We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Absolutely brillisnt

The work that is being done here to protect the Blue penguins is amazing. We visited the sanctuary... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Pandora C
,
Perth, Australia
via mobile
Smallest penguins in the world

We booked premium seats and were lucky enough to see over 130 penguins the evening we visited. Make... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
MarkLeeps
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 834 reviews
  
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveller rating
420
246
77
45
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
246
77
45
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium seats nesting boxes wrap up warm come home nesting area coming ashore front row penguins coming penguins arrive standard seating cute penguins no photography night viewing pay the extra day tour general seating seating area
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 834 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We were reluctant to go at first, having read the reviews on here about annoying tourists but we thought that whilst we are here we may as well visit as we are pretty much guaranteed to see some penguins. We bought tickets on the day for standard seats and we were so glad we went. There were the few inevitable annoying tourists but alot of them left after the first raft of penguins landed ashore (why?!) and they were no where near as bad as we had imagined. It was a very relaxing night and only 10-20% of us were left after about 45 mins so was quieter. Where else can you spend an evening sitting by the water and watching penguins?! The organisation is non-profit also, so you don't feel as bad paying the entry fee.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank woodyguthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We really enjoyed this experience. Premier seats and the presence of fur seals meant we saw the Penguins close up. Yes you can see the Penguins at Caroline Bay Timaru for free but the paid for seating and commentary at Oamaru puts money back into conservation.
A successful breeding season this summer has restored the colony numbers and a high number of chicks were reared this year.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank spendingpension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Cute and amazing seeing the rafts of penguins arriving. Watching them scurry, pause, duck, and dive too their nest boxes was great. My 6 and 10 year old enjoyed themselves and it was fun counting them, quietly, as they arrived. The extra bonus was seeing native NZ fur seals lounging on bank. Extra entertainment or annoyance, was some inconsiderate tourists not respecting the rules to observe and not upset the penguins. Also the grossness of a Chinese family about to toilet in public and not the toilets available for public use. Totally disrespectful and disgusting. Otherwise definitely recommend.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank GypsyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

You sit in a stand and listen to a commentary while waiting for the penguins to come home for the night. When they are arrive everyone needs to be quiet and sit down while they pass by. No phones or cameras (why can’t people follow simple instructions!). We also got a fur seal viewing. Wrap up warm. Plenty of parking and gd access. We didn’t pay for premium seats and they seemed perfectly fine with no shortage of views

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank bellaQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Absolutely fantastic little penguins. We saw 27 which was amazing given that the sea was really rough. They are fascinating animals and sheltered under the boardwalk before heading into their burrows. We could hear them 'chatting'. Worth paying for the better seats as you get a far better view.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Paul and Teress... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews