We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$116
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Priceline
AU$116
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
AU$117
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Irleen

Comfortable and very clean

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Nov 2021via mobile
Stayed with family , was very nice, rooms are quite big . Owners are lovely . Happy to assist at all times.
Very comfortable. All amenities present in room that we needed for short stay.
Highly recommend.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.8 km from Whalers Rest Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$39
  • Booking.com
3.1 km from Whalers Rest Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
4.0 km from Whalers Rest Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$98
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Whalers Rest Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment 3 studio style over looking Portland Bay with Balcony
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.2 km from Whalers Rest Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from front of Entry looking to Ocean
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Whalers Rest Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$114
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Whalers Rest Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
4.3 km from Whalers Rest Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sunrise Cottage Bedroom
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
13.8 km from Whalers Rest Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$204
  • Algotels
4.4 km from Whalers Rest Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Portland
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
40
43
17
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
40
43
17
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short stay quiet location great shower stayed here for one night stay there again motel hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

I travelled for BUSINESS in Portland
I must say room was very clean , well set up and presented and on top very affordable.
All things was present that you would need a night stay. Lovely owners.
Would love to stay again.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 241ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

There are three barking dogs that are next to the property. Ridiculous noisy!
The hard bed.
The curtains are broken, we had to modify them, so the property next door couldn't see in our room.

The lack of communication when I left a message for the property. No reply at all.

On the good side!
It was actually very clean and the owner are nice in person.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pillowrequired
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2021

We had family room , which was very clean and spacious . Owners were very friendly and very helpful. Room had all amenities that we needed during our stay. Nice and clean shower, WIFI works well, Mini bar fridge , toaster and microwave. I would really recommend. we had Nice hot cooked breakfast in the morning. Had nice break after being stuck in Covid lock down. I would really come back and stay here.

Room tip: comfortable, affordable and relaxing . family rooms are very nice.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytrav62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2021

Stayed for 2 nights on vacation 18-20Jan. Very disappointed with the accom in many aspects.
Pros : Bedsheets are clean. Shower is clean. Towels are clean.
WiFi works well.
Price is reasonable
Cons : Sofa chair is dirty / dusty and you can see a thick layer of dust at the edge near the backrest. Arm rest is dirty
Windows need a new coat of paint for sure
Fridge in the room is TINY .. smaller than a bar fridge
Common kitchen / BBQ area has NOTHING there other than a microwave and an old BBQ set. There are NO taps or basins for you to do any washing up. Chairs and table is in need of replacement and dirty.
Aircon was old and noisy .. the ‘window-unit’ old fashion type.
For a visitor who enjoys a bit of fishing - there is NO place for you to wash your gear or to clean your fish, if you caught any. I did not bother with fishing after finding out this lack of facility
You would think that the owners would use the slack period during the Covid lockdown to do some of these basic upgrading / renovations, or, even some thorough cleaning. But none of that happened, unfortunately.

Room tip: Rooms away from the main highway
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlacesVisited2886
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2020 via mobile

We stayed at the whalers rest motel in portland for one night as we were visiting family in portland.
We had a room for two adults and one child.A single bed and a double bed,must say these are the best and most comfortable beds and pillows we have even had in a motel,also they have electric blankets.
Very clean room and clean bathroom.
TV,microwave, kettle,toaster.
BBQ area...check in was fast and easily.
Very nice place to stay and its the very first motel on left driving in to portland from Melbourne.
5min drive to beach and shopping centre...
Sorry but I forgot to take a photo

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews