We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place and hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great place and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I want to highly recommend the Palazzo Motor Lodge to fellow travellers. My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights last Labour weekend and always meant to say thank you for the superb service we received from the proprietors, everything from the amazing welcome (Kiara stayed up for our late arrival around 10.45pm and still accepted our late request for breakfast in the morning) to ordering taxis, very helpful local knowledge and storing our luggage on the last day before we had to go to the airport. Their hospitatlity even extended to a phone call 2 days before we arrived offering a room upgrade (if available on check-in) at no extra cost and also arranging to return a very expensive dress we realised we had left in the wardrobe on our return home. The rooms were spacious and immaculate and no request went unattended. I cannot fault this motel at all and want to find an excuse to visit Nelson again soon!

Room Tip: Even though it was on a fairly busy road, it seemed quiet enough in the rooms. If sleeping is a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    54
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
305
47
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Best motel we have stayed in since moving to New Zealand, great location, very comfy room and very clean. Shall defo be returning next year and staying an extra night. Delightful, helpful, friendly and funny where nothing is ever too much trouble, highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here 2 days. The owners were very helpful and the rooms were the best we had in New Zealand - very clean, modern, comfortable with a spacious bath.

Room Tip: Try and get a ground floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

It is hard to write anything else about this motel, everything from the service to the location to the rooms were immaculate but I'll try to highlight some of the details that made our stay so very enjoyable.

The details of the finishing in the rooms are of the highest standard and the appliances shiny and new and great quality. The queen bed was very comfortable with great pillows & we very much enjoyed breakfast on the balcony ( although being a motel, there is obvious road noise when outside, inside the rooms it was very quiet and we were right on the end o the building near the road)
There is an option of breakfast delivered to the room which we didn't try but it looked very yummy with an extensive range of choices of bread (which is impressive if you like me don't fancy white toast very much!)
The motel is located only a few minutes walk from the centre of Nelson and we received some excellent recommendations for where to eat and what to do. We also did a day tour in the Abel Tasman Park, from Nelson it was an easy 1 hour and a bit drive one -way and our hostess provided us with beach towels. The motel also have bikes available for guests to borrow.

We really enjoyed our stay at Palazzo Motor Lodge and would happily recommend it for anyone looking for a centrally located place to stay that goes the extra mile.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miaelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here for one night. The location for us was perfect, round the corner from the town meant an easy walk to the centre.

The motel looks pretty standard from the outside but when you enter your room it is evident how much care and attention the owners have put into it. Our room was immaculate and furnished to top hotel standards. However you do pay for this. The room rates are a little high but you certainly are paying for quality.

The owner is lovelly, very helpful and if you take the time to chat she has a wealth of knowledge about the area.

The only slight disappointment was that wifi is charged on top. It's the first time we had experienced this in a motel, but to be fair it only cost us $5 for the one night.

In Nelson if we returned we'd opt to stay here for the quality of the accomodation. The owners should be very proud of the effort they have invested in their rooms. It shows and in my view it's not a Motel but a hotel

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.2 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.0 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#7 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
6.0 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.1 km away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#11 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Property: Palazzo Motor Lodge
Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price range (per night): $157 - $237
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing