We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
132
83
20
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
132
83
20
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner eco lodge tuk tuk horton plains train station sri lanka world's end stunning views packed breakfast next morning tea estate early morning approach road horton place southern coast chicken curry above sea level
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

This is a nearly magical place! You are far away from any trafic, overlooking Southern Sri Lanks, and can watch the sun and clouds playing against each other changing the light by every minute. The nice team welcomes you with a tee and you immediately slow down and just enjoy the moment.
But you need this peaceful moment to recover from a very rough road the last kilometers. Prepare your driver - and always come at day light!

Room tip: The "sea view" is theoretical. You need an absolute clear sky.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brebra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We traveled in April 2017 with bunch of 13 friends and booked the whole bungalow. This place is truly a paradise with amazing views of the mountains and fields. The room upstairs is the best with the best view, the other rooms were very clean and simple.

It is about a 15-20 minute drive from the Ohiya railway station and the owner had already arranged a couple of tuk tuks. If you are traveling by car be cautious as the road is very narrow and needs a car with much higher ground clearance.
The stay was amazing and beyond our expectations and the place was full of flowers and greenery. We traveled to Devils stair case and back in the morning.

Special thanks to Mr. Gamini and Nuwan for their outstanding service and tasty meals.
Please note its hard to get reception and they have a phone which we can use. Make sure you take all necessary food/items since the nearest town is quite far away but Gamini managed to bring us some items we needed when he headed out to the town.

Will highly recommend this place and definitely will be going back again soon!!

Room tip: Room on the top has the best view
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upekha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Do read other reviews. Gem, paradise, oasis, a trekkers paradise.
Yes the road isn't great, but this adds to its location and charm.
The owner Eomal should be congratulated for developing this place.
This is not a luxury hotel, but its friendliness and location are tops. Meals were very good and always served with a smile. Packed breakfast provided for 05.30 start for World's End !!
Our room had a magnificent view across the valley.

Room tip: Front room in new building
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

From my this year vacation i spend one night in this beautiful place.. & im really happy to say that i really really enjoy the time i spend there.. hotel located top of the mountain.. and thats the major thing that i like this hotel..
And also mr. Janaka he was the one who prepared our foods & we really enjoyed it..
Thank you so very much for everyone there for make my vacation very successful..

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank rmmc2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2017

One of the highlights of our trip was staying here. We did a 24km walk from the lodge to the falls which was sensational! Across mountains, through tea plantations and villages, saying hi to lovely friedndly locals- we didn't pass another tourist until we got to the falls! Amazing scenery. Left at 6:30am and caught bus and train back to lodge (we are in our mid fourties with medium fitness- bit stiff the next day but so worth it!) Found Horton Plains let down after this as it is packed with groups of tourists without the constant scenery of this walk. Staff friendly and helpful. Owner has obvious passion for the region and nature and was a delight to talk with. He will explain walks to you. Dinners were sensational. Tea was lovely. We were in superior room on ground floor for two nights which was clean and simple, good size, had hot water, warm blankets and nice view. View from this lodge is amazing. We got a tuk tuk from train station to get there which was easy.

Room tip: Choose superior rooms
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mustardbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews