We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find somewhere else!”
Review of Heath Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heath Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marston Green
Reviewed 13 May 2017

My guess is that 'recent refurbishments' mentioned int he descrition are at least ten years old.

The welcome... Hmm. Cold and uninviting.

Kitchen closes at 8PM and you need to order food from reception during check-in. My advice is to get back in the car and go elsewhere.

Our room (room 4) was tiny and in poor condition. The bed was too small to call a double and the mattress had a large indentation in the middle.

You'll need gymnastic skills to be able to use the toilet..

The cold setting of the basin tap is useless.

the morning surprise... Lather-up under the shower and the water will simply stop running, after becoming scalding. You will then need to complete your ablutions in the basin!

Breakfast... Another sorry story. The only good part was the lady that worked the breakfast room seemed really nice, but the food was awful.

I originally booked for two nights and left after the first.

When I raised the issue of the shower with the man on reception, I was told that they had never had another complaint... Well, read the reviews to see that this is untrue.

I did get a refund for the second night and went to the Holiday Inn Express in Castle Bromwich... an altogether much better experience and only a few miles farther from the N.E.C.

My advice is that Tripadvisor has many other hotels in the area... choose one of those!


눇The only good thing about this hotel is its relative location to the N.E.C.

Room Tip: If you must stay here avoid room 4, though I doubt the others are any better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed whilst at the Nec for two days. Great location handy for the Nec , onsite parking, very clean , staff were welcoming , breakfast was very good, choice of things to Was fine and cooked breakfast wAs good.
Overall great value for money

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank caddymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

no welcome, no interest, pay as soon as you get there. no information in rooms no response from reception if you call. no one around reception shut up tight . cannot understand how the AA gave them 2 stars-its like faulty towers training centre !!!
only one member of staff was pleasant on the sunday morning. very poor choice of breakfast items ,no mention of evening meals. sink plug did not keep water in damp and cracked ceiling in very tiny bathroom, damaged hairdryer in room and a non working one on the wall.no blinds or nets at window which over look road and the rooms of the next property room was clean but no loo roll left to replace the little bit on the roll in the bathroom. telly mounted right up high on the wall so made it difficult to see any writing.if you look in the conservatory dead flies in the folds of the drapes must have been there a while!!! tried communicating with them before staying but no response from emails or telephone calls-even the booking people did not get a quick response! the shower was very small ,just managed to get in and out. this is not a place l would wish to stay at or recommend!!!

Room Tip: dont stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 264grahamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

A colleague and I stayed here whilst attending a conference at the NEC. Not only did the whole place smell like a hospital, but there was no hot water at all, and we spent so long trying to get it working we had to miss breakfast. We were almost late for our conference, and unshowered. The man behind the desk seemed completely uninterested, and communication with the owners afterwards was patchy at best.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 134reviewer2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Stayed Saturday, 18/02/2017 for a local Wedding. Plus point, there is plenty of car parking available. On arrival, we were asked to pay £69.00 immediately, without even seeing the room which I think is unacceptable but husband went ahead and paid it. Now this said, we had already read reviews so we were half prepared for disappointment. We stayed in room 8 on the first floor. - this is a twin bedroom- which can only be described as tiny with the smallest shower room I have ever come across it felt very cramped. Not really fit to be a twin it should be a small single room and the cost should reflect is poor quality, I wouldn't and shouldn't have paid more than a fair price of £55.00. Breakfast, again, adequate. I really would look for an alternative accommodation if you don't want the feeling that you have been "ripped off". I write a few reviews and always do give my honest opinion- you have been warned for room 8 - go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Definitely not Room 8 (twin room) on first floor not fit for purpose should be a Single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston Green
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
2.8 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
6.7 km away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
2 km away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
1,983 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heath Lodge

Address: 117 Coleshill Road, Marston Green, Solihull B37 7HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Marston Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marston Green
Price Range: $102 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heath Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heath Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing