We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
501
63
17
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
63
17
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge new zealand south island spa bath executive studio rabbit island one bedroom apartment centre of town excellent stay abel tasman the kitchen central nelson road noise within easy walking distance few minutes walk a great place to stay comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Booked in at the last minute on our final tour of the South Island. Stayed two nights. Very clean spacious room ,minimal noise though close to the main road. Easy to walk to the cathedral town and restaurants. Will recommend this motel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Discerningofbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your comments. As you say it's a great location being so close to the city centre. Enjoy the rest of your holiday. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night on a business trip. Friendly reception, warm studio room, not far from road. No road noise, very comfortable. Easy five minute stroll to main shopping centres and cafes. Would definitely stay again when travelling to Nelson for business

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank RGV55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It's great you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say it is a great location being so close to the city centre and many great cafes and restaurants. Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Nelson. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Friendly and welcoming. The room was immaculate and so nice and warm (which you can control for yourself), hot shower with excellent water pressure. Great black out drapes for those longs sleeps after longer flights. No noise from neighbouring rooms or car traffic from the road. Location is walkable to town and restaurants. Beds are supremely comfortable and even had electric blanket option.(It's winter right now). Kitchen facilities make it easy to cook your own stuff and have a quiet night in. Not a single complaint - for real!

Room Tip: Upstairs is better on a sunny day. Downstairs better with heavy luggage. You choose.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global_Kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. As you say it's an easy walk to the city and many great restaurants. Hopefully we will see you again if you are back in Nelson. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

I stay in Nelson on business every month for a couple of nights. I have tried quite a few motels around town however, once I stayed in the Palazzo I will not try anywhere else. From the time you get to reception to the time you leave you are made to feel at home. Murray and Jenny are excellent hosts and will provide you anything you need.

Once you get to your room which is immaculately presented you will notice that you have everything you need for a good stay. Very comfortable beds with good bedding. A personal heat pump in the room (very important in summer as most places in Nelson only offer heating and not a way to cool off the room) Nice size TV's, good soap amenities, coffee and tea, fully stocked kitchen and the best thing for someone on business and personal alike is your room comes with fiber broadband. Id say it would be the fastest internet for motels in Nelson.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ZackF169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for your wonderful comments Zack. We are thrilled to hear you are comfortable staying with us and your search for a motel in Nelson which caters for your needs is over. We are very pleased we put the fibre wifi on, it has made a huge difference to the speed of our wifi. Our corporate guests like yourself especially appreciate it. Look forward to seeing you next time. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

I stay at the Palazzo once a month for work. The rooms are immaculate and extremely modern. The owners are super lovely and are great to deal with. The rooms with the lazy boys are my favourite! They have a Great range of room configurations to suit every need. I even had the luxury of staying in the presidential suit one visit. Let me tell you..... I didn't want to leave. Very very flash. Whether it be for buisness or pleasure i highly reccommend palazzo Motor lodge!!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Hi Carla, thank you for your wonderful comments. It's great to know you are comfortable with us. We appreciate your flexibility with the different room types we have on offer. Looking forward to seeing you next month. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews