We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit!”

Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Katherine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 28 - USD 53
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dine under the stars in the tranquil surroundings of TOP DIDJ GROUNDS Watch the wallabies and hear the local wildlife in the surroundings reminiscent of an outback stockman's camp. In this wonderful atmosphere, enjoy your award winning camp oven meal by the camp fire, with Aborigine bush tucker flavours. This year, is a tribute to all Station Cooks- Past, present and future, and step back 100 years to a traditional Stockmans Camp for a Traditional Stew and Flash Damper and Billy Tea, polished off with Gem scones, native jam and fresh cream. Be entertained by great Aussie humour, true and not so true yarns, the good, the bad & some a little bawdy. Billy spinning competition for little and the grown up kids. Some diets can be catered, if booked in advance. We cook to bookings, so phone first. Open April until October each year, though restricted to Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday nights with Pandemic in Australia. BYO Alcohol. Marksie and Staff are fully Vaccinated for COVID.
Reviewed 26 August 2019

My parents and I had a great time at Markies dinner. Penny and Markies are very welcoming and work so hard to slow cook you a lovely dinner. We all local organic ingredients. We were all amazed how much we learnt about all the native herbs. Things we have heard of before. Penny made a gluten free damper and gem scones for me. They tasted amazing. One of the most memorable nights we have had. The food was just perfect in every way.
A must to do in Katherine.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Jorja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marksies, Owner at Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2019

Wow, thanks for the wonderful review Jorja. Wonderful that you liked the Gluten free replacements. We hoped they would taste ok. You guys were wonderful guests and it was a great fun night. We are still learning about all the different bush herbs, and need to write up some more recipes. Thanks again. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2019

Marksie starts cooking your dinner over hot coals started at 5am in the morning! He uses authentic bush herbs and spices that you can purchase on the spot and he even gives you toe recipes. Such a hearty delicious meal I went back for seconds, thirds and fourths. What really tops this outback experience is the campfire storytelling that keeps you wanting more!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marksies, Owner at Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2019

Wow, thank you, Paul, for the fantastic review. Our guests make it the best night, and we thank you! It is a long day, but I love to cook for you all, and especially love to entertain. I am very grateful to the Aboriginal ladies, that gave me so much help with the bush tucker. I grew up with old bushmen, telling stories around the campfire. So many stories, so little time to tell them. Come back again someday. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2019 via mobile

A must if you’re in the area. Great busk tucker food with a charismatic host. Great Billy spinning for the kids. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank andywrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marksies, Manager at Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2019

Thank you Andy, for the wonderful words. Glad you had a great night., and enjoyed the food and Marksie's show. He sure can tell a story. Thanks for recommendation. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2019 via mobile

Had a great night. Full of yarns, laughs and Billy spinning to boot. Geoff, Penny and staff put on a great night. Service was excellent.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank emcee1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marksies, Manager at Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2019

Wow, thank you for the awesome review. We love what we do and with wonderful guests, it is a great night. Marksie does tell a good yarn, with no swearing, and does have our guests in fits. So glad you enjoyed your night. Come back again some time. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2019

Food was lovely with the accompany of jokes, humour, staff and the man himself marksie. The night started out with a stew but not no other stew, native herbs collected from around the area, go for seconds or thirds if you like, you can not get enough of it. The flavours are like no other and definately not what you would expect. You can also buy some native spices, herbs and sauces. Cheers to the team for an amazing night and the bush tomato sauce that I bought was amazing.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 101ReeganM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marksies, Manager at Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2019

Wow, thank you so very much for the fantastic review. I know many think a stew is boring, so glad you got to taste the fantastic flavours our bush herbs and spices give the meal. Our herbs and spice sales have been a boon, and we have just got our new supplies in to restock. We loved your company, thank you for your visit. Come back again sometime. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night also viewed

 
Katherine, Top End
 

Been to Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.