We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
83
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
5
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My friend and I took a very long journey from the East Coast of the U.S. to the South island of New Zealand. We were traveling for two weeks and our first destination was A Culinary Experience in Nelson. This amazing home would become the barometer of all of the other places we stayed. We stayed here for three nights and there wasn't a moment we didn't feel completely at home and starry eyed with the beauty of this property. The bathroom suite was out of a movie, the room perfect and spacious and every accoutrement was perfectly situated in our room. The views were sensational! Water views were expansive and inviting! The meals convinced us that we might not be able to leave! We even took pictures of everything we ate! It was out of a magazine!

Kay and Joe were the perfect hosts; they made us feel so welcome and right at home. A TRUE Culinary Experience! K.R. from Cape Cod, Ma.

Room Tip: I did see all of the rooms and they were all beautifully appointed.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Very nice place at the top of the hill, over looking the Tasman sea. Very nicely done, a lot of attention to details. Kay and Joe make an exceptional effort to ensure your stay is the most enjoyable.

Great breakfast, good tips and recommendations about the region, and pre dinner drinks and snacks.

Thank you for your hospitality.

David and Jessica.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Dveldor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the "sister" inner city appartment on Wakefield quay
It was fantastic
Best if you have a car as secure parking close to best fish x chips in Nelson
Cafes a short walk
Sea views, afternoon sun
Security access to your floor x appartment
Comfortable beds x 3
2 bathrooms
Sky tv & DVD
All cooking utensils and BBQ if needed to entertain on deck
A must stay we will use it again

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We happily return again and again to this B&B. Kay & Joe go above and beyond to make you welcome and breakfast and dinner are always among the most memorable of a visit to Nelson. The rooms are spacious, scrupulously clean and furnished with every possible necessity. The views are wonderful, the gardens, chickens, alpacas are welcome when you are far from home. It is impossibly hard to tear yourself away when it's time to leave. If I could pick up the Provence suite and ship it home, I wouldn't change a thing (it's my favourite of the two).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were looking for a luxury 2 bedroom motel/apartment...........in Nelson and found this on the internet. This is more a of B&B apartment (just with out the host) and was not what we expected. I would not say this is a luxury by any std's (especially the price)..............just normal 2 bedroom apartment with with some nice homely touches. The cleanliness could do with some improvement........mold in the shower ...............long black hair in the one bathroom (none of us had long black hair)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tradewithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaucySister, Owner at A Culinary Experience Luxury B and B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

This person was not a guest at A Culinary Experience Luxury Bed and Breakfast. We have a lower cost option which is our waterfront apartment in the city and that is where this person stayed. Our bed and breakfast is 4 km out of town on a hillside overlooking the Tasman Bay. At the B and B we prepare gourmet breakfasts, dinners on request, have a sophisticated spa facility with an in-house masseur and 2 luxurious bedrooms with state of the art bathrooms and a guest lounge/media centre. A Culinary Experience Luxury Bed and Breakfast is a five star property, rated as exceptional, one of the finest in New Zealand. The apartment is what it is: a self-contained apartment and a lower cost option for visiting Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews