We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 150
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Priceline
Booking.comUSD 149
eDreamsUSD 149
FindHotel
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,138)
Filter reviews
1,138 results
Traveller rating
498
431
133
48
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
498
431
133
48
28
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 1,138 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

My girls were convinced that they had stepped into the world of their bed time stories with this beautifully themed apartment complex. They loved the design, ambiance and details, and spent hours role playing, hiding under the stairs and doing cart wheels on the grass outside. This was the perfect escape, we only wish we had discovered it earlier. The facilities were great... and it’s so much more than we expected when travelling between motels and air bnb’s. Well done grand mecure... you need to advertise this more!!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TJSing2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Arden Monaco Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear TJSing2008

Thank you for your wonderful review, we're truly delighted that your daughters so enjoyed their stay with us, how cute - hiding under the stairs.

We really are delighted that we so managed to surprise and delight your entire family, and we do hope we'll see you back again at some point in the future.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

What a wonderful friendly place to stay. At check in you were made feel like one of the family. The staff were very attentive. We had a one bedroom spa. WOW!!! It was 2 levels. Upstairs was the bedroom with a huge bathroom and downstairs was a full kitchen and a lounge room. Spotlessly clean and very inviting. There is a laundry room onsite as well. We had dinner in the restaurant one night. Tommy looked after us exceptionally well. Breakfast is continental or ala carte except in tourist season and then there is a buffet. The Grand Mercure is a 5 minute drive from the airport and about 15 minute drive to town. Nelson is a must see.

Room tip: Go for the spar apartments
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FJB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Arden Monaco Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear FJB56

Thanks so much for your terrific review which is most appreciated. We're delighted that you felt like "one of the family" upon checking in!

The SummerHouse Cottages that you stayed in are certainly something very special with the four-poster beds and (enormous spa bathroom). It was also very pleased to read that you enjoyed a very pleasant evening in our restaurant and that you were ably looked after by Tommy.

We quite agree, Nelson is a 'must see' - and there's so much to see and do, we hope to see you back again for more at some point in the future.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Nice room. Warm. Pleasant efficient reception service. Restaurant warm and service excellent. Room service efficient and friendly. Food is fabulous.
Have stayed a few times and always the same great standard.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sherpa85831
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Arden Monaco Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Hi there Sherpa85831

Thanks for your review/feedback, it was great to read that you find the food, accommodation and service to be consistently great here at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco - that's exactly what we strive to deliver!

I'll pass your feedback on to the team here, they'll be delighted with your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the beautiful Nelson/Tasman region, whether for business or pleasure.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Nice room - 6 - compact but well laid out
Friendly staff at reception
Pretty view from room - water features
Interesting complex that the motel is set in
Thank you for a good stay at the Grand Mecure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank P3988FLmaryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Arden Monaco Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear P3988FLmary4

Thanks for your short but nice review!

It was great to read your enjoyed some many aspects of our 4.5 star hotel, including friendly staff, nice views from your Waimea Inlet facing room. I trust you enjoyed your time in the beautiful Nelson/Tasman region and we hope to see you back again some time soon.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Cute little cottages in its own little village. Booked a cottage that came with 2 bedrooms, 1 queen bed and 2 singles both
upstairs with their own bathroom and toilet. Radiators didn’t work but plenty of heaters and a nice gas fireplace downstairs. Small kitchen to prepare some food if needed.
If booked this again I would not have breakfast included as it is a buffet and don’t get omelette etc therefore would just purchase a la carte. Also, wished the rooms had a robe and slippers as the floors are cold especially in winter! Parking included.
Served its purpose but bar was closed at 21.00 every night. Did not eat in restaurant as ate out elsewhere every night.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Arden Monaco Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi there lee_down_under

Thank you for taking the time to write your very comprehensive review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I'll pass on your comment about robes and slippers, you're not the first person to mention these; I'm pleased that between electric heaters and the cosy gas fireplace you were able to keep nice and warm.

If you're staying again, please do try out our restaurant - The Monaco Kitchen. (I hope) you won't be disappointed, we've been getting some fantastic restaurant reviews on TripAdvisor of late, and its now rated #17 of 148 restaurants in Nelson.

Once again, thanks for your review, it's most appreciated.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews