We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in Soliman Bay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa and the pool facing the private beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The Villa and the pool facing the private beach
The pool facing the beach
The beach
The Fisherman's Bar
MISTRAL The dining room
MISTRAL The living room
Mistral: the living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Soliman Bay, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Blizzard7...
Wylie, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise in Soliman Bay!”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We love the beach house it has three separate living areas so it will accommodate many people. We had 11 people so there was plenty of room. Every room has A/C and a private bathroom. We wanted to get away from the resorts and this was quiet place in middle of Soliman Bay. The is bay beautiful and all the gear you need for snorkeling, kayaking and paddle boarding are there at the house and there are pools if you don’t like the ocean. We enjoyed snorkeling around the reef at the mouth of the bay. We saw a lot of difference fish and few sea turtles. We loved chefs "Rolando & Jorge" and the meals were great, they take great pride cooking for you! There is a nice restaurant and small place on the beach to eat that you can walk to, we enjoyed both of them. The caretakers "Ricardo & Suzy" were always great and ready to help and they kept house, grounds and beach looking great. Gina the concierge was great with coordinating transportation, excursions and had plenty of info about the area. We rented a large 15 person van from the airport to get around. If you don’t plan on doing much I would suggest using USA transfer to get you to and from the airport it cost $150. The beach house is about 15 min. from Tulum for shopping and ruins and 45 min. from Playa De Carmen. We visited the Coba ruins about 45 min. away which were great and you can still climb Nohoch Mul the tallest pyramid in the Yucatan . If you need groceries or alcohol go to San Francisco de Asís supermarket in Tulum its 12 min. away, better and closer than going to Walmart, it also has ATM which was nice for getting pesos. The locals prefer pesos over the dollar and you do not have to worry about the exchange rate and checking prices. We would diffidently rent it again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: We had leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cubfaninc...
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
1,129 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Best location for a family vacation...”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We took our family here for a week vacation in January and everything about the experience was wonderful. We have a blended family and took the whole house. The fact that the house is divided into 3 separate areas was a great plus. Divided enough to give some privacy...but together enough for spending time together. The house itself is even better than the pictures. There is always that fear of "will it look like the pictures?" when you rent a house based just on pictures. Don't worry! It's better. The location for us was perfect. We had a van so we could get around. It's location on the beach was so secluded that it almost felt like a private beach...we rarely saw people walk by....and that beach was wonderful and supplied with everything that you needed to have a great time. If you want to eat at a restaurant, there are two within walking distance. One on the beach with plastic chairs that closes before dark and another in a hotel on the beach a short walk away. The cooks are so good that you don't have to ever go to a restaurant. We loved the food and the cooks were very accommodating. (My only suggestion with the cooks is pay for the supplies in peso's. They don't give a good exchange rate if you use $.) We used Laura to set up several outings for us including scuba diving, a band to play for a party and some sight seeing. Again, she was great making sure that everything went perfectly. There is nothing that we would have wished to be different other than being able to stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach
Liked least: TV didn't work properly
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best family vacation to date!”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We just got back and already planning to go back next year. Everything was amazing about this place. The location, the back yard to the private beach, the amazing chefs and staff. About the week we only venture out twice and only ate out once. You get everything just at the house. You get the beach, the pool and amazing food.

I would recommend this house to any one looking for a relaxin vacation with their family.

We also felt so secure and safe. No worries what so ever!

Did i mention the food was amazing!! :)

And the pictures don't lie, it is as amazing and the pictures show. Which was a first for us.

Laura is amazing so helpful too. We are in love!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling so relax and secure. Also the FOOD!!
Liked least: Really can't think of one.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
Wow! Thank you very much et à bientôt.
Loïc
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nubster80
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The house itself is AMAZING! The pictures definitely don't do it justice at all. Everything is very well kept and we felt right at home. We had 15 people in our group, no kids. We had my wedding here at the house and it was amazing... I can't wait to see the pictures!
Rolando & Jorge-- the Chefs were amazing. Very flexible on the dietary restrictions that we had in the group. (You must try their Cheese Pie!) Alejandra & Miguel-- the caretakers were always ready to help and kept everything looking clean. Laura-- the concierge was great with communication before and during the trip. She was very helpful getting our group coordinated and with tips for the area.
I would recommend renting a vehicle, it was easy for us to go to town for shopping and for any last minute items-- beware the road is bumpy.
The only thing that we would change would be the dog on the premises. We aren't dog people, but he pretty much stayed away.
Hopefully we can return soon... it was very sad to leave such a beautiful place! TIP: Do some star watching-- we saw a ton of shooting stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food!!!
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ha15
Paraguay
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Sombras del Viento is an excellent place to stay in, very spacious house, beautiful pool, excellent service of the chefs Rolando and Jorge, and Laura, the concierge.
It is set in a tranquil closed gate community, in a beautiful bay where you can do snorkeling if you use the kayacs available at the house.
The house is very well equipped, with a nice mexican decor.
The only bad point would be the seaweed, which was a lot and made the water not pristine near the beach.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing