We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and friendly people”
Review of Marcel's Bakery - CLOSED

Marcel's Bakery
Price range: USD 2 - USD 28
Description: The only butcher, baker and chocolate maker in Nelson! We have delicious family and small pies, chocolates, fudge, pastries, sandwiches and beverages. We can cater your event and make beautiful wedding cakes. We also specialise in themed birthday cakes for your child.
Restaurant details
Description: The only butcher, baker and chocolate maker in Nelson! We have delicious family and small pies, chocolates, fudge, pastries, sandwiches and beverages. We can cater your event and make beautiful wedding cakes. We also specialise in themed birthday cakes for your child.
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

This is foodie heaven if you’re into pies, cheesecake, fudge, truffles, basically delicious food made with love. The people are friendly and go out of their way to chat. Well done team!

Thank 0jacquiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotrodgurl, Public Relations Manager at Marcel's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi 0jacquiew,

Thanks for taking time to give us your lovely review! We do pack quite a bit into our shop and it can be hard to leave without a bag full of stuff! We're happy you enjoyed your visit. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

The food is lovely presented and very tasty. Staff are very helpful and Pleasant. The coffee one of the best in town. The variation of food available for a small place is incredible.

Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotrodgurl, Public Relations Manager at Marcel's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Hi Peter F,

we're so glad you stopped in and took the time to give us a review. We do pack a lot of choices into our small shop and try to switch it up to keep people surprised when they come in! The Italian coffee we serve is 100% organic which is one reason it's so delicious! Hope to see you back soon and try some of our other offerings! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Love the pies in here. Every possible choice of pie and whats more they have real meat in them and not floor sweepings. Love the pork belly pie! Easy and quick as needed too.

Thank timtT6478JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotrodgurl, Public Relations Manager at Marcel's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hello timtT6478JH! Thank you for taking time to review our bakery. We're happy that you can appreciate quality meat which makes a huge difference between pies you can buy on the cheap which leave you feeling unsatisfied. We realize that cost is a big factor when choosing what you buy and hope that we give good value for money. We change these up often, so come in and try something different next time! Thank you for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

When visiting Nelson Marcel's is a compulsory visit for the amazing range of pies cakes and baking and of course Marcel's is the home of the world famous in Nelson boysenberry fudge as well as truffles & rocky road. If your lucky the man himself will serve you!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Blackwolf944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotrodgurl, Public Relations Manager at Marcel's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you, Blackwolf944, for your great review! Yes, there aren't many places that do boysenberry fudge and it's one of our best sellers. We're so happy that you enjoy coming in and you never know what the big guy will have to chat about when you're here! It's part of the fun of visiting. Thanks again for taking the time to write about us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Every time we come to Nelson we go to Marcel's and we have never been disappointed. I have loved every pie I've tried and their cakes, slices and fudges are to die for! My partner looks forward to our Nelson trip for a piece of boysenberry fudge and a piece of white chocolate fudge (he never just buys one piece though). Definitely our favourite cafe in Nelson!

Thank salemwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotrodgurl, Public Relations Manager at Marcel's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Hello Salemwhite and thanks for your terrific review! We're glad that our spot is always on your list when visiting Nelson and we welcome you back anytime! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marcel's Bakery also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing