We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Arrowtown Bike Hire
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 54.55*
and up
Half-Day Self-Guided Ride and Wine Bike Tour from...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Arrowtown Bike Hire is located in the beautiful alpine village of Arrowtown, and provides mountain bike hire for recreational riders who wish to explore the historic town or ride the local trails. With a range of wilderness trails suitable for all skill and fitness levels, riders can cross the famous Kawarau Bungy Bridge pedal past vineyards along the new Queenstown Trail.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We rented 6 bikes to ride the Gibbston Valley with shuttle pickup. I really can’t fault these guys: excellent bikes- we chose comfort bikes which were very good. Pickup was on time. The trail was superb- very scenic. Gibbston valley winery was a little too commercialised for us. Loved Peregrine. We had an ordinary lunch at the tavern. My advice is to go further on to the beautifully picturesque Waitiri Creek winery.

Thank ScoutGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abante, Manager at Arrowtown Bike Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thanks ScoutGoldCoast for your review. Can you tell us who looked after you at Arrowtown Bike Hire? So we can give them a pay rise! Hope you can join us again sometime soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gibbston valley winery"
in 19 reviews
"great service"
in 15 reviews
"bungy jump"
in 10 reviews
"the river"
in 30 reviews
"great ride"
in 12 reviews
"aj hackett bungy"
in 8 reviews
"great family fun"
in 3 reviews
"stunning scenery"
in 9 reviews
"in great condition"
in 8 reviews
"scenic ride"
in 4 reviews
"these guys"
in 9 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 6 reviews
"kawarau bridge"
in 5 reviews
"spend half a day"
in 3 reviews
"chard farm"
in 3 reviews
"off road"
in 3 reviews
"arrow town"
in 4 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We had a chance to ride bikes around arrowtown and into the surrounding wilderness. Their mountain bikes are top notch and practically brand new. They had smaller bikes for our eight year old. We really enjoyed the flexibility of exploring the surroundings since we were in town for a couple of days.

Thank nzhuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abante, Manager at Arrowtown Bike Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for the awesome review! The catch phrase for Arrowtown is 'Where History Meets Nature". And yes a bike is perfect for getting into the nature that surrounds us. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We hired bikes from Arrowtown to take the 5 bridges bike trail. Its about 1-1/2 to 2 hours to the bungy jump bridge (depending how often you stop for photos and the beautiful scenery). Im sure it’s a fairly easy ride for regular cyclists, but we don’t bike much so we were pretty sore on the return ride. Still had a great time. Arrowtown bikes made getting the bikes easy, provided a map, and they were sure to remind us that the brakes were opposite of our equipment in the US. Would definitely return again.

Thank amy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abante, Manager at Arrowtown Bike Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thanks team, I think your comments are spot on. Yes we are the only local company that puts stickers on our bikes identifying what is the front brake. As readers may not be aware, here in New Zealand we drive on the left hand side of the road, so our bicycles have the front brake lever on the right. Don't ask me why but this is the reverse of many right hand (side of the road) drive countries. Your safety is paramount to us so if we can do something as simple as putting stickers on bikes then we will do it! Happy Trails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We enjoyed a scenic ride around Lake Hayes, the Twin Rivers route and back along the Arrow River with a well deserved lunch at Gibbston Valley Cheesery. 45.7 km in all. The Avanti mountain bikes were comfortable. They must have a hard life, but they are well maintained except mine needed a rear derailleur adjustment as it was jumping gears. We had a little trouble finding the start of the trail as the supplied map lacks detail. We also got lost at Lake Hayes Estate due to a lack of signs. Other than that, the trail is well defined and it is a terrific ride. Be warned - there are two big hills along the Kararau River between Billie's Bridge and the tunnel. The reward are the downhill runs and the beautiful scenery. Arrowtown is not as busy as Queenstown and an ideal place for a bike ride.

Thank Hillingdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abante, Manager at Arrowtown Bike Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you Hillingdale for your honest review. Yes the bikes have had a busy season so we are looking forward to our new ones arriving soon! You did a BIG ride and when we discuss the trails with clients we do not advise riding the route these guys took unless you are a regular rider. Remember you are on holiday so the bike ride is about the journey and sightseeing, you don't have to make it hard work unless you want too. Keep those cranks turning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Husband, 18 yo son and I rode the bridges trail and the Gibbston wine trails and had the most amazing time. Weather was sunny and views were stunning all along the route. It was Good Friday so our planned stop at Gibbston Winery did not happen as it was closed but continued on to Kinross which had wonderful food and wine and the views between Gibbston Winery and Kinroos were some of the most spectacular so we were glad we continued on. Arrowtown Bike Hire picked us up in their at the winery for an additional fee of 50NZ for three people. We were glad to have the ride back!

Thank VirginiaFamilyOfFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abante, Manager at Arrowtown Bike Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thanks Team for choosing to get your bike from Arrowtown Bike Hire. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arrowtown Bike Hire also viewed

Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 
Arrowtown, Otago Region
Arrowtown, Otago Region
 

Been to Arrowtown Bike Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing