We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$204
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
Priceline
AU$204
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
AU$201
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
BBoover
Melbourne, Australia

Highly recommend a visit!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 June 2021via mobile
Superb. Great welcome, spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable, great comfy king bed, old building with interesting decor, centrally located in town, off street parking, great food in downstairs restaurant. Would highly recommend for couples, groups etc.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$229
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$214
  • Agoda.com
    AU$184
  • Expedia.com
    AU$229
0.4 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$217
  • Priceline
    AU$217
  • Agoda.com
    AU$217
  • Vio.com
    AU$217
0.4 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from front of Entry looking to Ocean
Booking.com
AU$168
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
    AU$168
0.7 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
EXTERIOR
Booking.com
AU$153
  • Priceline
    AU$153
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
0.3 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen Room
Booking.com
AU$118
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$118
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$116
  • Expedia.com
    AU$118
0.9 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Suite
Hotels.com
AU$157
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$157
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$157
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
One of Clifftops Studios all have Full Sea Views
Booking.com
AU$178
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$178
  • Agoda.com
    AU$178
  • eDreams
    AU$178
1.9 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$190
  • Priceline
    AU$190
  • Agoda.com
    AU$190
0.7 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$170
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$170
  • Agoda.com
    AU$170
  • Vio.com
    AU$170
2.3 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$145
  • Expedia.com
    AU$142
  • Hotels.com
    AU$145
2.1 km from Quality Hotel Bentinck
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Portland
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
40
25
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
40
25
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift third floor historic hotel perfect in every way bed was very comfortable room was large stayed nights place to stay luggage accommodation bluestone mac characters era victorian bay seafront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2021

Historic building located in a prime location with many restaurants nearby and beach at walking distance. What more can one ask for. Also, the hotel has in house restaurant. Friendly service from hotel and restaurant staff.

Date of stay: January 2021
Thank RajeshBibikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2021

We chose the Bentinck in that it reeked history going back to the 1850's ? as Macs Hotel with website photos depicting the modernisation that one comes to expect. We chose an executive king suite (room 27) with its view of the harbour and were really taken by the integration of old with new. Chesterfield lounge, writing desk, reading table, all added to the atmosphere. No lift but stair case is wide with landings, and luggage assist was offered. Hotel restaurant Admella very good range and hotel is within walking distance of other Bentinck restaurants. Even with Covid guidelines the staff presented a very comprehensive included breakfast

Room tip: Go for a corner suite if you are there for a special occasion
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 380SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2021

My wife and I recently spent four enchanting days and nights at Portland's Hotel Bentinck. I was initially nervous about booking into an 1856 building. After 15 seconds or so upon arrival I realized my fears were needless; what a wonderful place we found! This 170 year old bluestone masterpiece of Victorian architecture has been beautifully restored with everything that matters well up to 2021 standards. This is arguably the largest hotel room in which I have ever stayed, but gorgeously appointed with period furniture and boasting high ceilings with Victorian crown molding all around. The bathroom was intricately tiled throughout and ingeniously intertwined with segments of original bluestone. While definitely Victorian in affect, I rather suspect that this tiling is new -- Lord only knows what that would have cost. The five star touches we really appreciated included His&Her sinks, full size mirror, new shower with strong water flow, and of course a spa tub. The food was amazing--this place really knows how to cook a steak! And we loved our breakfasts each morning. As well, we often remarked as to how reasonably priced all of this wonderful food was. In fact, we probably didn't do Portland a lot of justice as we only ate here. As for the pub, well it might be the most friendly and authentic Aussie pub experience in Portland (although I'll need some more research for that one). Owner Rob and his entire team made us feel at home every minute we were there. What a wonderful staff. We plan to return to Portland this winter to see some whales and we already know that our entire stay will be at the Hotel Bentinck; I'm only sorry that we have to wait that long.

Room tip: Room 28 is possibly the nicest suite; we're told that Room 27 also is wonderful.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T6510CRgaryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Manager provided misinformation and was rude. Breakfast poor, room Ok and pretty clean. 2 hotels on site, the other is a group of dog boxes, same manager.
Don’t know how they consider rooms above a rough pub 4 stars. 3 stories, no lift, no good for old or disabled

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Watos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Macs H, Owner at Quality Hotel Bentinck, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Thank you for writing this review. It is a shame that it is incorrect. You were not provided with misinformation. Your company had booked and agreed to pay for the 3 star Econolodge but you insisted on being upgraded to the 4.5 star Quality Hotel. There was a price differential that had to be paid and you had to pay it. Your wife, who was not booked by your company but was accommodated by us and given breakfast, thanked us upon departure for her lovely stay. You tried to bully our staff into chasing your company for the extra money even though you had told our night staff that they probably would not pay for it. When it was suggested that you claim the difference back on your expenses this was when you lost it. Our hotel is rated 4.5 stars via the star ratings system and it is widely advertised as not having a lift.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019

Loved the rooms at this hotel, some walls were made of stone. Stayed here in the middle of winter and it was great to see electric blankets on the bed. Room was large and comfortable. Food was good quality and reasonably priced. Would stay here again if ever back in town.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews