We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to airport but terrible value, lots of broken things in rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Trondheim Airport
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stjordal
Certificate of Excellence
Tunis, Tunisia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient to airport but terrible value, lots of broken things in rooms”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Convenient to airport - the cost of this was justified for me on the basis of getting up early for a flight. It is easy to get to - the airport bus and train from Trondheim stops just outside. But the reservation was wrongly made - I booked a double but got a single - and the rooms were not of the quality you expect from this brand - aircon broken in 2 rooms I tried, no bathtub. For a hotel with lots of people having an early start the breakfast time of 7am onwards was too late which added to the poor value given the rate included breakfast. The other airport hotel would be a better choice i think - this is more of a 3 star place if that.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_in_Tunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    144
    53
    14
    12
See reviews for
58
67
45
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

a new, clean and very pleasant hotel. Exactly what you need before your flight. 100 meter walking to the check-in. Very quiet. great breakfast. nice and helpful staff. Highly recommended. We stayed there 2 nights. Not so far driving to Trondheim.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orit b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I like to stay at hotels near the airport the night before an early flight, avoid the freak-out of not making it on time, and this one was perfect. Just a short walk way (direct from the hotel) to the airport which was perfect. Breakfast was lovely, the room was clean and spacious. Probably the only problem was actually getting to the hotel in the first place! We travelled in on the train as we'd come across from Are in Sweden, then had to get a taxi... let's say the guard at the station wasn't very helpful in letting us use his phone to call a cab! All other things considered, this hotel was perfect for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassypony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Nice quiet airport hotel. This is a new and modern Airport hotel with good sized rooms. The quality of the rooms are of a high standard with great space and everything you need to relax. The restaurant has a very basic menu which did not seem that interesting to me which is a problem because there is absolutely nothing close buy to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an airport view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eblac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden of England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This hotel really is within about 150m of the airport departures area - so dont worry about having a taxi or car from the hotel to the airport!

The room and the hotel were all clean and smart, though nothing particularly special. I imagine all the rooms were furnished in exactly the same way. There is nothing wrong with the furniture at all - it all looked new and well looked after and you couldnt complain about noise coming from the airport. For a start it isnt that busy an airport, certainly not compared to Heathrow/gatwick etc plus it seems to have a good sound proofing.

I cant comment on breakfast as I didnt have it, as I thought we would be flying out too early, though I saw a sign in the hotel saying it started at 5:00 so we could have done after all!

This hotel is the perfect choice if you have a very late arrival or an early departure, particularly as it was quite cheap - only 800Kr approx for two people sharing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fell-O_TravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stjordal
25.5 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.6 km away
Scandic Hell
Scandic Hell
#1 of 1 in Vaernes
460 reviews
1.6 km away
Quality Airport Hotel Vaernes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
25.4 km away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#3 of 25 in Trondheim
1,278 reviews
25.0 km away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#8 of 25 in Trondheim
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Trondheim Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Trondheim Airport

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Trondheim Airport
Address: Lufthavnsveien 30 | Vaernes, Stjordal 7501, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Nord-Trondelag > Stjordal Municipality > Stjordal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stjordal
Price range (per night): $136 - $229
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Trondheim Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and luxury accommodation steps from Trondheim Airport Vaernes. Vaernes train station is located under the hotel. Only 32 km away from Trondheim City makes it easy to take part in all what the city has to offer. Stjordal City is 3 km away. Radisson Blu Hotel, Trondheim Airport is one of the most attractive bases for business and leisure market, who arrives late or have an early flight the next day. The combination of beautiful equipped rooms and the well-known Radisson Blu quality makes our hotel the perfect choice. Located adjacent to Trondheim Airport, the hotel provides 180 modern and stylish rooms. Our rooms feature breathtaking fjord or mountain views and are equipped with excellent amenities, including Jensen mattresses, high-definition LCD television, mini bar, coffee and tea machine and luxury toiletries. Premium satellite channels and free high-speed, wireless Internet access help to ensure a comfortable stay. We also provide 18 rooms for our disabled guest and special family rooms. All guest rooms are non-smoking. With our new restaurant we now seats up to 180 guests for the daily Super Breakfast Buffet, as well as our Brain Food lunch buffet and dinner. In the evenings, guests can take advantage of the bar at which serves a selection of beer, wine and cocktails in a fun, modern setting. The restaurant serves local produces with inspiration from the Italian cuisine. Come and have good time with your friends and family and we promise you a tasteful experience. The Radisson Blu Hotel, Trondheim Airport offers 11 exceptional meeting and event rooms. Spread over 500 square metres, the hotel's facilities provide the perfect place for small to large meetings, corporate events, product launches and private banquets. All meeting delegates enjoy free high-speed Internet access and the latest audiovisual equipment. A full-service business centre offers secretarial services, photocopying and fax service. Organize a successful event or meeting at this Vaernes Airport hotel. Golf at Stjordal Golfclub or fishing salmon in the Stjordal and Forra Rivers is also activity options during your stay with us. The nearest river stretch is with walking distance (10 minutes). The Tourist Information Office in Stjordal can provide information and details. Hell Shopping center is located approx. 500 meters from the hotel. In the center of Stjordal (3 km) you find Shopping, Cafés, Bowling, Cinema, Library, Swimmingpool, Tourist Office etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Rezidor, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Trondheim Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing