We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$203
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Breakfast included
Priceline
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
40
25
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
40
25
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift third floor historic hotel perfect in every way bed was very comfortable room was large stayed nights place to stay luggage accommodation bluestone mac characters era victorian bay seafront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2022

Blue room is clean and provides amazing view to the pier. Lots of characters in this historic hotel and easy to park. No elevator so unfortunately it is not accessible.
Spa filter and hair dryer in the room are not functioning well, also you can hear the shower running from adjacent room in the morning but that did not take away the joy of staying because you do expect a little hiccups in an older building.
Lovely& attentive people running the hotel made up for everything.

Date of stay: November 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2021 via mobile

Portland is a historic town on the west coast of Victoria. A friendly place with a good community. Macs Hotel/Quality hotel Bentinck was built in 1800s and is an impressive blue stone building with ornate balconies overlooking the water.
The hotel is being constantly restored by its owners to give you the feel that you have stepped back in time yet have all the comforts of today. Located right in the middle of town and only across the road from the harbour makes it easy to get around on foot. There is free off street parking in the hotel which could be limited during peak times.
On arriving we were greeted by Rob he was very friendly and helpful. Check in was simple as we had booked on line as Choice hotels members so we can get discounts and points. (Worth the free membership).
Unfortunately the only downfall is the rooms are upstairs so this will challenge some. I have a bad knee but was able to navigate the stairs to the first level to our suite for the night. There is a variety of room choices at different price levels to satisfy most travellers. We have treated ourselves this visit to a King Spa Suite room 27 midweek stay was very reasonable rate and value for money especially when you factor in free breakfast for two.
The room was bright and spacious with huge windows and water views. There was a gorgeous Chesterfield lounge and a little dining table positioned right in front of the bay windows. The room was spotless and the decor was spot on for a period hotel. A stocked minibar was concealed in free standing cabinetry with tea,coffee,hot chocolate making facilities and the Tim Tams were a nice touch. A large flat ace TV and free wifi are the reminders that it is 2021.
The bed so comfortable with crisp white linen and good pillow choices. Blockout Drapes darkened the room for a good nights sleep. The bathroom had a separate walk-in shower as well as the corner spa and was well appointed.
We could have ordered dinner and had it in our room but went down stairs to the restaurant for a drink and a great meal off the large menu instead. Downstairs is the main bar, outdoor balcony bars and covered street bar if your into people watching like us. A breakfast dining room serves a fabulous spot continental buffet breakfast which is included in the room price or you have the option to pay extra for full cooked breakfast. Check out was quick and easy Deb on Reception was a delight
We had a wonderful midweek stay here and will be returning customers. Highly recommend it was a great experience.

Room tip: School holidays are busy periods if you can avoid
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tkdcait
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Macs Hotel, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bentinck, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2021

Thank you for your wonderful review. I have shared your kind words with the entire team and thanked them for a job well done.
We hope to see you back at the Quality Hotel Bentinck in the not too distant future.
Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

Wow... arrived at the Quality Hotel in Portland and was immediately impressed by the position of this gorgeous old bluestone hotel , right on the corner overlooking the harbour.
We had three rooms for myself and some mates.
Rooms are spotless, old world charm and staff where very helpful on check in.
Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank b0ris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2021 via mobile

Superb. Great welcome, spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable, great comfy king bed, old building with interesting decor, centrally located in town, off street parking, great food in downstairs restaurant. Would highly recommend for couples, groups etc.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BBoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2021

Historic building located in a prime location with many restaurants nearby and beach at walking distance. What more can one ask for. Also, the hotel has in house restaurant. Friendly service from hotel and restaurant staff.

Date of stay: January 2021
Thank RajeshBibikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews