We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$232
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 June
Breakfast included
Priceline
AU$232
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 June
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
AU$227
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Vicpic
Ocean Grove, Australia

Historic Portland accommodation great location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Dec 2021via mobile
Portland is a historic town on the west coast of Victoria. A friendly place with a good community. Macs Hotel/Quality hotel Bentinck was built in 1800s and is an impressive blue stone building with ornate balconies overlooking the water.
The hotel is being constantly restored by its owners to give you the feel that you have stepped back in time yet have all the comforts of today. Located right in the middle of town and only across the road from the harbour makes it easy to get around on foot. There is free off street parking in the hotel which could be limited during peak times.
On arriving we were greeted by Rob he was very friendly and helpful. Check in was simple as we had booked on line as Choice hotels members so we can get discounts and points. (Worth the free membership).
Unfortunately the only downfall is the rooms are upstairs so this will challenge some. I have a bad knee but was able to navigate the stairs to the first level to our suite for the night. There is a variety of room choices at different price levels to satisfy most travellers. We have treated ourselves this visit to a King Spa Suite room 27 midweek stay was very reasonable rate and value for money especially when you factor in free breakfast for two.
The room was bright and spacious with huge windows and water views. There was a gorgeous Chesterfield lounge and a little dining table positioned right in front of the bay windows. The room was spotless and the decor was spot on for a period hotel. A stocked minibar was concealed in free standing cabinetry with tea,coffee,hot chocolate making facilities and the Tim Tams were a nice touch. A large flat ace TV and free wifi are the reminders that it is 2021.
The bed so comfortable with crisp white linen and good pillow choices. Blockout Drapes darkened the room for a good nights sleep. The bathroom had a separate walk-in shower as well as the corner spa and was well appointed.
We could have ordered dinner and had it in our room but went down stairs to the restaurant for a drink and a great meal off the large menu instead. Downstairs is the main bar, outdoor balcony bars and covered street bar if your into people watching like us. A breakfast dining room serves a fabulous spot continental buffet breakfast which is included in the room price or you have the option to pay extra for full cooked breakfast. Check out was quick and easy Deb on Reception was a delight
We had a wonderful midweek stay here and will be returning customers. Highly recommend it was a great experience.
Date of stay: December 2021
Room Tip: School holidays are busy periods if you can avoid
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Macs Hotel, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bentinck, responded to this review
Responded 16 Dec 2021
Thank you for your wonderful review. I have shared your kind words with the entire team and thanked them for a job well done.
We hope to see you back at the Quality Hotel Bentinck in the not too distant future.
Deb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$109
  • Hotels.com
    AU$110
  • Expedia.com
    AU$116
0.1 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$239
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$220
  • Agoda.com
    AU$198
  • Expedia.com
    AU$239
0.4 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
Annesley House
Booking.com
AU$242
  • Priceline
    AU$242
  • Agoda.com
    AU$242
  • eDreams
    AU$242
0.4 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
EXTERIOR
Booking.com
AU$153
  • Priceline
    AU$153
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
0.3 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$225
  • Priceline
    AU$225
  • Agoda.com
    AU$225
  • eDreams
    AU$225
0.4 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from front of Entry looking to Ocean
Booking.com
AU$168
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$168
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
    AU$168
0.7 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room
Booking.com
AU$168
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$168
  • Hotels.com
    AU$159
  • Expedia.com
    AU$168
0.9 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$160
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
  • Hotels.com
    AU$160
0.0 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
Booking.com
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
    AU$118
  • Expedia.com
    AU$124
2.3 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
The most disgusting motel I have ever had the unfortunate experience of staying at! !!
Priceline
AU$105
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$105
  • Agoda.com
    AU$105
  • Vio.com
    AU$105
0.9 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Portland
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
40
25
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
40
25
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift third floor historic hotel perfect in every way bed was very comfortable room was large stayed nights place to stay luggage accommodation bluestone mac characters era victorian bay seafront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

Wow... arrived at the Quality Hotel in Portland and was immediately impressed by the position of this gorgeous old bluestone hotel , right on the corner overlooking the harbour.
We had three rooms for myself and some mates.
Rooms are spotless, old world charm and staff where very helpful on check in.
Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank b0ris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2021 via mobile

Superb. Great welcome, spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable, great comfy king bed, old building with interesting decor, centrally located in town, off street parking, great food in downstairs restaurant. Would highly recommend for couples, groups etc.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BBoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2021

Historic building located in a prime location with many restaurants nearby and beach at walking distance. What more can one ask for. Also, the hotel has in house restaurant. Friendly service from hotel and restaurant staff.

Date of stay: January 2021
Thank RajeshBibikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2021

We chose the Bentinck in that it reeked history going back to the 1850's ? as Macs Hotel with website photos depicting the modernisation that one comes to expect. We chose an executive king suite (room 27) with its view of the harbour and were really taken by the integration of old with new. Chesterfield lounge, writing desk, reading table, all added to the atmosphere. No lift but stair case is wide with landings, and luggage assist was offered. Hotel restaurant Admella very good range and hotel is within walking distance of other Bentinck restaurants. Even with Covid guidelines the staff presented a very comprehensive included breakfast

Room tip: Go for a corner suite if you are there for a special occasion
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 380SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2021

My wife and I recently spent four enchanting days and nights at Portland's Hotel Bentinck. I was initially nervous about booking into an 1856 building. After 15 seconds or so upon arrival I realized my fears were needless; what a wonderful place we found! This 170 year old bluestone masterpiece of Victorian architecture has been beautifully restored with everything that matters well up to 2021 standards. This is arguably the largest hotel room in which I have ever stayed, but gorgeously appointed with period furniture and boasting high ceilings with Victorian crown molding all around. The bathroom was intricately tiled throughout and ingeniously intertwined with segments of original bluestone. While definitely Victorian in affect, I rather suspect that this tiling is new -- Lord only knows what that would have cost. The five star touches we really appreciated included His&Her sinks, full size mirror, new shower with strong water flow, and of course a spa tub. The food was amazing--this place really knows how to cook a steak! And we loved our breakfasts each morning. As well, we often remarked as to how reasonably priced all of this wonderful food was. In fact, we probably didn't do Portland a lot of justice as we only ate here. As for the pub, well it might be the most friendly and authentic Aussie pub experience in Portland (although I'll need some more research for that one). Owner Rob and his entire team made us feel at home every minute we were there. What a wonderful staff. We plan to return to Portland this winter to see some whales and we already know that our entire stay will be at the Hotel Bentinck; I'm only sorry that we have to wait that long.

Room tip: Room 28 is possibly the nicest suite; we're told that Room 27 also is wonderful.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T6510CRgaryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews