We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Living Room
Kitchen
Living Room
Landing
Four Poster Bedroom
Bunk Beds Bedroom
Front of Building
Landing
Attic On Suite
Bathroom
View from the Kitchen
Mulberry Harbour Memorial
Canoeing in the Bay
Sailing in the bay
Sea view from the attic bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Garlieston, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lauren B
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 22 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

My partner and I stayed here with our children in August for 1 week and it was just perfect. It was immaculate, spacious, cosy and not to mention the stunning views looking out over the sea. It was the perfect little escape that we needed from the hustle and bustle of busy family life! The View had everything we needed, and we could not have wished for more accommodating, friendly hosts. We took the kids crabbing in Garlieston and orienteering in the national forest which was stunning. We will definitely be returning to this little gem of a holiday home. Absolutely loved our time there and cannot thank Kerry and Andy enough for their hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P3747NFne...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything you need and a great view”
Reviewed 20 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Had a great weekend break here. Everything looked very new and the location was very relaxing. The harbour inn is a two minute walk away and serves excellent food. The local area has some very interesting towns and this was a great base from which to visit them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy B
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Booked the apartment for the view of the harbour and were not disappointed! The apartment was very comfortable, tastefully decorated and stocked with everything we could want - including a telescope! Garlieston is a little gem with lovely beaches which we often had to ourselves, harbour and the Anchor Inn. We spent 3 days just exploring the locality. Further afield, there are plenty of activities available on the Machars peninsula, Galloway Forest. The beach at Mossyard is also a treasure. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJQ68
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, spacious, homely, stupendous view: a treat of a retreat!”
Reviewed 11 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The View in Garlieston gave our family the most relaxing week we've ever experienced. Situated just in front of the harbour, the windows afford serene, generous views of the sea; we spent every morning sitting in the bay window on the top floor, with a cuppa and book, watching the herons, swans and oystercatchers fishing along the shoreline. The sound of quiet was stunning. The house is well-equipped, with a homely, spacious kitchen, two bathrooms and a lounge with room for all of us to put our feet up. Most importantly, the service was exceptional: the friendly owners of The View responded to our enquiries promptly and were very quick to help. Our two teenagers had plenty of in-house entertainment on tap, with good WiFi and DVDs - they loved using the video player too! The local area is gorgeous: we spent most days walking the gentle mile or so through shoreline woods to Rigg Bay for a swim and a sunbathe, sharing the huge beach with only half a dozen other people. I'd also recommend walking a little further to Cruggleton Castle for breathtaking views over cliffs, the Lake District mountains and the Isle of Man visible in the distance. We indulged in one unbelievably hearty Scottish breakfast at the Harbour Inn a few doors away. There are many other places to visit by car - this is beautiful Scotland, after all - and there are a number of adventurous activities very close by, such as canoeing in the bay only a five-minute walk away. But I think the joy of this holiday has been the house itself: The View is a perfect place to stay, to cook, to chat the day away and to watch the sun rise over the bay, with only the sound of a curlew trilling... perhaps the proof of this was that on the one rainy day we had during our week, I found myself thinking, "Aaah… now I can just sit here at the window and take it easy..." Fabulous: thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroColli...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, right on the front, sea and harbour view. Spacious,family friendly, beautifully furnished accommodat”
Reviewed 30 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The View is in a stunning location, very aptly named. The accommodation is spacious and beautifully decorated. A lot of though has gone into making it a great place to be. Very well equipped kitchen and 2 great sized bathrooms. There are some fabulous walks to suit : 2, 6 or 7 miles. Then back to The Harbour Inn for a super reasonably priced meal - lots of choice!. Lots to do in the area too. Feeding the deer at Galloway Forrest Park, take a picnic and enjoy the outdoors. Archery and tank experience just a couple of miles away. Also a shopping trip and a pit stop for tea and cake in Kirkcudbright where there are some lovely art galleries to visit. Will definitely come again .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing