We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
27
11
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
11
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathqueen bedgreat locationsmall kitchenmotor lodgegood sizelovely coupleone nightmotelhostsamenitiestoasternz
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Motel itself was not so bad - room was clean.
First room offered has a smoke in an air - definitely not stink - but for me non smoker allergic it was obvious somebody has enjoyed a puff in a bed recently. Room has been replaced immediately and hosts were exceptionally helpful including a little dog.
It was cold night and I opted to use wall heater - to say it was noisy, say nothing. Imagine working on your tablet next to turboprop 12 seater so famous in Air NZ.
There is a pool but it's not heated :(
Spa instead was great in spite of some unpleasant burnt plastic smell ...
And Hastings!!! I understand there are storm water and/or sewage problems but... Half of city is just blocked and the rest in 3 m deep trenches and holes. It's really looks like Syrian Damascus after airstrike.
I came back few months later - no changes. The same noise and dust and blocked roads. Sure it has nothing to do with motels in vicinity but to call this warzone "great location"? Only if you came on mountain bike and enjoyed exercises on doorsteps

Room Tip: Not road sie
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cptblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We stayed in Hastings only one night and I am glad we chose the Fairmont, it was fresh, clean and the lovely couple that own it were so accommodating and helpful. We visited hasting on our travels to cycle some of the wonderful tracks, our hosts provided maps and bus timetables so we could find our way to Napier. On our way back we got caught in a rain shower and even though it was after midday and we checked out early morning, they let us freshen up in our room. What excellent service, I would recommend staying at the fairmont.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nelsonian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole_Cropper, Manager at Fairmont Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review. It was lovely meeting you and having a ride on your beautiful new bikes was a real treat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Great location just out of the town center, very nice spacious room with a kitchenette (stove, jug, microwave, fridge freezer) and bathroom (spa bath, shower, hairdryer), dairy right next door if you need any necessities, lovely hosts.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank renegaderunaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Excellent location and all amenities are conveniently close by. Kids loved pool and spa bath and the bed was fairly comfortable. The room was poorly serviced every day - always short one towel and my child, when asking for a towel for the pool after our first night, was told, "There's none left because you guys didn't return your ones yesterday." We didn't know, and had left them hanging over our outdoor chairs.
The kitchen was ill-equipped, no can opener, serving spoons, sharp knife, frying pan, large bowl, etc... Worse, the fridge part froze our food and the little freezer box didn't freeze at all! Lovely little place and the man we met with was nice, but the motel could benefit from some attention to detail.

Room Tip: If you plan to cook meals I suggest checking in advance the provisions in the room being allocated to you.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JuressaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

What a fabulous place to stay. . Close enough to town.. a 1.5 k walk to K Mart, Warehouse.
Wonderful staff. Very friendly and accommodating. . Changing our room on arrival to suit our unique needs.
Well appointed unit.. spa bath with shower. . fans and a heater..
Microwave and 2 hob bench top stove.
Comfortable and clean.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Kiwichatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews