We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Sydney
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed here because of the Holiday Inn reputation. I should have paid more attention to the Trip Advisor reviews.

Our second floor room was large and reasonably clean. There was a small amount of black mould around some of the bath fittings.

The bathroom was dated and in need of renovation; chipped and worn bath and chipped laminate.

The pool was a welcome relief after a hot day walking in majestic Kakadu. The pool was small, but it was in proportion to the lovely gardens and water feature in that area of the hotel.

We got the giggles in the restaurant because the service was so poor. The food however was up to standard. I had a great steak and my wife loved her barramundi. The steak was $37 which might seem expensive, but remember everything has to be trucked in from Darwin.

This is a strange place; it tries hard, but doesn’t make it. eg we rang for room service at 5.45pm to order from the 10am to 6pm menu to be told that that we were too late. That menu had closed for the day. We tried to order from the 6pm on menu, but were told to call back after 6pm. That is not a Holiday Inn level of service. We ate a great meal at the Jabiru Sports Club that night.

We stayed four nights and had breakfast four times. We were on holiday so decided to laugh about it rather than talk to the manager when we realised that the guy giving us the most grief was probably a manager. He really should only be in hospitality if he wants to be in that industry. People on holiday want a friendly greeting at breakfast. We don’t want Mr Grumpy telling us how reception has stuffed up our breakfast payment, again. You would imagine that by the second or third morning they would have worked it out and waved us through rather than make us stand there while it is sorted. The other funny thing was that the labels on the hot food containers only matched the contents on the last morning. It was a lottery on what I would find when opening the lid: it says baked beans, but its scrambled egg! Having said all that the breakfast food was tasty and plentiful.

The external walkways and stairs to the pool were always dirty and in need of sweeping. It looked like leaves and dead bugs that had been there for a while. A used cotton bud sat on a walkway for two days.

There is a good laundry with free laundry powder. The cost is reasonable at $3 for the washing machine and $3 for the dryer. We washed 4 days’ worth of clothing for two people for $6, a bargain. Unfortunately when emptying the dryer I dropped a clean shirt on the floor between the dryer and washing machine, right onto what seemed to be a pool of oil and dirty yellow water. Again, they try hard, but just don’t seem to make it. Next time we will stay at Cooinda.

The hotel is within walking distance of a bakery that does pies, ckaes and fresh sandwiches. Close by is a BP. A supermarket and Westpac a also a short walk. The hotel has a Thrifty agency. The Thrifty people (Peter, Shannon and Jo) were very helpful. We hired a 4WD for the day to get through the water crossings on the way to Ubirr.

Room Tip: Good luck. Eat the at the Jabiru Sports Club. Enter the club on the right hand side, under the cove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Wolin

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn

We set ourselves high standards at the Holiday Inn and I have taken on-board your constructive criticism to use as an example to my managers of how easily we can disappoint our guest if we fail to uphold our policies and procedures.

Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    391
    357
    101
    56
See reviews for
228
543
32
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suburban Boston, MA
Level Contributor
241 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

This is a luxurious Holiday Inn with a shaded pool and an excellent restaurant. Make your dinner reservation for the first night when you arrive -- restaurant is busy sometimes. There was an offer bundling dinner and breakfast when we stayed there - a good deal. There are other less expensive places to eat if you stay longer. Despite what people said about the prices, they are providing a luxury experience in the middle of a desert. Enjoy it! The attached Visitor's Center is mostly about road maps and gifts - the informative centers are in the park.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any 'deals' on meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready2Go2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Ready2Go2008

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn

It is always pleasing when I hear that our service and facilities exceeded our guests expectations.

Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

They must still be paying off the builders and architects for this place because I can't see any other reason we paid as much as we did for what we got. Unfortunately we were let down at the last minute by other accomodation plans and had to frantically look round for another option in Kakadu - the Crocodile resort was the only place left with rooms.

The room was small and quite poorly cleaned with major need of refurbishment - especially the bathroom.

We ate two nights in the restaurant which is amazingly devoid of atmosphere as well as any competent staff (including the manager!). We ate a la cart as the buffet didn't look too great and the meals were pretty average.

If you're in the national park chances are you'll have full days seeing all the wonders Kakadu has to offer, all you want at the end of the day is a decent bite to eat and a comfy bed - you can get this at several much more modestly priced places.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oatway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Oatway

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn

You will be happy to learn that the owners have agreed to a refurbishment of the restaurant as I also believe that the current look is lacking in atmosphere and "feel"

Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwin
Level Contributor
217 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Not expecting too much due to location and previous reports from people. Was pleasantly surprised when I opened the door after a long day. Ground room very nicely decorated, ochre colours blending in with earthy tones. Nice wooden furniture. 2 beds with great selection of pllows labelled soft, firm etc.
Bathroom great size and great quality toiletries.
Outside door leading to pool with a couple of wooden chairs and small table. All very pleasant.
Pool very small but the hotel was very quiet so it wasn't overcrowded .
Restaurant currently been renovated but our meal was lovely slightly overpriced but service excellent.
Wonderful art gallery which has some wonderful aboriginal art but just adds to the wonderful country and culture of Kakadu and Arnhem land experience.
I am determined to return with my family again for a wet season break as I was so impressed

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
Dear sam63

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn and I was happy to read you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms.

In regard to your feedback about the pool, I must admit that several fellow travellers have also commented on the size. When the hotel was built, the designers were determined to keep the features of the hotel anatomically correct in scale so the pool is the size of the crocodiles heart if the hotel was a real crocodile. While we have looked at perhaps altering the size of the pool, it is felt that this will impinge on the vision of the original design and alter the uniqueness of the hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and I would be delighted to see yourself and your family back at the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Paul Flett
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
179 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We recently spent 2 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The rooms are quite spacious. Ours was on the first floor and had a queen size bed and a single. There was also a small coffee table and 2 armchairs as well as a small desk. Our room had a view to the pool area and the sliding glass doors opened to allow some fresh air in although we didn't have a balcony. The bathroom was a good size and very well equipped with excellent quality toiletries. The room was clean and the beds comfortable and they even have a pillow menu! We heard no noise from outside or from the adjoining rooms unlike some places you can stay. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and found all the meals to be of excellent quality, especially the beer battered barramundi :) All staff were friendly and helpful particularly Jared who always welcomed us with a bright smile and a cheerful hello. There was a minor problem with our fridge during our stay. It had accidentally been turned off for cleaning and the staff had forgotten to turn it back on. The freezer defrosted and water leaked out all over the tiled entry and the bedroom carpet. We phoned reception who immediately sent someone to attend to the problem. He was extremely apologetic and quickly took steps to clean up and make the area safe. He needed to use some of our bathroom towels to clean up and he phoned down to housekeeping asking for them to supply replacements. Unfortunately housekeeping let his excellent service down as we had to call again several house later asking for the towels to be supplied. All that aside I am happy to recommend this hotel and we will stay here again if we ever get back to Kakadu.

Room Tip: If you are on the first floor there is no lift so ask at reception for them to bring your bags up fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justmeok006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Justmeok006

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall experience with us and have taken on board your comments about the towel service which let us down. Please be assured I have raised your feedback with my department heads to ensure we follow through with the service requests from our guests.

Kind Regards

Paul Flett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
27.6 km away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
42.6 km away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 5 in Kakadu National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.9 km away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Property: Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Address: Gagudju Crocdile Hi 1 Flinders St, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price range (per night): $118 - $277
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing