We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
83
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
5
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Due to tight availability around Nelson we were only able to stay here one night but will definitely stay longer next time. Don't be fooled by the photo, it was taken some time ago and while the building is not changed the surrounding landscaping and gardens are now beautiful and extensive. In the downhill direction the bay view is outstanding as well. We did not opt for the dinner due to our late booking and limited stay, however based on the excellent Green Mussel and well paired wine appetizers we enjoyed with our hosts Kay and Joe we will have to next time. Our hosts were wonderful and great to talk with. Breakfast was also an experience not to be missed. The only thing I would note is that there are two suites and only one has A/C, alas not ours. We were there on a particularly hot day so we had to employ a few fans to cool our suite for sleeping, however overnight it cooled and we were comfortable. This is pretty typical of NZ and especially the South Island where truly hot weather is short lived and not that common, but if you will be there at the height of summer and are sensitive to the heat you should request the A/C suite. The rest of the year I doubt it matters as both have great views from thier respective patios from which to have a nightcap and/or a morning coffee. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank pdxworldtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay W, Owner at A Culinary Experience Luxury B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Bed and Breakfast. Your feedback is very helpful. This was the first year that we have felt the heat and humidity.
Global warming, perhaps??? It s interesting that we have air conditioning in the dining area upstairs and in the guest lounge downstairs and have turned it on twice in all the years we have lived in Nelson. Since it cools down at night, the rooms are always cool during the day. If we have another hot spell this summer, I think we can turn the air conditioner on in the guest lounge and it will be directed into the room where you stayed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We loved this unique stay with Kay and Joe, our amazing hosts. The place is first rate - and we enjoyed their company along the way. Would absolutely recommend it to those wanting great breakfasts, dinner (if you wish) and a gorgeous view.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J3583LTlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Wonderful find-from great food to perfect views thIs gem of a b&b simply has it all. If you are traveling to Nelson this is the ideal place to stay. While here take advantage of a cooking class and enjoy a dinner that delights

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 771gailt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay W, Owner at A Culinary Experience Luxury B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2016

Thank you so much for your comments. We love to do a cooking class with our guests as we get to know them a bit better than if they were just having breakfast with us. We have a list of possible menus that they can choose from on our website, so hopefully there is something for everyone's eating preferences. Dinner afterwards with wine and good fellowship is the "icing on the cake"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

You have to stay here! And you have to stay for at least three days! Let's start with Kay and Joe--your hosts: they are fun, welcoming, knowledgeable, and creative, and obviously adore each other. Just being around them makes you feel good. Then there is the place--both your room, and the rest of the house, and the two acres of fantastic outdoors magic. Our room looked out over Nelson Harbor, with plantings outside the windows attracting fantails and creating greenspace and birdsong unrivaled at other accommodations. The room (and house and yard) is filled with art; be sure to read the compendium in your room describing it. After a quiet night, you will be treated to an incredible breakfast. Want orange juice? Fresh squeezed from their garden. Want Greek yogurt? Home-made. Fruit on top? They've just picked blueberries and strawberries from their garden. Honey? From their hives. Eggs? From their chickens. Take a walk around the garden, filled with not only these edibles, but also hollyhocks, roses, and other flowers; admire the sculptures; go see the alpacas that live in the Alpaca Hilton. Sit in the gazebo. Check out the hothouse. Soak in the hot tub. This was the best of the best of the many places we stayed in New Zealand. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank LandCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay W, General Manager at A Culinary Experience Luxury B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

It is guests like you that reinforce our love of having a Bed and Breakfast. Thank you so much for an awesome review. Kay and Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Joe and Kay have achieved what many strive for, the perfect B&B experience.

Every detail you can imagine is covered. Comfort, luxurious, spotless, quiet, roomy, private, all mod cons, views etc etc. It is truely 5 star on a global scale in every detail.
They provide a welcoming relaxed and very friendly atmosphere that combines their local knowlege and passion for art, wine and fine food.
The property is an hillside oasis of fresh home grown fruits, vegatables, herbs, flowers and other produce which they combine with their culinary expertise provide customised breakfasts to die for.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bmccau_596883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews