We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
7
20
21
10
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
20
21
10
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver oaks close to the airport shuttle service free shuttle overnight stay comfortable bed auckland airport
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

We were satisfied with the accommodation. Although the room was very basic, it was clean. The bed was comfy, providing a good rest for the early flight out next day. Free shuttle bus to and from airport was fabulous. Would stay again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Before our trip, we rang the hotel to ensure that their shuttle ran at all hours as our flight was due in around 11:30pm. We were assured that yes, all we do is call after we got our bags.

So it was poor to find that when we rang we were told to get a taxi. It wasn't clear but something about a "breakdown". I asked if the hotel would compensate us for the fare and he said no.

We had been travelling for about 25 hours at this stage so this was very annoying. On top of that, none of the taxis would take us because it's too close and they told us to go to the shuttles - though we explained the hotel wasn't sending one.

Not having Uber where we live, we had to download and setup Uber to get a ride to the hotel. We arrived to find a shuttle van in the carpark and that reception was locked (ironically with a sign up saying they were at the airport on a pick up and would be back soon...) We pressed the buzzer and someone came to the desk after a couple minutes.

We got to our room to find the bed sagged terribly. We cleaned the spiders out of the bathroom and showered. It was a terrible sleep and you could hear everything outside - and other guests walking around above us.

Conveniently the shuttle was available for the morning runs! We asked specifically what went wrong with it and he said the battery had died and that AA told them to charge it for 8 hours. We didn't see any cables plugged in the night before...

Overall, please don't waste your money here. It's extremely expensive and they don't even deliver on the primary reason most people book - the airport shuttle. They really aren't concerned about good customer service either.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamBCtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

I wish we looked at reviews before booking this place! Rooms were ordinary. On booking we asked for a portable cot for my 10 month old, only to be told when we arrived they do not have them ( which makes it very difficult with a baby). We kindly asked for some extra pillows so my baby could not fall off the bed, only to be told there is no spare pillows. No where decent within walking distance to eat. Very Limited wifi. The only good thing about our stay was the free shuttle bus to the airport.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Loz610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

We stayed in room 20 which had been renovated, with air conditioning. With everything being brand new, including new shower, carpet, bathroom fictures, and efficient kitchen unit, a very pleasant stay. The shuttle service was excellent, we phoned from the international airport, and picked up near the exit at macdonalds. The staff and cleaners were fantastic. They are really making an effort, and have installed air conditioners in all the rooms and now in the process of hooking the up to the AC. The bed was really comfortable and clean. The only negative was that the drapes needed to be replaced.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Skipper12312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

paid $140 for 1 night, arrived at midnight, room smelled musty, carpets dirty, air con didnt work, no light in bathroom would use the shower as it look like things were growing in it. This should be rated as a backpackers digusting they have the nerve to charge you this price as for the staff if you are grumpy at picking up from the airport at a late time find another job as with us mugs paying this amout you would be closex by now! learn some manners!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews