We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
USD 103
USD 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
USD 98
USD 92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
USD 89
USD 76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 101
USD 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
USD 66
USD 64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arcadia Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
USD 74
USD 70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Trailways Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
USD 65
USD 63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
USD 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
USD 106
USD 95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 58
USD 43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
83
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasman baystunning viewsother guestsgreat hostshighly recommend this b bkaynz
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My fiancee and I had the most wonderful time here. The location is absolutely spectacular, the owners are wonderful and go out of their way to make your stay a special one. Our only regret is that we couldn't spend more time there. It was also a special bonus to see the alpacas being fed!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed with Joe & Kay for two nights towards the end of our two week honeymoon to New Zealand. They are absolutely wonderful hosts. Their property is set up specifically for guests, and each guest room has it's own private bathroom and porch overlooking the bay. They are very friendly, and always available for questions about Nelson, the grounds, restaurants, food, wine, etc. Their dog Bijou made us feel at home, and we were welcome to walk around the gorgeous garden. We even got to meet their alpacas! We relaxed in the hot tub, got massages (Joe's great!), and spent several hours reading on our private porch, watching the tide go out in the bay. We did a cooking class and wine tasting with Joe & Kay, and it was like cooking dinner at home with friends, except so much better! We had such a wonderful experience at A Culinary Experience and were very sad to leave at the end of our short stay. Make sure to ask about Kay's blueberry pancakes!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed at Kay & Joe's B&B for 1 night. This was not enough. Kay & Joe are amazing hosts and the attention to detail and comfort is 5 star plus. Joe kindly drove us to our restaurant booking whist tuning us in on the history of the area of Nelson as well as some other areas to visit on our continuing journey. The breakfast the following morning was delicious. The views of the Tasman Sea from our bedroom & the kitchen area were magnificent as you are perched up in the mountain overlooking Nelson. We thoroughly recommend a stay here for anyone wishing for great hosts, amazing views, exceptional food and relaxation.

Geoff & Leeanne

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed here for about 5 nights on our honeymoon to NZ and considered this place to be one of our highlights. We loved the wonderful view and location - perched up high over Nelson you got an amazing spot to sit and watch the sun set over the water. Kay and Joe are wonderful hosts, they looked after us terribly well - with amazing breakfasts and drinks and canapes and made us feel at home. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and gorgeous, bed was great, and the spa bath also very relaxing after a day of sightseeing. It's a home away from home - say hello to Primo (one of 3 alpacas) for us. Well worth a stay - we miss it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Provence room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mezza76au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaucySister, Owner at A Culinary Experience Luxury B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We really enjoyed your stay with us and wish you many years of happiness. Nelson is an ideal place for a honeymoon, with our sunshine, beaches, wineries and art galleries. A Culinary Experience is an ideal place for celebrating each other,special events and life itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My friend and I took a very long journey from the East Coast of the U.S. to the South island of New Zealand. We were traveling for two weeks and our first destination was A Culinary Experience in Nelson. This amazing home would become the barometer of all of the other places we stayed. We stayed here for three nights and there wasn't a moment we didn't feel completely at home and starry eyed with the beauty of this property. The bathroom suite was out of a movie, the room perfect and spacious and every accoutrement was perfectly situated in our room. The views were sensational! Water views were expansive and inviting! The meals convinced us that we might not be able to leave! We even took pictures of everything we ate! It was out of a magazine!

Kay and Joe were the perfect hosts; they made us feel so welcome and right at home. A TRUE Culinary Experience! K.R. from Cape Cod, Ma.

Room Tip: I did see all of the rooms and they were all beautifully appointed.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews