We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright worth a stop ”
Review of Moeraki Boulders

Moeraki Boulders
Ranked #6 of 26 things to do in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mystical Moeraki Boulders captured at dawn.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The boulders were crawling with people when we arrived so we didn’t hang around for too long. Very cool to see in person.
Exploring the beach was a lot more fun. Heaps of pretty rocks and shells to see as you stroll along.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank briarpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"low tide"
in 152 reviews
"car park"
in 130 reviews
"walk along the beach"
in 41 reviews
"million years"
in 28 reviews
"gift shop"
in 81 reviews
"natural wonder"
in 17 reviews
"off the highway"
in 17 reviews
"donation box"
in 14 reviews
"well worth the stop"
in 14 reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 32 reviews
"photo opportunity"
in 15 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 17 reviews
"tour buses"
in 15 reviews
"quick stop"
in 14 reviews
"eggs"
in 25 reviews
"great stop"
in 14 reviews
"the cliff"
in 19 reviews
Filter

75 - 79 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Don't miss this fab natural visitor attraction if you're heading past on the state highway from Dunedin to Christchurch but check the tide times first & aim for low tide for best views. We spent a fun hour here taking some awesome photos of the boulders & our kids 'hatching' from them. The cafe has a great range of delicious food with very friendly & helpful staff & the coffee is fab! We will be stopping here again on our next trip down the coast for sure.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Stony6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Sadly not the peaceful and beautiful place I remember on my previous visits over the years. You used to be the ony one on the beach. Now full of tourist buses and near misses with vehicles driving down the access road. Am glad I have the memories of the “old days” visiting this site. Hopefuly you will be lucky enough to find a quiet day to visit to truely experience this site

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Go at low tide for best opportunity to see boulders. Can be busy so hard to get good photos but nice beach for a long walk.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Emski22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My kids love this place. Make sure to have towels to clean them down, they'll covered in sand and salt water as they jump from boulder to boulder. Have a camera and bare feet and you'll have a great time enjoying nature at it's finest. Best to go at low tide. There are two car parks, one via the cafe that asks for a donation (not required) and one just a carpark.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Traci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moeraki Boulders also viewed

Oamaru, Otago Region
Oamaru, Otago Region
 

Been to Moeraki Boulders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing