We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming top end experience with delicious comfort food”

Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Katherine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 23 - USD 50
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dine under the stars in the tranquil surroundings of TOP DIDJ GROUNDS Watch the wallabies and hear the local wildlife in the surroundings reminiscent of an outback stockman's camp. In this wonderful atmosphere, enjoy your award winning camp oven meal by the camp fire, with Aborigine bush tucker flavours. This year, is a tribute to all Station Cooks- Past, present and future, and step back 100 years to a traditional Stockmans Camp for a Traditional Stew and Flash Damper and Billy Tea, polished off with Gem scones, native jam and fresh cream. Be entertained by great Aussie humour, true and not so true yarns, the good, the bad & some a little bawdy. Billy spinning competition for little and the grown up kids. Some diets can be catered, if booked in advance. We cook to bookings, so phone first. Open April until October each year, though restricted to Thursday and Saturday nights with Pandemic in Australia. BYO Alcohol.
Reviewed 12 May 2019

Hosts, Penny and Geoff made us all feel immediately welcome around the campfire. The food was so good that my fussy 13 year old boy was keen for seconds and we loved the subtle flavours of the indigenous herbs and spices. Marksie entertained us with fascinating yarns of a stockman's life and the acquisition of the bush tucker knowledge. To be honest I was a bit concerned how our son would react to the evening but he embraced it - he loved the stories, the billy spinning and the resident little wallaby who we fed sweet potato. We wish Marksie luck in his quest to pass on the knowledge of bush tucker to the next generation!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marksies, Owner at Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2019

Wow thank you guys, was fantastic to meet you and your son. thank you for the wonderful review. We had an awesome night with you all, and a great crowd. Glad you all enjoyed the food. We get a lot of questions about the flavours, so have made a taster tray with all the many tastes (about 12 Bush herbs, spices, fruits and foods, in the Stew alone) you will have to come back again with rest of family :) See you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2019 via mobile

A very enjoyable night with local yarns and a 5 star camp oven dinner experience. We had a delightful stew with a different damper and special billy tea and a small dessert to finish off the night. BYOG. The staff were great and Marksie a great yarn spruiker. He has a great knowledge of the NT history and cross-cultural experiences.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Rocketradunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marksies, Owner at Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2019

Thanks Guys, we sure had a great night with you. Very happy you enjoyed the camp oven Meal, and all the "Native bush" tastes. I am told I can even talk under water...Penny has a photo to prove it! So many stories, so little time. We have fun bringing you a fun night. Come back again, let me know so I can change some stories for you. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2019

The hosts are very true and sincere if you want a true experience with people that have lived in the outback and know how life truly is this is a great thing to do. He will talk to everyone and tell of his real experiences.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marksies, Owner at Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

thanks guys for the fantastic review. this is the Year of the Outback and we aim to really celebrate the Outback. Our Season is a Tribute to all those Station cooks- past, present, and future, with a deluxe stew flavoured by our native
bush herbs spices fruits and foods, with the Best beef, and Organic veges. Dine in style, under the stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2019 via mobile

My husband and I had a great night listening to Marksie’s stories and chatting with other tourists and locals at Marksie’s Camp Tucker Night. I loved Marksie and his wife Penny’s passion for the local community and their commitment to tribute to both traditional aboriginal culture and Australian Stockman history. Plus the food was delicious - a modern take on Stockman’s beef and veggie stew with a mix of bush herbs and spices, and a roast wattleseed (spices are hand-collected!) damper that has changed my memories of damper. Throw in a billie spinning competition and it makes for a memorable night in the Northern Territory! We haven’t come across anything else like it in the NT - it’s well worth a visit if you’re in Katherine during the dry season (Apr-Oct).

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank courtneyn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marksies, Owner at Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

Thanks guys, fantastic review. we loved having you guys too...a FUN night. Don't be fooled by a "stew and damper". Be prepared to have your taste buds wowed buy around 12 different bush herbs, spices, fruits and foods, in oyur Stew and damper- is NOT a plain flour and water ( nor grass seed and water). Our menu will have you coming back for more...and yes there is seconds. The moon is waning so the stars will be popping. Cheers guys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2019

Thank you Marksie for such a wonderful, lovely evening! We did the top end loop over the Easter, and out of everything we did and saw this was one of my favourite. Marksie couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating, and it's so nice to meet people with such a strong passion for what they do. My Dad, brother, husband and myself all LOVED the food - it was seriously delicious, and also learned a lot about the culture. I'm so happy we decided to do this, and would highly recommend this experience to anyone traveling to the Northern Territory. Thanks Marksie!

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katherineequade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marksies, Owner at Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

Wow, thanks for the awesome review. Was fantastic to have you guys, and our guests are the best- they make the night fantastic. We aim to answer any questions people have, of the Top End and the NT, to help make their trip around informative as well as fun and good food. Our Stockman's Camp Tucker Night is a tribute to all Station Cooks- past, present and future. This is the Year of the Outback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night also viewed

 
Katherine, Top End
 

Been to Marksie's Stockman's Camp Tucker Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.