We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa and the pool facing the private beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The Villa and the pool facing the private beach
The pool facing the beach
The beach
The Fisherman's Bar
MISTRAL The dining room
MISTRAL The living room
Mistral: the living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Soliman Bay, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ha15
Paraguay
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Sombras del Viento is an excellent place to stay in, very spacious house, beautiful pool, excellent service of the chefs Rolando and Jorge, and Laura, the concierge.
It is set in a tranquil closed gate community, in a beautiful bay where you can do snorkeling if you use the kayacs available at the house.
The house is very well equipped, with a nice mexican decor.
The only bad point would be the seaweed, which was a lot and made the water not pristine near the beach.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomatolor...
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a wonderful vacation destination!”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From booking to saying goodbye, the entire experience was nothing short of amazing. We were a larger group of 9 adults and 6 children and still had plenty of space and extra bedrooms.

Booking was easy as Loic is quick to communicate and extremely accommodating. Concierge Laura couldn't have been friendlier and helpful. She made sure we had transport to and from the airport and any quickly responded anytime we needed anything. From excursions to scheduling a doctor's visit, she made us her #1 priority.

The staff are incredible. Jorge and Rolando, the chefs, cook 3 meals per day (except Sunday's) and they're all amazing. If you go, request shrimp tacos and have them make their cold shrimp salad. Wow. Fresh fish veracruz, Mole, Quevos Rancheros....everything is awesome. They always prepare kid friendly dishes too for the young ones. They'll go shopping for you daily so you never run out of cold beer or tequila!

Alajandra and Miguel take care of the place and live on site in a separate house on the property. They make sure the rooms are cleaned up and the beach is cleaned everyday. They're wonderful people and so nice. They have two dogs, Chili and Blackie - which my kids thought were the coolest little perros!

The house is the real star however. Its perfect. 3 separate houses combined to make one giant house. 2 pools - with 1 of them being more in the shade while the other gets full sun. Plenty of snorkel equipment is available to hit the reef up. the bay itself is about waste deep water out to 200 feet...then it gradually gets deeper out to the reef. Note, this year had a lot of seaweed bloom - but that's everywhere up and down the coast. Its worse then previous years - but we were there for 11 days and it cleared up for about 4 days in the middle of the stay which lead to beautiful blue waters.

Every room has AC, which is a must as it gets fairly hot. Make sure to bring bug spray as the mosquitos are fairly heavy between 7p and 9p.

I can't recommend this place more and I have no doubt we'll be staying there again at some point.

Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pools, beach and main deck and the chefs.
Liked least: My only criticism would be weak wi-fi and mother nature bringing in all that seaweed.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luttvish
Halmstad, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A true paradise with excellent service”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This place has it all. Two luxorious pools, lots of places to relax, wonderful snorkling with turtles and friendly staff. We are particulary pleased with the chefs that were really flexible and professional in satisfying all our needs.

We stayed here for a total of three weeks. One of the weeks we were 24 people (11 children and 13 adults) staying at the villa. This was maybe a few too many, but the staff was really helpful in finding ways to find a bed for all of us. The chefs could handle all meals for us with ease and we all dined at the same table!

The beach is really nice, but quite stony and there are some sea weed in the shore that you will need to pass to get to the water that you can swim in. For a real carribean beach experience, Tulum is just a 15 minutes drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, snorkeling, home decorations
Liked least: The sea weed at the beach
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalkyPrag...
Prague
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A great and wonderful site! A great place for a family reunion or for a group of friends.
Although we never met the owners, we communicated quite often and established a trustworthy relationship. Loic, was extremely flexible, Laura (the concierge) made sure we had everything we needed. A real facilitator, she went out of her way to arrange for a baby car seat at the last moment. We advise to use her services, particularly to be picked up at the airport on your arrival - George and Rafael...great chefs! Always smiling and quite flexible as well with meal time. We stayed nine days, and wished we had booked for two weeks. Beautiful villa and beautiful people.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklagal23
Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful home in paradise”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our stay! It is on an uncrowded, tranquil bay. There is a reef that you are able to kayak or swim out to for snorkeling. The house itself is beautiful, well maintained. The caretakers are friendly and do a wonderful job keeping the property looking great. We stayed in the one bedroom apartment as it was just my husband and I. We walked along the bay many times and this property has one of the best, if not the best, beach front locations of any other property on the bay. It is very central, if you go much further south the beach entry gets pretty rocky. We loved Chamico's, a rustic outdoor restaurant a short walk down the bay. We would definitely return, hopefully we can bring friends and family with us next time! It would be a wonderful to rent the entire home. Be prepared to drive if you want to leave the property (unless you want to call a taxi, which you could do). We had no problems with our rental car or driving in Mexico!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: LOCATION! Porch, pool, beach.
Liked least: poor road conditions
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 1,200
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing