We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner with a stunning view”

Sage @ Paroa Bay Winery
Ranked #12 of 28 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: USD 16 - USD 52
Description: Breath taking views overlooking the Bay of Islands matched with top Mediterranean cuisine and our own wines grown and made onsite. Outdoor and indoor seating. Vegetarian, gluten free and Vegan options available.
Restaurant details
Description: Breath taking views overlooking the Bay of Islands matched with top Mediterranean cuisine and our own wines grown and made onsite. Outdoor and indoor seating. Vegetarian, gluten free and Vegan options available.
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing dinner last night at sage with great service and really nice wines, as a starter we had the squid and homemade pizza style garlic bread followed by the duck fettuccini and seafood spaghetti and we finished it of with an amazing Tiramisu and an affogato.
If it wasn’t closed today we would have gone back for lunch.

1  Thank winnievandijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoebutton, Owner at Sage @ Paroa Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed the food and service as well as the wines. We hope to see you again!
The Sage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Well, I designed my menu around the tiramisu trusting that Sage would not disappoint. This classic dessert was everything that I call perfect. My friends were amused with my “mmm” with every spoon full.
Not forgetting the Arancini Balls paired with a bowl of peppery rocket dressed with balsamic. The arancini were crisp on the outside opening to a mushroom risotto with molten mozzarella nestled in the centre
This was paired with Paroa Chardonnay 2016

Perfection

Thank ChristineS6319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoebutton, Owner at Sage @ Paroa Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

What a lovely review! Many thanks for that. I do hope we can welcome you back for more perfect moments.
With our kind regards,
The SAGE TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed a gentle evening meal here. We worked through the menu, exploring most of the appetisers and mains and it was delightful. Good staff, stunning views and well presented good food. The presentation of the food was very good, pretty to look at and eat. I would only make a couple of suggestions to improve the enjoyment: have some bread on the table (so soak up the yummy sauces) and don't be afraid to season the dinners (2/3 were lacking salt, that little bit just to bring out the flavour better).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Snapperseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoebutton, Owner at Sage @ Paroa Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Thank you for your kind review and glad you tried a variety of dishes. I hope you had good weather that evening to enjoy the beautiful view of the islands with your meal
Kind regards,
The SAGE TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Spent 3 weeks in Tuscany last September and never got a meal anywhere as good
as we got tonite at Sage. Great food, super service from a very friendly staff. Have spent our December to March time in Russell for the past 25 years and we have had some really good restaurants here over that time but this one is the best.

Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoebutton, Owner at Sage @ Paroa Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

What a great review! We hope to keep up the good standards! Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Russell.
The SAGE TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

The vibe has defianately cahnged here...different head chef and quite a different menu, although still Hint of OTALIAN cuisine.
Didn't enjoy it so much as previous visits...and a drive along NOT the best roads, but still worth a look-see, esp. on a beautiful evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hopeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sage @ Paroa Bay Winery also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Sage @ Paroa Bay Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing