its history so well. Rita bakes and cooks better than anyone on the island. Their cottage by the ocean or orchard are beautiful spots to check out. If you need a recommendation for something to do Luis has great ideas. Try some of their wine if available. Its delightful!

I highly recommend staying here for any type of vacation. Seems to be very child friendly and supports active or relaxing lifestyles. Wifi worked!

The view is unforgettable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and hospitality
Liked least: A little chilly at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise on the sea”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There is paradise on earth: Quinta do Sanguinhal. My husband and I stayed here for a delightful 4-day stay and we loved every minute of it. The house is spacious and well designed with a comfy bed in the master suite, spacious bathrooms, and a great washer and dryer that we used to clean our hiking clothes. There is a nearby garden, a patio on which to grill, and an outdoor seating area that overlooks the ocean with a hammock nearby.

While the property--and the town of Agua Retorta--are delightful, what makes this place so special are Luis and Rita, your hosts who live up the road. (the home belongs to their daughter) Luis is a Renaissance man who with his delightful wife, Rita, run an organic "hobby" farm from which they share vegetables, fruits, eggs, and other goods. Rita greats you at the home with my favorite way to say "Hello!"--a fresh baked good made from produce in season. The highlight of our trip was the time we got to spend with Rita and Luis learning more about the Azores, their passions, their family, and the island's traditions. We loved Rita's cooking and Luis's tour of "paradise" (his farm closer to the ocean) was something we will always remember.

If you book this spot take a moment to read the guest book signed by other visitors, there are great tips and suggestions for activities to do on the island. We hiked every day and Luis is INCREDIBLY knowledgeable about hiking on the island as he helped develop all of the trails.

We can't wait to return to this wonderful home and delightful family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 137
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing