We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service from the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Buenaventura Golf & Beach Resort Panama, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Hato
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2011

My family (wife and young daughter) and I just returned to the states after a really nice stay at the Bristol B in Farallon. I must say that we were intially concerned by some of the negative posts that we read on Tripadvisor prior to our stay. Let me say that our stay could not have been better and that the customer service we received from the staff was outstanding. The hotel has a new general manager from the states and he checked in with us on a number of occasions to see how our stay was going and to see if we needed anything. The hotel's concierge (Alfredo) and (Benny) at the front desk helped arrange all of our travel logistics from Panama City to the hotel and 2 day trips to destinations in the country. We also really enjoyed meeting Nicolas ( the manager of food services) who allowed our young daughter to make her own pizza at one of the restaurants by the pool. He also checked in with us a number of times to make sure that we were happy with the food and service during meals. In conclusion, we had a relaxing trip and we would absolutely consider returning to the Bristol in the future. I think it is important to keep in mind that Panama is a newly emerging destination for tourism and that the Bristol is well on its way to being a premier destination in Central America.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will42_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_Hotels, Manager at The Buenaventura Golf & Beach Resort Panama, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

Will42_11,

Thank you for choosing Bristol Buenaventura!

We are ecstatic that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves in service excellence and strive for continued success.

Please let us know how we may further assist you and look forward to sharing more memories together!

Regards,

Bristol Buenaventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 515 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2011

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are exquisitely clean, the service is excellent and the staff couldn't be more helpful. My only complaint is that there's only one restaurant (other than a pizza hut), the menu is limited and the food is mediocre yet expensive. Good restaurants in the area are a long distance away so you're fairly dependent on this one restaurant for all meals - other than poolside or beachside lunch service. I wish they would incorporate another, more casual place to eat and improve their menu.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heven75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_Hotels, Manager at The Buenaventura Golf & Beach Resort Panama, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

heven75,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments and concerns.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am also thrilled to announce that we have recently acquired a new Executive Chef who will be implementing a new menu and specials, so change is coming soon.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions or concerns and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

With kindest regards,

Bristol Buenaventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We would love to have given this hotel a 5 star rating after our very relaxing stay there but there were some drawbacks. You really must have a car unless you want to stay in the hotel all the time. Taxis have to be called for and quoted charges of $30 or more for a short trip to a restaurant on the main highway or to the next resort are scandalous. We spoke to Benny at the desk about this and he very kindly and efficiently arranged for a driver to take us out into the hills for a day at a reasonable price, and he even phoned ahead and made a lunch booking for us.
The eating arrangements were another problem as there is only one restaurant to eat in during the evening and this is expensive and the menu does not seem to change. There is an outside Italian restaurant but this, perversely, shuts at 20.00 weekdays.. There is a deli but that is also shut at night. The hotel badly needs a coffee shop that does light meals in the evening.
During the week we found space under the umbrellas by the infinity pool at the beach but at the weekend it gets very busy and all the shade goes very early
Our room was kept very clean and we had a great view out over the over the villas to the sea. Staff were friendly and there was very useful free internet access in the business centre. The choice of food at breakfast was great and the service excellent.
Some management attention to the points raised above would make this a really great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mungoandmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_Hotels, Manager at The Buenaventura Golf & Beach Resort Panama, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

mungoandmaria,

Thank you for staying with us at Bristol Buenaventura!

We greatly appreciate your feedback. The resort is quite remote but there are plans for change and your concerns will definitely be taken into consideration in order to exceed guest's expectations.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Bristol Buenaventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This is a property with great potential that doesn't live up to expectations. It is in a beautiful location on the Pacific Coast but somewhat isolated. There is ongoing development that will help to give guests more options and restaurants in the local area. A car however is strongly recommended at this point. When we arrived we were given a room overlooking the parking lot when we had confirmed an ocean view. This was resolved and we were moved to an ocean view as we confirmed but were told we would be charged a higher rate. After digging out our confirmation the hotel backed off that position and we were charged our original rate as confirmed. This is a small hotel and when our room was moved we were also told that because of a large wedding over the next four days that some things namely restaurants would not be available. Unfortunately this limited us to one main restaurant for every dinner with a limited menu which was consistently the same. Also it was an outdoor restaurant which included a healthy didn't of mosquitos daily during dining. While the hotel says they have 24 hour room service we called for one hour before they answered and then it took an hour to get what we ordered with items missing. Our room did not have wireless Internet which required us to go to the lobby to access the net and get email. The property could have been cleaner especially in the common areas. There were spills in the halls and on the stairs that were not cleaned for several days. The rooms were basically clean but could have used a deep cleaning. Twice daily maid service was a plus. The hotel staff especially the front desk staff and the restaurants tries hard to please
and for the most part a made an effort. The manager was aware of our dissatisfaction and at least introduced himself to us but did little to resolve our issues. If you book it, make sure there is not a big event scheduled.
His hotel make absolutely sure there is not a large group booked at the same time because as an individual guest your needs will be last on the list. Great potential but they need to get their act together.


To the credit of the manager they did at least show his face and apologized but in all honesty did nothing to resolve our dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BABH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

There were ants in the room. Ants all over the night table. On New Year's eve there was no room-service, and only one ($80) choice of food. There were no other dining options. The $80 meal included one tiny lobster which in FLA would be an illegal catch. For the end of the year one couldn't book for any less than 3 nights at almost $500 a night, pre-paid. On January 1, 2 and 3 many of the items on the menu were not available. On 3 room-service deliveries, the pepper shaker was empty, and the salt humid to the consistency of a block. The lamp on the night table had a heavy layer of duct. The crystal door on the shower made a frightening cracking sound as if it was about to brake in little pieces shattered glass. In four days, there were never enough lounge chairs at the beach pool, El Faro. The presence of what very evidently were prostitutes were sorely noticed at El Faro. Not the best experience for a holiday, much less for the money charged.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsachs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Hato
2.7 km away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
12.9 km away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort
30.8 km away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
5.7 km away
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas
38.3 km away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buenaventura Golf & Beach Resort Panama, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buenaventura Golf & Beach Resort Panama, Autograph Collection

Address: 340 Calle 3ra | Buenaventura, Rio Hato, Panama (Formerly JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort)
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > Rio Hato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Hato
Price Range: $228 - $1,444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Buenaventura Golf & Beach Resort Panama, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Pacific coast of Panama, The BuenaventuraHotel is a luxury destination resort member of Autograph Collection. The resort sits on 1,000 acres of natural splendor, nestled between rivers, lakes, lush vegetation, and pristine beaches. Blending old world glamour and tropical elegance, the resort is reminiscent of a Spanish hacienda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC and Cancelon so you can book your The Buenaventura Golf & Beach Resort Panama, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Buenaventura Hotel Farallon
Bristol Bueneventura Santa Clara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing