We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A spacious and enjoyable cottage with an...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Cottage - Ideal place for BBQ and glass of vine.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage - Ideal place for BBQ and glass of vine.
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Front of Cottage - Ideal place for BBQ and glass of vine.
Lounge
Main bedroom
Bedroom 2
Hall
Large Family Bathroom with Shower
Side View of Cottage - Private Parking Area
Rear of Cottage - Original Railway Platform - Safe Playing Area for Children.
Old Photo of Cottage
Railway Station - How the Cottage used to look
Garlieston Bay - 1 mile from the cottage.
Garlieston Bay
Garlieston - Play Park
Garlieston - Football & Tennis Courts
Garlieston - Birthplace of Mulberry Harbour 1943
Front
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Garlieston, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
deereleap
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A spacious and enjoyable cottage with an interesting history”
Reviewed 19 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our week's stay at this cottage which is about 2/3rds of the old station at Millisle about half a mile outside Garlieston. The other part of the station building is an independent home and has a separate drive and does not intrude in any way whatsoever. Most of the cottage is unusual because it has spacious rooms with high ceilings. Often cottages are cramped and poky but this is the opposite. The cottage was very clean and there was a small welcome pack, which was kind. Because the cottage is off the road there is no through traffic at all. The views to the front and back are lovely and it is very quiet, especially at night. The equipment all functions and is just what you need. The central heating is powered from an independent building and is a sophisticated German installation. It is very controllable and efficient. There is a wood-burning stove but we had no need of it. I would mention that in the next field, a few hundred yards beyond the other part of the old station there is a commercial size wind turbine. This does produce some background noise but because of the layout it is not visible. We didn't find it a problem and I am sensitive to noise. We would easily stay here again in this nice secluded area of the country. The cottage takes pets, but we don't have one which can travel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Garlieston in dumfries and galloway is a gem of a place to holiday. A quiet coastal. Villiage which is very dog friendly. My holidays just fly by and thats my only complaint! This was my first visit to kilfillan cottage and it wont be my last. Brilliant cottage, like a tardis, high ceilings and much more roomy than i had anticipated. Great well stocked kitchen with the sort of dining table that is easy to use and we did. The dishwasher was a boon as was the brand new washing machine. My husband loved the big sofa as he was hooked on the world cup! Patio doors looked out on to the garden with a stunning view of the countryside. WiFi worked a hundred percent and shock we also had a mobile signal! All the Windows had new white wood shutters and many of the rooms had real wood floors. The photos do not do this cottage justice, it is so quiet sleep comes easy. The owners have recently installed a picket fence around the orchard area so this is perfect to let the dogs have a safe run around, away from the temptation of lots of bunny rabbits! A tip from me, take plenty of throws if you have dogs, better safe than sorry, it is too nice to spoil. See Harry at the garlieston garage for bits of shopping and wood, see bob at whithorn paper shop to order your papers, see Alistair for soup and sandwich lunch at the steam packet in the isle of whithorn, big shop at aldi in newton stewart, see kirsty at the rendezvous cafe for take away salads and naughty cakes in Wigtown. Have fun in the charity shops whithorn, port William, Wigtown and newton stewart. Dumfries and galloway is magic!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming Country Cottage - the perfect hideaway”
Reviewed 7 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The cottage is a delight - well appointed and comfortable, set in the most idyllic, glorious, countryside - but with all necessary amenities not too far away. Best of all, even though in South West Scotland - no midges!!!!
We sincerely hope we get the chance to return here one day soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
svescovi3
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and well equipped cottage cannot fault it.”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed here before, it is great location, plenty of beaches around, very tranquil place, lovely people, very clean cottage, comfy beds and lovely fluffy towels.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence...
1 review
“Warm, comfortable and well equipped for a holiday.”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The cottage is situated on the outskirts of Garlieston, a handsome wee village embracing a bay in a very still part of Scotland. Everyone I met was pleasant and at ease, the landscape has cow-filled very green pastures, good tree belts, a palpable sense of history somehow enduring in the quiet towns and countryside, and ready access to the sea with its broad skies and sweeps of coast. The cottage was hard to find from the few directions given and it took me several goes to do so. Once found, it is delightful, well situated for exploring this corner of ``Scotland, and very well equipped and maintained for a comfortable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing