We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning Villa, Gorgeous beach, Lots of Activities”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Soliman Bay, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
reneemedg...
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Stunning Villa, Gorgeous beach, Lots of Activities”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This trip was absolutely fantastic. It was everything you want for a beach getaway. the staff was incredible, and the house was furnished as if it was a 5 star resort. It was perfect for a big group (we had 11 people) because the house was sectioned off into 3 different living areas (complete with two kitchens).

The house comes stocked with snorkel gear, kayaks, and a paddle board, so there were always activities to do. There is THE BEST lunch place at the other end of the cove (a 15 minute walk), and a 5 star boutique hotel on the other side- needless to say, there are a few options for lunch/dinner/spa/massages within a 10 minute walk from the house.

The house is a quick cab ride from the actual town of Tulum, but this house was perfect if you want to relax and lounge by day, and go into town at night.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerowack
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise on Soliman Bay”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Everything was great about our stay at Villa Soliman. The house and service was extremely well run and professional. Max was great to work with as well. Our chef was amazing and wowed us with meals the entire week. This is the best place to stay in Soliman Bay and we'll be coming back, no doubt!!!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryszard W
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommended! It was my first rental and I was a bit worried about it. But this place provide the 5 stars service: daily maid service, full security, everything you can find in the high-class hotel and much more. The place is idyllic, just on the beach of calm waters of the Soliman Bay. The bay is practically a reef, you can snorkel there watching fish, turtles, lobsters, crabs, snails. The sea bottom is full of beautiful shells, too bad you cannot take it home. There is snorkeling equipment available for free, as well as four kayaks and a board. House is located close to the boutique hotel Jashita and surrounded by small individual houses. So beach is practically private with just few neighbors – something quite unique in crowded Yucatan. Villa provides a lot of space. It is ideal for two families travelling together (separate entrances) or one big family. Each room has its own bathroom and a terrace. Simple, but elegant furniture make it very comfortable and relaxing.
Tulum has ideal location to explore the peninsula. Such attractive destinations as Tulum ruins, Coba, Sian Ka’an, Akumal Turtle playa, many famous cenotes, water park – are located nearby. Tulum itself is a great place to visit – without big hotels and cruise port, rather for backpacking tourists and locals.
Max is a perfect host, able to arrange everything for you. He assisted us in arranging few fishing trips and horse riding. But he is able and willing to do much more.
Few tips. Meals: Max can arrange a chef for the stay. Chef Antonio for a reasonable price provided such a good service, that we didn’t want to dine outside at all! Eating and drinking directly on your own beach is something you cannot find easily. I strongly recommend him. Transportation: we rented a car for the entire stay, which is a convenient solution. But you can easily ask to be picked up from the airport and use transportation provided by Max (or local taxis) to go around. Be prepared for the mariachi-style welcome at the property, the gardener does the job with enthusiasm.
In summary, it is a paradise even for the most demanding travelers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UsiK88
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Villa , Spectacular Energy”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Despite rating 5 stars for everything as a "cliché" I could not bring myself to rate any less!

Villa Soliman is nestled in the stunning Soliman Bay just 20 minutes from Tulum's strip.

The Bay is EXTREMELY private and the villa sits directly on the beach just 10 steps away.

The owner Max is incredibly hospitable and the villa has 2 permanent staff who live in an annexe building. They are a lovely couple and are subsidised by extra cleaning staff daily.

The villa itself is gorgeous, with delightful pool outside & modern and clean furnishings throughout whilst maintaining local interior. Spacious rooms and luxurious bathrooms. A breathtaking roof deck for afternoon sun after the morning on the beach. Gorgeous living and dining spaces ideal for families / groups / or even couples who have the option to entertain.

Soliman Bay benefits from very little wind compared to Tulum hotels and our stay was absolutely blissful.

For catering, the kitchen(s) <-- yes there are two! Are perfectly equipped but we tended to take the 2-3 minute walk daily to Jashita Hotel where the restaurant was fantastic!

The privacy of the beach was incredibly special and plenty of loungers as well as kayaks etc... for anyone looking to venture into the sea.

Security: When travelling to Mexico one concern may be security and I can assure you another wonderful highlight was the feeling of safety , supported by guarded entrance to the area , whilst not threatening at any point. Really perfect for anyone with doubts!

Tulum - an amazing place with energy is only a short taxi ride away for nice evening meals in lovely restaurants.

The villa owner Max is Italian and was available on-call for our needs and the perfect gentleman.

I could continue writing about this perfect place but would instead urge you to find out for yourself.

I really can't wait to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OleMissDa...
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Thanksgiving in Paradise”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is our second Thanksgiving at Soliman Bay and so glad we chose Villa Soliman as our option on this trip. Max and his staff accommodated our every need, including finding a way to provide extra kayaks for our large group and visiting us often to check in and insure we were happy and address any unsatisfied need (which there were few). Our group includes four couples with children (ages range from 5 to 12) and one college student, and all of us found this location and villa very enjoyable and memorable. We feel safe at Soliman Bay, and the reef protected bay is beautiful and safe for our family to enjoy a casual swim, snorkeling or kayaking in the bay and out to the accessible reef.

What we liked...great, large, clean beach area; perfect sized pool (tile finish- very nice); pool area separated by lush palms from beach yet water visible from rear covered patio; all bedrooms with private bathrooms, private patios & views of bay; wood lounge/beach furniture; clean, nicely finished rooms; gated parking area for our rental car; location closer to northern side of bay (less occasional seaweed); wonderful views from the top floor observation deck and bedrooms; and friendly/accommodating on site staff (Mariachi and Liliana).

This is a protected reef bay, so do not expect large waves, but this is part of the beauty of this location. You can hear them hitting the reef, but also have the calm waters of a clear bay. On our stay, we had one extraordinary day of seaweed on the beach. A call to Max brought in extra help for Mariachi to clear it. A late night storm cleared it all the next day. I would advise bringing swim shoes as the beach is natural grass bottom with occasional shell and the conch. The beach is an awesome, clean, white sand. The area is dominated by villas, so not a great deal of tourist activity. One small, boutique hotel at one end of the beach. All combines to provide a relatively quiet, special location.

Highly recommend the restaurant at the hotel, as the food was excellent. Also, there is an open air restaurant at the southern side of the bay that serves fresh ceviche, lobster, shrimp and fried/whole fish. Simply outstanding, very casual dining right on the beach and under lots of palms.

We rent one car that we use for the occasional grocery shopping expedition to Tulum, and use tour vans to transport the rest of our group. Sams is located in Playa, where we purchase the bulk groceries, but there are two markets in Tulum and several fresh fruit open air markets worth visiting and purchasing from. Ice is a premium, so plan on purchasing and storing in the two freezers on site. We had chefs for three days and a bartender for four; arranged thru Villa Lux. They were very good, but would also recommend working directly with Max on his options. The chef will shop on your behalf, but access to the markets in Tulum is very good and safe and you can control your costs by purchasing many of your items yourself with a list provided by the chef.

The only critical comments would be the size of the kitchen and the living room. The kitchen lacks an oven and the cooktop is a four burner glass top. It was adequate, but tight quarters if you like to cook family meals. There is a separate kitchen and living/dining area on the third floor and we used it occasionally to expand our cooking and enjoyed a couple of meals on this level given the view. We have 13 in our group, so all of us sitting in one area after dinner or for our meals was a little tight. Really, little to nothing negative. Wonderful villa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff, clear water, casual/special vacation experience
Liked least: Size of kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing