We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful thai”

Tongtara Thai Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 214 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Had a nice experience here. Called in for lunch. The service and presentation could have come straight from Thailand. Would recommend this place for those who love a traditional Thai meal. Smiling helpful waitresses. Very pleasant and well priced

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank _davinanz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped in at 2pm for desserts. The deep fried banana and the Thai egg custard were wonderfully authentic and prepared perfectly.
The staff were very good and surrounds perfectly relaxing.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

It was first time that we went to have dinner, but food was too sweet and after eating 2 spoonful of food, we felt enough. The service of waitress was good and she offered to make our dish again for us, but sorry we paid for our meal and left.
They say no MSG added in their food but I wonder it means they do not add MSG powder but use comercial sauce that contains MSG.
We still cannot find decent Thai restaurant in Nelson.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arepita_rellena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

After a busy working day we wanted a quick, simple, reasonably-priced, healthy and tasty meal in our home town, but not a take-away; so we hit the keyboard to check out what TripAdvisor presented. Tonga Tara stood out as meeting our expectations; and it did. Good casual atmosphere, great welcoming genuinely-felt smile from staff, super efficient service, simply-presented healthy food with freshly firm vegetables within the stir-fry's. Good beer and wine selection. Nothing pretentious about this place. Suited us perfectly.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JanetB3059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Lived in Nelson for many years but have always somehow missed going to Tongtara but decided to give them a go and thought the food and service were outstanding. We had the fresh spring rolls and the chicken green curry - fresh, plenty of it, well presented and very very tasty. Really getting into Asian food and this is one of the best we have tried recently. The service was outstanding and attentive and not intrusive. Well priced excellent food. The interior is a traditional Thai look but I somehow think that if they changed their 'look' to something more contemporary/modern, their turnover would increase dramatically. Recommended, Lovely meal. Thanks

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SkyJetMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tongtara Thai Restaurant also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Tongtara Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing